We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location but expensive”
Review of Center Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Center Hotel
Ranked #281 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed 18 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 2 weeks during the olympics. It is a basic hotel - clean, comfortable for sleeping - with very friendly, honest staff although not much English. Breakfast not great & wifi inconsistent. Good for access to public transport & museums etc plus refurbished port. Food at night hard to find unless you head to around rue Rosario.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled solo
Thank Emp58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (136)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 136 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2014

My son and I stayed here during the world cup

It would be very easy to lay the boots into this place, stating that it didn't live up to expectations, but that would be implying expectations were held.

This tired old building provided everything it said it would.

It was the cheapest available accommodation in Rio during the world cup, about $300 a night less than the next available, and whilst it is a good 20 minute cab ride from the more eye friendly Copacabana beach, at a quarter of the price it was well worth it.

Right in the middle or the Rio CBD, taxis were everywhere, and late night food options and convenience shopping was in abundance.

A few of the staff members during the day were fluent in English so that made getting the enormous list of "to-dos" in this iconic city so much easier.

The wifi was terrible, and I had to sit in the hallways to Skype my partner, but the air conditioning worked and the service to the rooms was good.

All in all, don't expect luxury and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Adza_H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

To describe this hotel as 3 star is very deceiving. This is a 1 star facility. I struggle to call it a hotel. The rooms are awful. They are grubby, poorly furnished and the bathrooms are ancient. The "restaurant" is awful.

1  Thank Colin M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 8 July 2014 via mobile

Up side is central to some of Rio's best museums & galleries & near the tube.The reception staff are helpful & speak limited english.we only stayed for 2 nights during the World Cup so we had the added insult of paying premium.in its day it would've been at best 2 star.i can't begin now.

Stayed: July 2014
2  Thank Andrew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This place is dirty , falling apart , and a potential health hazard - exposed electrical wires !!. We stayed for a few nights due to World Cup and the management must be exploiting the fact that accommodation is limited in Rio.

It's such a shame as the flip side to what I can simply say is the worse hotel ever is that the staff were great. I left my drivers licence and they contacted me to let me know......which in an unprofessional place like it is was very surprising

Room Tip: Bring bathroom cleaning liquids/detergents !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gert n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Centro
Hotel Puma
Hotel Puma
#271 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
31 reviews
Centro
Hotel Sao Francisco
Hotel Sao Francisco
#131 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
319 reviews
Centro
Belga Hotel
Belga Hotel
#147 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Pompeu
#218 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
124 reviews
Centro
Rios Presidente Hotel
Rios Presidente Hotel
#199 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
191 reviews
Centro
Windsor Guanabara Hotel
Windsor Guanabara Hotel
#86 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Center Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Center Hotel

Address: Avenida Rio Branco 33 | Centro, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20090-003, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #281 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: RM129 - RM329 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Center Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 147
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Center Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Center Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing