We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Central location, comfortable spacious rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Windsor Guanabara Hotel
Ranked #85 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed 29 April 2017 via mobile

My husband and I spent a night here. Great if you want to be in the middle of the city. We had a corner room with a great view of the church and the harbour. Slightly dated rooms but very comfortable and great facilities. A very tasty buffet breakfast.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Fiona J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorGuanabara, Gerente at Windsor Guanabara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2017

Dear Fiona

Thanks to your comments.
We hope to see you again soon.
Best Regards.
Att

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,328)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 1,328 reviews

Reviewed 19 March 2017

Close to the old harbour and several attractions like musea, you can wander though the streets and have different views of the bay or an elevated church. Those churches are worth a visit because they are richly decorated in a baroque way.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Kees Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WindsorGuanabara, Gerente at Windsor Guanabara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2017

Dear Guest Kees

Thanks to contact us ..
We appreciate your commnts
I hope to see you soon

Best Regards
Carlos Silva
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2017 via mobile

It is a dated hotel, with tiny old rooms, with cheap linens and towels. I stayed there because it was a 5min drive to the hospital were I had a conference, but definitely was not a good choice. Ok to walk around during the day, although it is chaotic, but dangerous to do it during the night. Nice staff and fair breakfast though.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled on business
Thank Ivan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor G, Manager at Windsor Guanabara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Mr Ivan

Thank you for the contact
We received your comments and are working to improve.

Best regards
Carlos Silva
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2017 via mobile

I slept in this hotel for only one night.
The structure is located in a very trafficated district, and not in a beautiful zone.

The personell in the reception are good, they was very kind with me at any of my question.

The rooms are with old furnishings, but everything is clean and in order.
The restaurant personell also are good and kind; they portion of the food are very big and good.

The only main problem is the soundproofing windows, was very big noisy all the day from the main road outside of the hotel, which make me not sleep in the night.

Stayed: March 2017, travelled solo
Thank MattiaMax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor G, Manager at Windsor Guanabara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Mr Mattia

Tks to contact us.
We received your comments and checking
Best regards.
Carlos Silva
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2017

Location is convenient at the center of the city, but the place will be in the center of traffic jam in the morning and evening. I had a late night flight back home but our limo couldn't make it on time due to bad traffic jam around 18:00. Also this place have a gym on top floor, but not enough to change close or take a quick shower. Better to extend your check-out to change close and prepare for your late flights.
Also the room seemed to have some ticks...

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hirohiro2525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Windsor G, Manager at Windsor Guanabara Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2017

Mr Hiro

Thanks to your comments.
Our check out time is 12:00 .
The Hotel has late check out free until 2:00 pm.
After this time you can contact the reception for half day policy.

Thank you for the contact
Carlos Silva
Hospitality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Centro
Windsor Asturias Hotel
Windsor Asturias Hotel
#48 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
681 reviews
Centro
Hotel Sao Francisco
Hotel Sao Francisco
#129 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
319 reviews
Centro
Belga Hotel
Belga Hotel
#138 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Flamengo
Windsor Florida Hotel
Windsor Florida Hotel
#34 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
1,093 reviews
Jacarepaguá
Midas Rio Suites
Midas Rio Suites
#216 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
164 reviews
Centro
Arosa Rede Rio Hotel
Arosa Rede Rio Hotel
#92 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Windsor Guanabara Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windsor Guanabara Hotel

Address: Avenida Presidente Vargas 392, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20071-000, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Business Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
#49 Romantic Hotel in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: RM259 - RM477 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Windsor Guanabara Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 542
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the Heart of Rio. Tranquility and refinement, in the Heart of Rio de Janeiro. Windsor Guanabara Hotel has a privileged location in the cultural corridor of Rio de Janeiro. Within a few minutes you can reach several tourist attractions and also the main transportation terminals of the city such as: Subway, Trains, VLT, Santos Dumont Airport, Antônio Carlos Jobim International Airport and Novo Rio Bus Station. Ideal for those visiting the city on business or pleasure, the hotel offers ample space for events, meeting rooms with state-of-the-art equipment, business center for printing services, copy and scanning, international cuisine restaurant, and a beautiful view of the great sights of the city on our Top Floor. Explore the region's highlights such as the Olympic Boulevard, Tomorrow's Museum, Rio's Art Museum, the city's new transportation: the Light Rail Vehicle (VLT) and the newest AquaRIO to enjoy a complete and unforgettable experience, Besides other renowned and known areas of the region. Parking available for guests with an additional charge of R $ 35.00 (Monday to Thursday). From Friday to Sunday, parking is free. Tourist attractions nearby: Rio Museum of Art Museum of Tomorrow National Historical Museum Museum of Modern Art of Rio Banco do Brasil Cultural Center Olympic Boulevard Pier Mauá Maravilha Porto Candelária Church AquaRIO Pedra do Sal Monastery of St. benedict Confectionery Colombo Square XV Arco dos Teles Imperial Palace Santos Dumont Airport Antônio Carlos Jobim International Airport Vivo Rio Arena Marina da Glória Odeon Theater (Centro Cultural Luiz Severiano Ribeiro) Lapa Arches Theatro Municipal France Brazil Museum ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Windsor Guanabara Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windsor Guanabara Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing