We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best stay I've ever had in Rio!”
Review of Hotel Vilamar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Vilamar
Ranked #111 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 June 2017

I've visited Rio numerous times over the past 12 years, and have stayed in hotels on high end (Caesar Park, Sofitel) and middle to lower (Orla, California Othon, Copa Rio). This hidden side street gem is by far the most superior.

To start, it's well located. I usually stay a couple of days while visiting home (to have access to pool, gym, etc). In this case I extended my stay a few days because was so comfortable.

This hotel, for now, has very reasonable rates between R$200-250/night. When converted to USD, that's a very reasonable USD75-80 nightly rate. For this I had a pleasant rear facing room which was very large, with huge foyer, large bath with jacuzzi. The room has all the standards - safe, multi-channel flat-screen TV, hairdryer, minibar, toiletries. There are two elevators, and just five rooms per floor - it feels like a boutique hotel.

Daily buffet breakfast is included, offering very fresh fruits, meats, juices, cereals, eggs, cakes and cheeses. The restaurant is very pleasant, overlooking the side street Rua Bolivar.

Other amenities include complimentary Wi-Fi, business center with internet next to lobby bar, a roof terrace with loungers, patio tables, a pool large enough for laps, and a pretty good fitness center on upper level above pool. There is also a rooftop bar and a sauna. The terrace has great views of Copacabana, a bit of Ipanema and the ocean, mountains, and a sliver of one of the favelas. The hotel is 18 stories so you see lots of other roof decks and penthouses.

The location is very central - just 1.5 blocks from Copacabana Beach (Posto 5 area) and maybe 15 minutes (at a fast NYC pace) to get to Ipanema. Just two blocks further in is the Cantagalo metro station where two metro lines take you downtown, to Ipanema, Sao Conrado and Barra Tijuca, or over to Gloria, and Botafogo. Dozens of bus lines stop around the corner. There are a myriad of shops, restaurants, banks/ATMs and services just around the corner in a lively safe residential neighborhood.

What makes this hotel stand out for me was the very friendly and helpful staff. At the front desk were Mr. Creso, and Glieciele Pacheco, really nice man with helpful suggestions was the doorman/bellhop Adejoan and his colleagues. The women at the lobby bar were always friendly and welcoming me back whether I was having drinks or not. And there was always a cold lemon or lime beverage available in the lobby upon arrival.

The Vilamar Copacabana won't win any design or style awards. It's spotlessly clean and modern with lots of wood veneer finishes. For people who are shorter or physically challenged: the Jacuzzi tub is in bath is a very high step in if you are not nimble, or short. The gym and parts of the terrace have steps to access, making the hotel services not completely accessible for some. Same with the pool ladder. considering a stay here.

I thank the staff for making my stay really warm and pleasant; I look forward to staying again on my next visit in a few months! Muito obrigado!

Room Tip: Three rooms face the street in front, two face the courtyard and neighboring apartment houses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ShaunNJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 19 June 2017

Hello Mr. Shaun, thanks for rating!
We were very happy to know that your experience at our hotel was so positive, it is very gratifying to have a return like yours.

We are also looking forward to welcoming you again!

A big hug, team Vilamar.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (265)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 265 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2016 via mobile

Clean and professional entrance and welcoming staff. Pretty decent breakfast. Clean comfortable room.
Good safe in the room.
Generally very good, only small criticism is wi-fi was great most days until the weekend when didn't work but otherwise would recommend

Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Rob T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helem_Az, Diretor de vendas at Hotel Vilamar, responded to this reviewResponded 26 September 2016

Dear @Rob

Good afternoon!


We are very happy to receive your positive message!

It was very good to have you with us, we hope you come visit us soon!


A hug to all of Vilamar Copacabana Team :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for 6 days over the olympics with a relative and really enjoyed the hotel. The location is great and as others have said all the staff were friendly and efficient. Breakfast was very good and the bar efficiently run by Maria.
I dont think for the price you could do any better and we were sorry to leave for home at the end of our stay.
If we ever come back to Rio this hotel will be the one we choose.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled with friends
Thank rjcoppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helem_Az, Diretor de vendas at Hotel Vilamar, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2016

Dear

Good afternoon!


We are very happy to receive your positive message :)

It was very good to have you with us, we hope you come visit us soon!


A hug to all of Vilamar Copacabana Team !
<3

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

Stayed at the hotel vilamar Copacabana for six nights over the Olympics The hotel has a great location a few minutes walk from Copacabana beach and a short walk on the front to Ipanema . Also just outside the hotel are bars , atms , bus stops , chemists . metro stop and restaurants Even though there are plenty of restaurants outside I recommend the hotel for dinner as it is very good and a reasonable price . On more than one evening we had pizzas on the roof terrace where there is a bar , a pool and gym .It is nice and quite on the roof away fro the bustle of Rio . The rooms was spacious and very clean with a free safe and Jacuzzi bath . The staff were were great and nothing was too much trouble and local trips are available to book behind reception. I must make special mention of the young lady who looked after the roof bar , called elainea, she was fantastic a really looked after us

Room Tip: higher rooms are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank elaine s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helem_Az, Director of Sales at Hotel Vilamar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2016

Dear @Elaine

Good afternoon!

We are very happy to receive your positive message :)

It was very good to have you with us, we hope you come visit us soon!


A hug to all of Vilamar Copacabana Team <3

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016

From the time you walk through the door of the VILAMAR your every need is taken care of, The staff are extremely attentive, Room service is very efficient and the hospitality is second to none, The buffet breakfast gives you a very good variety of food to suit every taste, The pool on the top floor gives you a view which every photographer will love, The pool itself while not very big is more than suitable for those just wanting to cool off, There is an excellent restaurant in the hotel, But there are also plenty of restaurants near by, There are also some very well known eateries familiar to everybody to use, Copacabana beach is without question the most beautiful beach I have ever sat on, But if you just wish to stay at the Hotel Vilamar it will not disappoint, And very important for the Internet lover, Wi Fi was available for free or to buy if you wanted a faster service.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank millais
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helem_Az, Diretor de vendas at Hotel Vilamar, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2016

Dear @Millails


Good afternoon!


We are very happy to receive your positive message :)

It was very good to have you with us, we hope you come visit us soon!


A hug to all of Vilamar Copacabana Team <3

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Copacabana
Mirador Rio Hotel
Mirador Rio Hotel
#91 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
640 reviews
Copacabana
Augusto's Copacabana Hotel
Augusto's Copacabana Hotel
#67 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
931 reviews
Copacabana
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
Ibis Copacabana Posto 5
#41 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
724 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Copacabana
Hotel Savoy Othon
Hotel Savoy Othon
#96 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
772 reviews
Copacabana
Americas Copacabana Hotel
Americas Copacabana Hotel
#57 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
662 reviews
Copacabana
Promenade Princess Copacabana
Promenade Princess Copacabana
#143 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Vilamar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Vilamar

Address: Rua Bolivar 75, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22061-021, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #111 of 286 Hotels in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: RM208 - RM453 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Vilamar 3.5*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Vilamar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Vilamar Copacabana Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Vilamar Copacabana Rio De Janeiro
Hotel Vilamar Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing