We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,655)
Filter reviews
1,655 results
Traveller rating
1,125
290
115
76
49
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,125
290
115
76
49
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lagoon view club access beautiful hotel rooms are great barra beach tourist sites nespresso machine club room beach hotel depending on traffic concierge team nice balcony four seasons rooms are modern beach service restaurants and bars mini bar
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 1,655 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2018

This is undoubtedly the best beach hotel in Rio, not least because of its ideal location. Barra da Tijuca is an affluent suburb of Rio spread across 8km of beach. The Hyatt is located at the western end, the last building before the mostly empty 7.5km-long Praia da Reserva. The hotel's own section of beach is pleasant, but completely empty sections of beach are a short walk away. There are plenty of restaurants near the hotel, some almost next door and others in backstreets nearby. A short Uber ride away at the eastern end of Barra is Avenida Olegário Maciel, where there is plenty of lively nightlife. The Hyatt is only 2km from Barra Shopping, the largest shopping centre in Brazil. Barra is much safer than Ipanema or Copacabana, not least as there are no favelas and very few tourists whom criminals attract. Uber is a very cheap way to travel around the local area, cheaper than public transport in most cases, typically costing around a fifth of the price of Uber in London for example.

I really like the design of the rooms at the Hyatt. They can be as airy and light as you want or as private and dark as you want. The bathroom can be completely opened up to the rest of the room with two separate sliding doors, but the shower and loo also have their own doors. The balcony door opens widely to allow plenty of air and light into the room. The hotel provides some of the nicest soap we've ever experienced in a hotel, the first time that soap has stood out as an impressive feature. The water pressure wasn't strong, particularly in the basin, and this is perhaps something the hotel could improve. The air conditioning is very effective, and quickly cools the room after closing the balcony doors.

At night, the blackout blind, which can be opened and closed with switches on each side of the bed, completely blocks out light, ensuring a full night’s sleep. Whenever movement is detected at night, a faint glow from a green light on the ceiling guides your way to the loo without waking up your companion. A small light in the bathroom, invisible in the room itself, also switches on automatically. It is clear that a lot of thought went into the design of very practical and luxurious rooms.

The bathroom has 240V electrical sockets, and the desk has 110V and USB sockets, so guests from everywhere should find the voltage they need. There are enough sockets on each side of the bed too. Each room has a radio alarm clock with Bluetooth speakers, which is loud enough to enjoy music from one's smartphone without disturbing one's neighbours. The television channels could be improved in that the only English-speaking news channel was a version of CNN focussed on domestic US politics of no international interest. At least one international English-speaking news channel needs to be added and the hotel management kindly agreed to look into this in the longer term.

The internet is very reliable but is only around 5Mbps to 6Mbps, which is disappointingly slow for a relatively new 5* hotel. Other hotels in the area manage to achieve 50Mbps, so I'm not sure why the Hyatt's internet is so slow. Impressively the hotel's wifi reaches parts of the beach. I was puzzled as to why the hotel was so quick to cut off the wifi at 12:00 on the departure day, even with late checkout.

I disagree with previous reviews about poor service. During 10 days at the Hyatt, we consistently received excellent warm and friendly service. I'm guessing that the management listened to those previous reviews and made improvements. Housekeeping hasn't been perfect at any hotel we've stayed at in Barra da Tijuca, but was better at the Hyatt than other hotels in the area. The turndown service was sporadic, but that could have been caused by the times we left the room in the evening. The service from hotel staff on the beach is excellent, and although there's no food or drink service (except free bottles of chilled water), it would hardly be necessary with so many beach vendors passing by. Amusingly some beach vendors try to sell water to hotel guests. Security at the hotel's section of beach is good, and it's nice to be able to leave one's possessions with the hotel staff while going for a long walk along the beach.

The hotel's Japanese restaurant is reasonably-priced for a 5* hotel and the food was good. I liked the way that food and beverage charges appear in the Hyatt smartphone app, often in real time. The temperature in the public areas of the hotel is ideal with no overly-cold air conditioning. Security is reassuringly visible throughout the hotel but unobtrusive.

Finally one important point about price. I found an amazing deal to book this hotel through a travel agent. But then I decided to contact the hotel directly and invited them to price-match the travel agent's price for a direct booking. To my surprise, the hotel quickly offered me exactly the same price as the travel agent, which meant I earnt World of Hyatt points for our stay, and the hotel received all of our money without any of it going to a third party. So we now have enough points for one free night on our next stay. We liked the hotel so much that we were already planning the dates of our next stay while we were there.

Room Tip: Some rooms on the north-west side have a good view of the beach, the lagoon and the sunset.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
3  Thank NFH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno B, Diretor da Experiência do Hóspede at Grand Hyatt Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2018

Dear Mr. NFH, I would like to thank you for the kind words. We always strive to make our guests feel at home and comfortable while staying with us, knowing that our service and facilities made a great impact on you brings us great joy. Also, feedbacks like yours help us improve our service. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Rio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018

Originally booked in an other hotel which canceled at last minute. They did us a huge favour. We booked the Gran Hyatt and could not have been happier.
The hotel is about 60 min by taxi from the international airport. It is in one of the safest areas within Rio. There were never any problems walking in the area, even at night.
There are a few eating places around the area, but the hotel's own dining outlets are excellent and the prices are commensurate with those in the outside venues.
The hotel is well used but in good condition. The management clearly keep on top of maintenance issues, as staff were always busy keeping on top of things.
The big plus for us was the staff. We had a couple of problems with the electrics and toilet in our room and the maintenance staff were at the door within minutes and had the matters resolved. The other staff were always helpful and unobtrusive. The staff in the breakfast room were delightful, even when some guests were getting irate on a day when a conference made the place a bit busier than usual. If you are thinking of a city tour, book the one from the concierge desk, very good and great value for money.

Room Tip: Front rooms with beach views are probably the best.
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JollyScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno B, Diretor da Experiência do Hóspede at Grand Hyatt Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear JollyScotland, thank you very much for the lovely comments regarding our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff made a great impact on you. Our goal is to take care of people so they can be their best, thank you for taking the time to recognize them. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Rio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

As an aficionado of both luxury hotels, and all things Brazilian, I can say hands down, this is by far the best hotel I have stayed at in Brazil, if not possilby the world!
From General Manager Mr. Lorvo, to front desk Manager Karmel, the Club Lounge Staff, and every single employee we encountered with a "Bom Dia" (Good Day) and a genuine smile, this place radiates Luxury, Perfection, and all of the happiness that is Rio and Brazil.
Set in the beautiful Barra da Tijuca neighborhood of Rio (just a short drive to familiar Ipanema, Copacabana, and Leblon) you will find this haven of hospitality, a respite for the luxury traveler yearning for a bit of decadence in Rio. This resort not only delights the senses, it offers stunning sunsets, serenity, and (important for 2018) Safety! As a traveler who once delighted in Ipanema and Copacabana, those neighborhoods have become dangerous, leaving "Barra" as perhaps the only safe area for tourists. If you are used to standards of Hyatt, Hilton, Ritz, Mondrian, Four Seasons, then this is your new Rio Oasis! You wont be dissapointed. Make sure to ask for a Caiprinha in the club lounge, as you enjoy it watching the sunset over the beach and lagoon at the same time!

Room Tip: Loved the view that allows for Ocean View and Lagoon View to fully enjoy Sunset and Sunrise! (Breathtaking)
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank DrNickScheidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno B, Diretor da Experiência do Hóspede at Grand Hyatt Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2018

Dear Mr. DrNickScheidt, thank you very much for the lovely comments regarding our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that our staff made a great impact on you. Our goal is to take care of people so they can be their best, thank you for taking the time to recognize them. Grand Hyatt Rio de Janeiro was designed as an Urban Resort and our proposal is to offer a unique, peaceful and luxurious experience, only possible in this prime location of Barra da Tijuca. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Rio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

We book in a hotel that suddenly closed so we were redirected to the grand hyatt hotel.

I must say that the experience was way better than our expectation.

The building, the view, the pool, the beach Service worked perfectly to help us to have a great vacation.

Everyone were very kind, but I have to make a special note for Renan at the front desk. He were extremely professional and helped me and my family to enjoy even more the hotel and Its facilities.

For family vacations, Grand Hyatt at Barra is a must.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
Thank Arturo D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno B, Diretor da Experiência do Hóspede at Grand Hyatt Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2018

Dear Mr. Arturo, thank you for taking some time of your day to write us that review. We always strive to make our guests feel at home and comfortable while staying with us, knowing that our service and facilities made a great impact on you and in your family, brings us great joy. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Rio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

The Grand Hyatt at Barra is sooo beautiful. I had a beach front room, with amazing views to the pools. The restaurants are well catered for and breakfast was delicious. The only down point was that the carpeted halls smelled faintly of mold. I guess that comes with being a beach hotel. I most definitely recommend it. I have been to Rio several times and this was the best hotel I've stayed in.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled on business
1  Thank Vanessa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bruno B, Director of Guest Experience at Grand Hyatt Rio de Janeiro, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2018

Dear Mrs. Vanessa, thank you so much for your great feedback. O Grand Hyatt Rio has been designed to bring the carioca flair to a beach resort. I’m glad to hear that you appreciated. I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Rio!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews