We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of our honeymoon”
Review of Pousada do Sandi

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Pousada do Sandi
Ranked #5 of 28 Hotels in Paraty
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2009

This hotel is AMAZING. It is ideally located in the nicest town we have ever visited in the whole world. Beautifully decorated pousada, fantastic staff, lovely breakfasts, great pool. The barman makes the best Caipirinhas ever, he taught my husband how to make them and was just the nicest guy. Maurice (think he must be the owner) was also so helpful, charming, funny, spoke fantastic English, gave us a free room upgrade for our honeymoon, recommended so many things to do, restaurants etc. I cannot speak highly enough of the place. We honestly didn't want to leave - we could have stayed forever and wish we could go back - only wish it wasn't so far away!!

As a town, Paraty is an absolute must - it is a hidden gem and a lovely sanctuary away from the hustle and bustle of Rio. Lovely shops, restaurants, boat trips, it is so pretty and so charming. It honestly made our honeymoon.

If anyone is thinking of going then I would say definitely DEFINITELY do!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank teamsmugs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (527)
There are newer reviews for Pousada do Sandi
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

63 - 67 of 527 reviews

Reviewed 7 September 2009

Delightfully decorated, pool and chill area nice, breakfast decent. Wi-fi only in common areas. As other reviewers noted, try to get an interior room if you don't want to be woken by all night parties (or early morning processionals) - windows facing on the street have only wooden shutters and the noise comes right through. If you're one of the revelers and want a walking location in the historic part of town, then the hotel should suit just fine.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank braneout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2009

We spent 2 nights there and loved it! Our room was very nice, the location is in the old town but close to the "city" stores, the staff friendly and helpful, the breakfasts were excellent, and the hotel provides free computer/internet access. The prices were on the high end, but worth it. We will definitly stay here when we return to Paraty and we will return.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chuck D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2009

Excellent location in "old town" Paraty - probably the best Pousada in town.
Hotel staff were really very good - relaxed but very helpful, courteous and polite. This is a lovely old mansion house in the middle of the old town that has been converted into a guest house (Pousada), so don't expect 5* modern hotel standards - but this place has a lot charm (albeit a bit kitsch). The rooms are dated (although are newly painted and clean). Comfortable bed & choice of pillows. Rooms 201, 202 and 203 also have nice verandah balconies overlooking the pool area. Booked direct with the hotel for US$150++.
Free fast WiFi in common areas, pool and on the room terraces (the old stone walls impair the signal in the bedrooms).
Good breakfast - not a vast selection - but very good quality local produce, freshly squeezed juice and eggs cooked to order.
A well stocked cocktail bar, a snooker table, card tables and comfy chairs for relaxing in the lounge areas. Small pool with good quality deck furniture and second bar area - very nicely lit in the evening with cocktail service by the pool. Hotel also has an in-house spa (with off-site facilities as well). Secure parking is available with staff to help with your luggage.
Old Town Paraty is great for 2 or 3 days (good choice of restaurants- not over priced) have a privateboat trip and a wander around the old cobbled streets and that's about it.
Refugio restaurant overloking the bay near the boat quay has great food, good wine list, traditional atmosphere and excellent service. The food in ThaiBrasil was also good if you fancy a change from the local fare.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank courtsbuyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2009

Very simple rooms; stains on the linen; not very clean. Paid 1270,-- BRL for two nights.
Pros: free WLAN available. Centrally located.

  • Stayed: June 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank freqtravmuc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Paraty hotels
Pousada do Ouro
#3 of 28 in Paraty
553 reviews
Historic City Center
Pousada Porto Imperial
Pousada Porto Imperial
#4 of 28 in Paraty
501 reviews
Pousada da Condessa
#6 of 28 in Paraty
339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pousada Bambu Bamboo
#24 of 28 in Paraty
356 reviews
Pousada Villa del Sol
#21 of 28 in Paraty
279 reviews
Resort Croce del Sud
#7 of 28 in Paraty
404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pousada do Sandi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pousada do Sandi

Address: Largo do Rosario 01, Paraty, State of Rio de Janeiro 23970-000, Brazil
Phone Number:
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Paraty
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Paraty
Price Range: RM570 - RM1,186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Pousada do Sandi 4.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It is impossible to think of the historical center of Paraty without mentioning Pousada do Sandi, or Sandi's Lodge. Located in one of the most important historical building sites in Paraty, Pousada do Sandi is a reference in town. Known worldwide for its rich colonial architecture, Paraty's historical center is remarkable. The building that shelters Pousada do Sandi is a city picture postcard. We offer our guests: Sauna, Captain's bar (Pub), Game room, Cable TV and 300 titles of DVDs, Business center, Breakfast, Room Service, Private Parking, SPA All our rooms have conditioned air, telephone, TV, video, safe, minibar, private bathroom, the double beds are king-size. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Pousada do Sandi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pousada Do Sandi Paraty, Brazil
Pousada Do Sandi Hotel Paraty

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing