We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Quality Inn Ashland
Nearby Hotels
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$199
US$175
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$150
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ashland Motel(Ashland)
US$89
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$117
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (191)
Filter reviews
191 results
Traveller rating
51
60
34
32
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
51
60
34
32
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstarbucks coffeeparking lotchoice hotelslake viewsmokehouse restaurantmade to order breakfastnice pool and hot tubroom was cleanpool areaapostle islandsin room coffeeexhaust fanenjoyable stayboat tourfew issuespaid nightlake superior
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 191 reviews
Reviewed 25 July 2017

This was a good quality hotel that we were able to find a last minute deal on. We paid $125/night and with tax it came out to be $150. I certainly wouldn't want to pay more for it because it's not a top quality accommodation but we travelled to Bayfield in high season, so the high price is justified. The service was very friendly and we really enjoyed the free breakfast (you can pay $3 extra to get a bit more from the breakfast menu, but we were ok with the free option). It's not your typical hotel breakfast where they serve you cereal, scrambled egg, sausage and some juice. They actually make your eggs to your liking here so it's much better. Room was nice a clean. The inside yard has a beautiful view of the lake so you can sip your morning coffee outside enjoying the scenery. It's also a good location right on the highway on the way to Bayfield. So I imagine it gets very popular among travellers doing the circle trip around the big lake. One thing I wished they stopped doing was advertising the Links Smokehouse restaurant (I reviewed that one as well), which is owned by the same people as the hotel. The restaurant is really not good and not worth your time/money. But we highly enjoyed our short stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Dmitriy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Don't take the three stars as a bad thing. It was clean, and what I expected it would be. Just not the greatest place in the world. Would I stay again for a night? Yes. A week? Pass. It's like a bigger park outside your room motel.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank CRR0102LBSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2017

We stayed at this Hotel as a home point for seeing the Apostle Islands. We took a boat tour, Kayaked the sea caves, and rode a scooter around Madeline Island. The hotel was good and only 17 miles from Bayfield.

Room Tip: Any room facing Lake Superior .
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank ggandelvis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

Hung out on the deck outside my room drinking wine and watching the boats, ducks, and the lights of Ashland on Lake Superior. So quiet and a gorgeous sunset. Then got a great night's sleep on the comfortable bed with lucious pillows. Woke to a fantastic sunrise over the lake and had coffee (Seattle's Best from the in-room coffee pot) and got back on the bus for the rest of our tour with Fun Time Field Trips. Service was awesome too, thank you Deb for helping us purchase a couple of pillows!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a lakeside view - it is like having your own private deck!
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollyalcott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2017

Low cost hotel that was located by the water. It is a short drive into Ashland. Unfortunately they were not able to give us a room with a water view, due to the size of our party, but they did not indicate that this would be an issue when we booked the hotel. Stayed for 2 days. The wifi for the entire time was horrendous. It was impossible to get access, if you were not seated in the lobby. They really need to fix this in a family type hotel, where every one is using tablets and smartphones.
The breakfast was good, however, there was a single server, who was doing her very best to get to all of the guests in a timely manner, but was having a hard time doing this. She had a great attitude, so kudos to her, but the hotel should have more help in the breakfast room, so that people are not walking out.

Room Tip: ask for beach view rooms. They are limited by the size of your party.
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank RanMat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews