We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Among the best in the world”
Review of Restaurante Ki

Restaurante Ki
Ranked #325 of 14,116 Restaurants in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$15 - US$30
Cuisines: Sushi, Japanese, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Modern Japanese restaurant, with traditional roots Restaurant Ki, specialized in Japanese cuisine, offers a remarkable gastronomic proposal in Rio de Janeiro. Experienced Chef Omura is behind the sushi bar and responsible for the menu that offers a variety of traditional and distinct oriental dishes based on beef; fish; seafood; vegetarian; exotic delicacies as well as contemporary recipes enjoyed either at the bar or at a table. With fresh and seasonal ingredients Ki wants to indulge clients seeking an exquisite gastronomic experience, with elaborate freshly made recipes. Improvisation is one of the most remarkable traits of Japanese cuisine and this is characteristic of Omura. At Ki you will be able to experience a fusion of tradition and modern variants, in a revitalized menu, never neglecting the essence of Nipponese cuisine. Ki serves the dishes on lovely exclusive handmade ceramics. Do look at the sake list with premium labels. Some are artisanal, with a wide range of types of rice, different polishing ratios and some award winning labels. Ki is located on charming Fonte da Saudade Street with its gorgeous trees and parallel to the Rodrigo de Freitas Lagoon. For 4 years, the comfortable 2 floor corner house allows clients to choose a table on one of the three balconies or one of the 5 tatami tables, 2 of them private and can sit 90 people. Ki has been shortlisted twice by the Comer & Beber guide of Veja Rio Magazine and in 2013 and 2014 received the TripAdvisor Certificate of Excellence.
Reviewed 10 August 2016

Let me start by saying that I travel abroad a lot. I've been to the many of the most famous Japanese restaurants in different countries: Nobu, Sushi Samba, Sticks'n'sushi...you name it! Ki owes nothing to these internationally renowned restaurants. Wait! Let me rephrase that: Ki is an internationally renowned restaurant, you just don't know that yet because we're still in 2016 and Ki has been around for only about 5 years. Yes, that's how good it is. The atmosphere is cozy, the food is amazingly fresh,the waiters are friendly and attentive and OMG it's like a prayer in the form of food. Their delivery system works really well too: the service is reliable and the look of the food when it arrives doesn't give you that feeling of "I love japanese food, it tastes great, but ordering at home is not the same." You know the feeling of opening an Apple product when you buy it? How even the experience of opening the box and the way everything is displayed becomes an essential part of the product? Well, ordering Ki at home is pretty similar to that. The food arrives in a bag specially designed for the restaurant .The food, soy sauce and chopsticks all intuitively and brilliantly organized. I am clearly a fan and if you visit the restaurant or order at home to see it for yourself, you will certainly become a fan too. Oh, and cherry on top: not only do they have amazing sake, but also recently they've enhanced their beer list. Delish!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roberta B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestauranteKi, Proprietário at Restaurante Ki, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017

WOW Roberta thank you for your review. Internationally renowned... That is great. We hope to keep up meeting your expectations and to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (331)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 11 of 331 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2016 via mobile

As a neighbor, I've been in this restaurant several times but last Friday, me and my wife got out the restaurant after 2 hours of waiting our food to come.
They kept on telling us that the food was about to come but never did. After we asked for the bill, they still charged us for the 2 sodas and the Sunomono we've asked.
As we were walking down the stairs, one of the staff guy turned to me and said: "I'm sorry for the inconvenience and next time we will get over it."
Sorry, it won't have a next time and you guys lost the opportunity of doing something at that night I've waited 2 hours for my food.

Thank ChristianK74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestauranteKi, Proprietário at Restaurante Ki, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2017
Google Translation

Christian obrigado pela sua avaliação. Preciso começar pedindo desculpas pela sua péssima experiência no Ki. Certamente foge do nosso propósito e do treinamento que nossa equipe recebe. Espero que possamos recebê-lo novamente para mudar essa impressão. Obrigado!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2016

I have been to Ki several times in the past and it is always a good choice. Good service, nice food, original menu and a large variety of sake choices. If you are unsure about where to go, try Ki. You won't regret it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank LiviaCais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestauranteKi, Proprietário at Restaurante Ki, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2016

Livia,

Thank you for your review!

We look forward to seeing you again at Ki!

Richard - Ki proprietor
Richard - proprietário do Ki

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 July 2016

Good service, cozy atmosphere and above all: unlike many Japanese restaurants in Rio, which are great for sushi lovers only, Ki has amazing options for vegetarians/vegans. I recommend their eggplant steak with mushrooms and also the hot tofu. They serve superb sake cocktails as well and are recently investing on their crafts beer menu.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank marneves_oficial
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestauranteKi, Proprietário at Restaurante Ki, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2016

Thank you for your review. At Ki we strive to serve all and that is why we have many veggie options. At Ki we are very pleased to be on the local DeRose Method shortlist.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2016

My wife and I are always looking for excellent restaurants which provide quality food and service without charging a premium for being in the most desirable locations. While no one would call Fonte de Saudade impoverished, it's not the culinary center of Rio, either, which makes Restaurante Ki all the more intriguing. Located in a two-story building amongst concrete-and-steel high rises in a sleepy corner of Lagoa, Ki is a charming and quiet place for an evening of good sushi. The restaurant is on the second floor, and features numerous dimly-lit and cozy booths along the walls, in addition to seats at the brightly-lit sushi bar. We have been there twice, and the combination platter we order is plentiful with high-quality sushi, sashimi, and makimonos. The service is pleasantly attentive. While Ki is not inexpensive by Brazilian standards, it's reasonably when priced in dollar or euros. Definitely worth the trip.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wwpalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RestauranteKi, Proprietário at Restaurante Ki, responded to this reviewResponded 10 July 2016

Thank you very much for your review. It is great to know that you have been to Ki twice and that you think it is "definitely worth the trip" :-) Hope to see you and your wife back soon! thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Restaurante Ki also viewed

 

Been to Restaurante Ki? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing