We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value and location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Rios Presidente Hotel
Ranked #194 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed 7 March 2017

We stayed for a night prior to our taking a cruise. It is fairly close to cruise to the terminal (not a walking distance). One can take a metro or bus from here.
This is an older hotel but still well maintained. The elevators are old and restaurant areas show age.
The air conditioning was good and so was the breakfast buffet. The TV was good and it is close to a plaza and a pedestrian drag with good restaurants. We were cautioned but nothing untowards happened to us. We walked around with restaurant patios extending on to streets. It was quiet on Sunday morning we walked to some churches and older buildings and construction/renovations going on.
In Rio, people over 65 can use the local transportation for free. The modern train to the port area was great with a lot of security.

Room Tip: We were on a higher floor and it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank avtar w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rios G, Public Relations Manager at Rios Presidente Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2017

Dear, Avtar

The Rio´s Presidente team thanks your comments.

As mentioned, our hotel is from the 50's, we are going through a period of modernization of the entire hotel. And will include new restaurant, reception and metting rooms.
Regarding the elevators, we report that we currently have 3 new elevators with less than 2 years of use and we will install another elevator that will accommodate up to 11 people.

We hope that you can stay with us again in the future, so that you can personally check all the news that we are designing.

Besta regards,
Rio´s Presidente Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 191 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2016

I stayed here for nearly two weeks, late June / Early July 2016 in room 1303. The refurbishment of the hotel seems to be nearly complete, it looked as if floor 5 and below were still unchanged.

My room was absolutely fine. The bed was firm (how I like it) and the small wardrobe had a safe in it. The bathroom and sanitary-ware were all up to standard. Sometimes it took a little while for hot water to reach me in the evenings and I did have a couple of cold showers. This was not much of an issue to me (‘cos I’m tough like that, innit). The air conditioning unit was effective. The wi-fi in the room was good enough for email and browsing, I don't know if there was any cost to this as it would have been taken care of for me.

I can recall only three slight issues that I had with the room:
The opaque glass door of the bathroom let the morning light flood in, this room being one of the few with a bathroom window. I found that I could hang the runner that was across the bottom of the bed on to the door and block most of the light and this helped enormously. The room featured a minibar fridge, I had to unplug it though to cut down the noise. Unfortunately noise does travel in this hotel. All of those lovely hard surfaces in the corridors really do throw any sound all the way to the end. Some of my colleagues did have to change room to get further away from the ever-chiming lifts. You can still hear the lifts at the far end of the corridor though.

The breakfast was good with enough variety and variation.

The roof terrace shows promise. The bar looked to be very recently built and was not yet functional. There is a small pool and sun terrace which are very pleasant. There is also a gym and a sauna, I did not use either of these.

All of the staff who I dealt with were helpful and polite.

Previous posters had said that the hotel is in a dodgy area. This is not the case. Centro is an urban area in a city not without problems, you should always keep your wits about you. There were a few times when I was out by myself after dark - it’s really not that scary. The local square had a couple of fiestas while I was there and some might find the night-life of the area appealing.

I cannot comment upon the cost of the room as that was taken care of by the company I was working for.

Given a quiet room I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: The front rooms face a moderately busy road, the rear ones a quiet-ish back area. You'll still h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank MrLGT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rios n, Public Relations Manager at Rios Presidente Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2016

The Rio's President team appreciates your attention and comment!

We are a hotel from the 50's and we are undergoing renovations to better serve our clients.
As you said, our terrace is completely new, as well as the gym, sauna and bar. And the Centro of Rio, where we are located, is part of the cultural center of our city. Rio de Janeiro was capital of the Brazilian Empire and after of Brazil Goverment and in 1960 that´s became Brasilia.

The theater that is located at the left of our hotel was built by Emperor Pedro the Second.

The Rio's Presidente Hotel, awaits you in a new visit to the city of Rio de Janeiro!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2016 via mobile

Very Old Hotel! Actually looks like a brazilian motel! The bedroom is very old! Bathroom is ok. They're reformulating it so there's material construction everywhere!
Wifi is ok and reachs the room. Breakfast is really poor! 10 minutes walk from the next subway station!

Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
Thank EloiPepe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rios G, marketing at Rios Presidente Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Thank you for your point of view!

We would like to inform you that our hotel it´s from the 50´s and we are undergoing modernization to better serve our guests. Everything will change and because of that, we will change our category. We will be a 4 star hotel.

We hope to receive you once more, when we finish our modernization.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2016 via mobile

I won't fly with Azul any more and won't go to this hotel.
Ended in a hotel at the airport on my expense.

Location is not that good at the centro and the hotel in bad shape.

Good only for backpackers maybe!!!

Azul can't do this to the passengers after they cancelled a flight....

Stayed: February 2016, travelled on business
Thank sbfares
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rios G, marketing at Rios Presidente Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Thank you for your point of view!

We would like to inform that the hotel is undergoing modernization to better serve our guests. Everything will change, not only the structure!

We hope to receive you once more, when we finish our modernization.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2015 via mobile

Had to stay there as all other hotels in the area were full. Rooms were in a bad condition and not clean, food was terrible , WiFi was payable and very slow. Location is good, close to metro station and shopping. Overall not an enjoyable experience.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
Thank Harbaksh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rios G, marketing at Rios Presidente Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2016

Thank you for your point of view!

We would like to inform that the hotel is undergoing modernization to better serve our guests. Everything will change, not only the structure! we are conducting course for our staf the improvement of our service.

We hope to receive you once more, when we finish our modernization.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Centro
Hotel ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro
Hotel ibis Rio de Janeiro Centro
#112 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,137 reviews
Hotel Pouso Real
#182 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
141 reviews
Centro
Belga Hotel
Belga Hotel
#138 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Hotel Sao Francisco
Hotel Sao Francisco
#131 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
319 reviews
Centro
Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro Centro
Hotel ibis budget Rio de Janeiro...
#154 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
2,992 reviews
Centro
Hotel Meu Cantinho
Hotel Meu Cantinho
#242 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rios Presidente Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rios Presidente Hotel

Address: Rua Pedro I 19 | Centro, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20060-050, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Centro
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #194 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: RM162 - RM487 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Rios Presidente Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 210
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Rios Presidente Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rios Presidente Hotel Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing