We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dirty and well overpriced”
Review of Pousada do Sandi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pousada do Sandi
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Very simple rooms; stains on the linen; not very clean. Paid 1270,-- BRL for two nights.
Pros: free WLAN available. Centrally located.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freqtravmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (528)
There are newer reviews for Pousada do Sandi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

67 - 71 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 20 March 2009

We just came back from attending a wedding at the Pousada Do Sandi and loved our stay. The hotel is clean and very comfortable! The location is perfect and everything in Paraty is within a few minutes walk. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It is a beautiful hotel that will take you back in time. If you want to relax, grab a drink and sit by the pool... it has a wonderful garden setting. Paraty is not an extended stay destination. Give yourself two or three days and then plan to move on. You can see the town in a day and spend another day out on the water. You can walk down to the boats in the morning and hire one to take you out for the day. They will take you to a few different swimming locations where you can enjoy a few drinks, lunch and some amazing snorkling. The boat for the entire day will cost you about $60 cdn, plus drinks (very reasonable prices) and lunch...and always negotiate.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEVEL12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2008

We liked this hotel. It has a fantastic location, colourful décor, very helpful staff, good breakfast, big bedroom: these are all plus points. Be aware that the hotel is in an old building and we found it was not well insulated for noise. We changed rooms because our first one looked out onto a busy thoroughfare. The only suitable alternative room looked out onto a quieter side street and it was reasonably OK. (Bring your own plug for the bathroom basin, you'll find it useful everywhere in Brazil).

We ate out in the evenings at two recommended restaurants, Banana de Terra, which was full and not very good; and in the same street enjoyed eating at Bartholomeu, which was empty despite the fact that its service and food were both excellent. The Argentinian steak there is great and the Caiprinihas awesome.

Walking around Paraty is fun. The buildings are colourful, the cobble stones are fearsome and the sea washes some streets at high tide. We took a local guide for our tour and he brought the town to life for us.
The cultural centre is interesting, you can view the history on computers, hear the recorded stories of local inhabitants and take photos from the balcony. It is worth exploring out of town. We enjoyed a quiet boat trip on a sunny day (we hired a fishing boat through the reception desk at the hotel ) to visit Saco de Mamangua - a kind of fjord. Others visited local beaches on a schooner. We also briefly visited Trinidade beach which was dire, an awful former hippy town; and tried to visit Praia do Sono, another recommended beach but you either walk a fair distance or take a ride in a fishing boat and out of season (August is Winter) the boats were not operating so we never made it.
Paraty was an enjoyable stop between Sao Paulo and Rio (4 hours by road from each) and the Posada do Sandi was pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ant42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2008

We went to Parati as a side trip from the hustle and bustle of Rio. The location was absolutely superb. The pousada is located in the middle of the historic colonial center, well within walking distance of all of the main sites. It is surrounded by carless cobblestone streets, and right out the door is one of the main streets with shops and restaurants.

The inn itself was very charming and quaint. The lobby was colorfully decorated, as were the rooms. They were spacious and had all the amenities of a regular hotel. The bathroom was decent as well. The inner courtyard featured a beautiful pool, and I'm sure a lively bar scene if it wasn't the dead of winter.

As a disclaimer, this is not a luxury hotel as defined by international standards. Everything was immaculately clean, but if you're looking for a 5-star spa retreat, this is not the place. However, what it may lack in luxurious comforts, it definitely makes up for in charm and good service!!!! The front desk was very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast, although limited, was good and was only bettered by the very friendly waiter.

I would highly recommend staying here if you go to Parati--it's a throwback to the colonial era, and a charming and modern pousada to go along with it.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Simpv21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2008

This hotel is bright, cheerful, and clean and the staff was phenomenal. There was usually someone on hand who spoke fluent English and they went above and beyond when it came to customer service. Right upon arrival, they brought us bottled water and rain ponchos before we even finished checking in. They then gave us a map and restaurant and touring suggestions, and helped us book a beach tour for the next day.
Upon leaving on our excursion the next morning, they handed us towels before we had the chance to even ask.

My friend and I were vacationing in Rio for the week and arrived in Paraty mid-week planning to spend one night there, but upon arrival we immediately added a second night. We're glad we did. They honored the same hotel rate for the second night and a nice lady on staff called to help us cancel a tour we had booked in Rio allowing us to spend the extra night in Paraty.

The pousada is centrally located in the heart of the historic district, set along cobblestone streets, among shops, restaurants, old churches, and bars featuring good cachaca and great bossa nova. This hotel was a joy: from the caiperinha by the pool to the lovely complimentary breakfast. If I ever return to Paraty, there's nowhere else I'd rather stay.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Danaeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Pousada do Ouro
#3 of 28 in Paraty
554 reviews
Historic City Center
Pousada Porto Imperial
Pousada Porto Imperial
#4 of 28 in Paraty
508 reviews
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#25 of 28 in Paraty
356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada da Condessa
#6 of 28 in Paraty
339 reviews
Pousada Villa del Sol
#20 of 28 in Paraty
279 reviews
Resort Croce del Sud
#7 of 28 in Paraty
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada do Sandi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada do Sandi

Address: Largo do Rosario 01, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Paraty
Price Range: RM588 - RM1,226 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pousada do Sandi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is impossible to think of the historical center of Paraty without mentioning Pousada do Sandi, or Sandi's Lodge. Located in one of the most important historical building sites in Paraty, Pousada do Sandi is a reference in town. Known worldwide for its rich colonial architecture, Paraty's historical center is remarkable. The building that shelters Pousada do Sandi is a city picture postcard. We offer our guests: Sauna, Captain's bar (Pub), Game room, Cable TV and 300 titles of DVDs, Business center, Breakfast, Room Service, Private Parking, SPA All our rooms have conditioned air, telephone, TV, video, safe, minibar, private bathroom, the double beds are king-size. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your Pousada do Sandi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Sandi Paraty, Brazil
Pousada Do Sandi Hotel Paraty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing