We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Arena Copacabana Hotel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$84
US$74
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$85/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Ipanema Inn(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$125
US$112
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Acapulco Copacabana(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$87
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Santa Tere Hostel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$22
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Bamboo Rio Hostel(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$30
US$16
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
El Misti Rooms(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$28
US$16
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Novotel Rio de Janeiro Parque Olimpico(Rio de Janeiro)(Great Value!)
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Belmond Copacabana Palace(Rio de Janeiro)
US$352
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$152
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$176/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (382)
Filter reviews
382 results
Traveller rating
249
93
17
11
12
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
249
93
17
11
12
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsolympic villagelobby barpool decksmall supermarketfront deskgreat hoteltop floorhotel is modernevery morningrecommend this hotelconferencebrtbarrataxiroofcomfortrio
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 382 reviews
Reviewed 7 December 2017

This hotel needs a taxi for everywhere. You cannot walk to the beach if you're a family with beach stuff and you will need a taxi. This is a business hotel but my advise is, if you're doing a few days business here and have a day off then stay elsewhere. Somewhere near to something...anything.!

Luckily myself and a few friends walked over to a mini shopping mall area, a few restaurants and a very high end (little gold mine) small supermarket. Can't remember the name but look for the McDonalds on Google Maps that's about 500Meters North West of the hotel, that's where is it. Very nice there, only small but we only found it by chance. four or five pretty good restaurants. The only problem is I would not advise single women or woman and young children walk there. It was totally fine for a few blokes but there's a stretch of road by a small river that's about 100 meters long and poorly lit you need to walk to to get there

The hotel itself inside and rooms are great. No complaints at all

The restaurant. Breakfast OK but that's about it. Pretty poor lunch and dinner. A burger and fries from the bar is about as god as it gets. The evening food was the first and last time I'll ever eat there. It was not that bad but just all bland, a bit old and my friend had the buffet which turned out to be worse

Pool on the roof. Not you are surrounded by industrial spaces, all around the hotel and a big main road to add into the mix.! If the hotel was in the middle of a city or by a beach it would be awesome, but alas.!

Room Tip: High up with a view of some water (not the back / industrial area)
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank CimmyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017

Great hotel. Quite comfortable apartment, fast and reliable service, good food, great breakfast. The pool area is very beautiful, the views of the hotel stand out. Just need to better fit the fitness center.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank mcruz517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Mercure R, General Manager at Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Riocentro, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Dear Mcruz, good morning.

Thank you for the great review of our hotel!

We hope to see you soon again.

Kind Regards!

Raphael Martini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2017

I was at this hotel during Rock in Rio,and even though I've stayed before at this facility,this time was a mess....from the check in through breakfast.Very disappointed.I was not,definitively,treated as a "gold member".

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank joserafaelv454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Mercure R, General Manager at Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Riocentro, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Dear Jose Rafael, good morning.

Thank you for sharing your experience.

We already answer your guest survey inviting you to come back again and transfering 1000 bonus points through your loyalty card.

I hope to have a new opportunity to better serve you and show how you are very important for us as a LeClubAccorhotels Gold member.

Kind Regards!

Raphael Martini

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2017

I stayed at the hotel for an international congress. The room was clean and the breakfasts that were included were delicious. I especially want to commend the server/employee Eduardo Tomaz for his excellent service. He welcomed us every morning with a smile and "Bom Dia" . His English speaking skills were excellent which set him apart from most of the staff. As we did not speak Portugese we relied on his assistance daily. Thank you very much Eduardo.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patricia H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Mercure R, Gerente geral at Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Riocentro, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2017

Dear Patricia,

We are so glad to hear about your stay at Grand Mercure. We are very happy that our services meet your spectations. We will pass your feedback to Eduardo and all our team!
It is always a pleasure receive you and hope you can be with us again in a near future.

Best Regards,
Raphael de Santi Martini
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2017

The Grand Mercure is right next to the Riocentro convention centre which was great for the conference we were attending. The hotel is modern, our room was large and featured large windows looking out on the adjacent pond and the Olympic venue. We could watch the birds in and around the pond and fish jumping in the pond. From the pool deck you could see the Olympic venue, the empty Olympic village, the lagoon and lots of birds, particularly the Magnificent Frigatebird. Did I say we like watching birds?

Meals were excellent and the variety at breakfast allowed us to have something different almost every day. The dinner buffet was good and room service was prompt and courteous. The wifi worked well the first day but we did have a problem connecting on the second day. We contacted the front desk and they contacted their IT service who then asked us some questions about our computer and from then on we had no problem whatsoever.

The only drawback is that the hotel is rather isolated. It's a long walk to any shopping so cabs are required. The hotel did offer a twice daily free shuttle service to nearby beaches and shopping malls. The BRT (bus rapid transit) runs right by the hotel but it's a pass is needed which isn't available at the nearby stops and they don't take cash. The BRT stop by Barra Shopping sells passes so after the first shuttle trip to the mall I was able to get around using the BRT at R$3.80 per trip.

I did find a small shopping area nearby, about 1 km away, that had some restaurants and an excellent deli and specialty store but you have to walk or take a cab.

The hotel is great for attending a conference and transportation to get anywhere requires a very long walk, cab or bus. The hotel is very nice, the staff are very friendly and helpful and quick to answer questions and solve problems, meals are good and our room was large and comfortable although the bed was a bit hard for my liking.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank hydehaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Mercure R, Gerente geral at Grand Mercure Rio de Janeiro Riocentro, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2017

Dear Guest,

We are glad to read that you have enjoyed your stay at the hotel. It´s always good to receive a positive feedback. I will share this with all Grand Mercure team.

Hope that we could receive you again in a near future.

Best Regards,
Raphael de Santi Martini
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews