We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a great place!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House)
Ranked #26 of 348 Rio de Janeiro B&B and Inns
Reviewed 4 February 2017

First of all its location: on the corner of Copacabana and Ipanema. The beach is 30m away across the street. The spacious appartment is on the top floors with an amazing terras overlooking Copacabana (an additional terrace on top of that) Great, super breakfast on the terrace. Safe, 24h guarded. You are free to come and go, use the guest kitchen, cold water etc.
Bost most of all, Marta is the most warm and enthousiastic lady of the house. Always helpfull and in for a good laugh! Thank you Marta for the perfect days!

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jorisdelanghe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (288)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 288 reviews

Reviewed 16 January 2017

We stayed with Marta during the 2017 New Years celebrations in Rio. Her guesthouse is perfectly situated on Copacabana Beach with an awesome view across the bay towards Sugarloaf. There is a small kithcenette where you can keep and make food during your stay. Ipanema and the Metro station is within walking distance. The rooms are comfortable, but the terrace with its breathtaking view is the best! Breakfast is delicious, with fresh fruit, juice and cakes every morning. And Lucia is always ready with a smile.
Marta is an absolute amazing host, she makes you feel at home right from the start and you leave feeling like you are saying goodbye to a good friend!!
She is always ready with advice for restaurants and sight seeing, and willing to assist with bookings etc.
New Years in Rio is an amazing time, its hot and sunny and the beaches are packed. We had our very own New years eve coctail party on the terrace of the guesthouse with the other travellers, Marta and her friends. She served us delicous food, and made sure there was something for everyones taste (even for my children who can be fussy eaters!) We had the best view of the fireworks and the festivities down below on the beach.
I would never consider staying anywhere else in Rio! Absolutely loved our stay!!

Room Tip: We stayed in the Amethyst and Aquamarine rooms, both with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lizl M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2016 via mobile

This place has it all.

1) You're right next to the beach, so if you want to go for a swim just head out dressed for the beach!
2) Amazing roof terrace where you have a magnificent view over the whole of Copacabana beach
3) Excellent breakfast served by Lucia, fresh made juices, ham, cheese, cake (a new one each day!)
4) Despite being really close to the beach and the road, our bedroom was extremely quiet (we chose the Emerald view)
5) Excellent and friendly service from guesthouse owner Marta. Always ready with hugs, umbrellas and beach towels :)

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Ida A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2016

We had an excellent stay in Rio at Marta's Guest House! Marta made us feel at home right away. We were amazed by the breathtaking view! Great terrasse and living/ dining area, perfect for dinner under the stars. Rooms were very clean, breakfast every morning was beyond expectations, so delicious! Loved loved loved our stay!

  • Stayed: May 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank crobit1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2016

Not only the bedrooms were clean, comfortable and well equipped. But also relaxing in the huge living room or on the rooftop terrace with a beautiful view over the Copacabana and the sugar loaf are great. We felt very welcome from the first minute. You can really tell that Marta enjoys running her Guest House: She spends time there with her guests and takes care of everybody. For example on our first night in Rio she joined us for dinner and made sure we picked a good restaurant. And her maid Lucia is the sweetest person you can possibly imagine! We loved staying with Marta and Lucia so much that we booked two additional nights at the Guest House. When I visit Rio again, I definitely want to stay with Marta! I am sure that every other accomodation would just be a huge dissapointment compared to Marta´s Guest House.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iris07082015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rio de Janeiro hotels
Ipanema
Mc Flats Ipanema Beach Star
Mc Flats Ipanema Beach Star
#210 of 286 in Rio de Janeiro
34 reviews
Botafogo
O Veleiro Bed and Breakfast
O Veleiro Bed and Breakfast
#18 of 348 in Rio de Janeiro
342 reviews
Copacabana
Hotel Diplomata Copacabana
Hotel Diplomata Copacabana
#49 of 348 in Rio de Janeiro
121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Teresa
Casa Marques Santa Teresa
Casa Marques Santa Teresa
#9 of 348 in Rio de Janeiro
125 reviews
Santa Teresa
Mama Ruisa
Mama Ruisa
#2 of 348 in Rio de Janeiro
421 reviews
Copacabana
Jucati Season Apartments
Jucati Season Apartments
#13 of 348 in Rio de Janeiro
413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House)

Address: Rua Francisco Sa 5, Rio de Janeiro, State of Rio de Janeiro 22080-010, Brazil
Region: Brazil > State of Rio de Janeiro > Rio de Janeiro > Copacabana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 348 B&Bs / Inns in Rio de Janeiro
Price Range: RM 513 - RM 1,089 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House) 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We offer and special service and are prepared to help our guests since the start of the preparation of the trip to Brazil. In a very spectacular location in front of the Copacabana beach, and with the most beautiful views. Our Guesthouse offers comfort and have a very family atmosphere, and Marta is there to help the guests to find the best places to enjoy the city. With experience in tourism, Marta can help you with the best indication of tours, restaurants and what to do in Rio. Welcome to Marta's and be home at our Guesthouse ! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rio Guest House ( Marta`s Guest House) Hotel Rio De Janeiro
Rio Guest House ( Marta's Guest House) Rio De Janeiro, Brazil

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing