We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above our expectations”
Review of Hotel Primor

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Primor
Ranked #219 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Reviewed 29 September 2014

If you're traveling to Rio, don't be fooled! Motels are always rentes by the hour and are primarily for sex though they're a great option if you're on a short budget and only want to spend the night. With that in mind, I decided to stay one night at the Primor Hotel and I was really impressed with how the place is well kept, tidy and nice. The people at the front desk are super attentive and kind. The location is horrible but once again if you need a place to spend the night, this hotel is really worth having a look.
It offers breakfast too.

  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Paulopvb20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (38)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 38 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2013

Stayed here Jan 2013 ,Staff at hotel none spoke English or understood it room was tiny , complained gave me a deluxe room, it was just a bigger room , no wardrobe's , drawers, no security box, the TV was just porn............., no glass in window just shutters so was very noisy at all times ,if you had any visitors they secretly charged you without warning you , I was ripped off by £90 , over charge at end of stay , the location of the hotel is in one of the most dangerous areas of Rio , it is nr the central area but no where near any tourist areas , all I can say is don,t go as you will regret it .

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank GeordieRay50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2012

The hotel was clearly a "Motel" in the past. Even if it is trying to clean up to an higher level, there are some over bed mirrors which reveal the hotel primary function. Windows without glasses make you feel in a neverending night, otherwise you have to open them, exposing yourself to mosquitos (thousands of mosquitos). If you are not a latin-language speaking, give up. They speak and understand only Portuguese. Spanish and Italian knowledge could help a lot. The breakfast is served in the room. Not bad. Don't complain about room cleaning. If you keep the key, they simply cannot clean your room. Ask explicitely, even every day, to clean your room and they will do it without complaining about.
This hotel is very well positioned!! Almost all the buses stop in Placa Republica, and the public trasportation system is really efficient. Use it!
If you prefer to walk, lapa first restaurants (like rio scenario) are around 600 meters far from this hotel.
Immediately to the north of this hotel there is the bigger permanent market I have ever seen in Rio. It is huge and safe. You can find there unbelievable deals even for touristic stuff. You will really breath the real Rio there, RECCOMMENDED.

Room Tip: The higher the better. The third or fourth floor would reduce the number of mosquitos with whom you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Makkogreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Venere.com messed up our reservation, we booked 3 rooms whithout knowing what to expect. Yes it is a "only for adults hotel" but we received excellent service. The manager and staff where always very helpful. The morning breakfast was very good and they also provide a 24 hours room service. All good except the noise of a bar nearby.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
1  Thank Noemi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: Não percam o café da manhã que é bem farto.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Carlos Henrique R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Centro
Hotel Puma
Hotel Puma
#271 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
32 reviews
Centro
Hotel Belas Artes
Hotel Belas Artes
#168 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
94 reviews
Centro
Parque Hotel
Parque Hotel
#227 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Centro
Belga Hotel
Belga Hotel
#147 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
26 reviews
Centro
Hotel Galicia
Hotel Galicia
#267 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
126 reviews
Centro
Hotel Meu Cantinho
Hotel Meu Cantinho
#247 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Primor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Primor

Address: Avenida Gomes Freire 52, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 20231-013, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Centro
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #219 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Number of rooms: 44
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Primor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Primor Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing