We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pousada do Sandi
Nearby Hotels
US$181
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$110
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 17% below average rates

The price you found is 17% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$133/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Eliconial(Paraty)
US$99
US$95
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Maracuja Hostel(Paraty)(Great Value!)
US$25
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$367
US$332
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$296
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Breda Hostel(Paraty)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Leo's Clan Beach Hostel(Paraty)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Casa Luz(Paraty)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Refugio Tropical Pousada & Flats(Paraty)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (594)
Filter reviews
594 results
Traveller rating
318
204
48
13
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
318
204
48
13
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsold townhistoric propertygreat bedyour luggageswimming poolnice gardencharming placehotel is locatedcolonial stylefruitvisit paratybreadriopousadaparaticentrecachaca
Filter
Updating list...
74 - 79 of 594 reviews
Reviewed 20 March 2009

We just came back from attending a wedding at the Pousada Do Sandi and loved our stay. The hotel is clean and very comfortable! The location is perfect and everything in Paraty is within a few minutes walk. The staff were very friendly and helpful. It is a beautiful hotel that will take you back in time. If you want to relax, grab a drink and sit by the pool... it has a wonderful garden setting. Paraty is not an extended stay destination. Give yourself two or three days and then plan to move on. You can see the town in a day and spend another day out on the water. You can walk down to the boats in the morning and hire one to take you out for the day. They will take you to a few different swimming locations where you can enjoy a few drinks, lunch and some amazing snorkling. The boat for the entire day will cost you about $60 cdn, plus drinks (very reasonable prices) and lunch...and always negotiate.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LEVEL12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2008

We liked this hotel. It has a fantastic location, colourful décor, very helpful staff, good breakfast, big bedroom: these are all plus points. Be aware that the hotel is in an old building and we found it was not well insulated for noise. We changed rooms because our first one looked out onto a busy thoroughfare. The only suitable alternative room looked out onto a quieter side street and it was reasonably OK. (Bring your own plug for the bathroom basin, you'll find it useful everywhere in Brazil).

We ate out in the evenings at two recommended restaurants, Banana de Terra, which was full and not very good; and in the same street enjoyed eating at Bartholomeu, which was empty despite the fact that its service and food were both excellent. The Argentinian steak there is great and the Caiprinihas awesome.

Walking around Paraty is fun. The buildings are colourful, the cobble stones are fearsome and the sea washes some streets at high tide. We took a local guide for our tour and he brought the town to life for us.
The cultural centre is interesting, you can view the history on computers, hear the recorded stories of local inhabitants and take photos from the balcony. It is worth exploring out of town. We enjoyed a quiet boat trip on a sunny day (we hired a fishing boat through the reception desk at the hotel ) to visit Saco de Mamangua - a kind of fjord. Others visited local beaches on a schooner. We also briefly visited Trinidade beach which was dire, an awful former hippy town; and tried to visit Praia do Sono, another recommended beach but you either walk a fair distance or take a ride in a fishing boat and out of season (August is Winter) the boats were not operating so we never made it.
Paraty was an enjoyable stop between Sao Paulo and Rio (4 hours by road from each) and the Posada do Sandi was pleasant.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Ant42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2008

We went to Parati as a side trip from the hustle and bustle of Rio. The location was absolutely superb. The pousada is located in the middle of the historic colonial center, well within walking distance of all of the main sites. It is surrounded by carless cobblestone streets, and right out the door is one of the main streets with shops and restaurants.

The inn itself was very charming and quaint. The lobby was colorfully decorated, as were the rooms. They were spacious and had all the amenities of a regular hotel. The bathroom was decent as well. The inner courtyard featured a beautiful pool, and I'm sure a lively bar scene if it wasn't the dead of winter.

As a disclaimer, this is not a luxury hotel as defined by international standards. Everything was immaculately clean, but if you're looking for a 5-star spa retreat, this is not the place. However, what it may lack in luxurious comforts, it definitely makes up for in charm and good service!!!! The front desk was very friendly and helpful. The buffet breakfast, although limited, was good and was only bettered by the very friendly waiter.

I would highly recommend staying here if you go to Parati--it's a throwback to the colonial era, and a charming and modern pousada to go along with it.

  • Stayed: July 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Simpv21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2008

This hotel is bright, cheerful, and clean and the staff was phenomenal. There was usually someone on hand who spoke fluent English and they went above and beyond when it came to customer service. Right upon arrival, they brought us bottled water and rain ponchos before we even finished checking in. They then gave us a map and restaurant and touring suggestions, and helped us book a beach tour for the next day.
Upon leaving on our excursion the next morning, they handed us towels before we had the chance to even ask.

My friend and I were vacationing in Rio for the week and arrived in Paraty mid-week planning to spend one night there, but upon arrival we immediately added a second night. We're glad we did. They honored the same hotel rate for the second night and a nice lady on staff called to help us cancel a tour we had booked in Rio allowing us to spend the extra night in Paraty.

The pousada is centrally located in the heart of the historic district, set along cobblestone streets, among shops, restaurants, old churches, and bars featuring good cachaca and great bossa nova. This hotel was a joy: from the caiperinha by the pool to the lovely complimentary breakfast. If I ever return to Paraty, there's nowhere else I'd rather stay.

  • Stayed: April 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Danaeve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2008

We visited Paraty just after Christmas in 2007 and were lucky enough to stay at the Pousada do Sandi in this lovely, vibrant Brazilian coastal town. The pousada occupies a recently restored 18th century mansion in the heart of town right on the main pedestrianised street, really convenient for all kinds of activities.

The rooms are very spacious and comfortable, and beautifully furnished in a range of bright primary colors. Their designer deserves a medal for introducing so much color into the decor while remaining totally tasteful.

The hotel pool is a good place to relax and try the local speciality drink, a caipirinha, a cocktail made with the sugar cane alcohol that is produced in several local distilleries. The staff were all excellent, always smiling and helpful. We loved the town and decided that our stay at the Pousada was the best part of our whole Brazilian trip.

  • Stayed: December 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank scotirene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews