We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really awesome!”

Akropol (family restaurant)
Ranked #8 of 145 Restaurants in Nessebar
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$11
Description: Our restaurant AKROPOL is located in an old town named Nessebar. You will find our open-air restaurant in the yard of the ancient Museum. It is a very nice place with a quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Our guests are our friends. AKROPOL is a family restaurant. It is not very large, but there is enough place for 40 guests. The owner and the chef of the restaurant is Macedonian. Mainly there are Macedonian dishes on the menu. Guests can order delicious pastrmajlija, home-made bread, fresh meat as well as excellent fish, rapa whelks and mussels. You will enjoy wonderful food, large portions and reasonable prices. The meal can be accompanied by excellent Bulgarian wine Spiritus Sanctus. From the terrace you can have a magnificent view of the sea. The waiters speak Russian English German Bulgarian and will be happy to provide all the information about new and special dishes. We are waiting for our friends!
Restaurant details
Description: Our restaurant AKROPOL is located in an old town named Nessebar. You will find our open-air restaurant in the yard of the ancient Museum. It is a very nice place with a quiet and relaxing atmosphere. Our guests are our friends. AKROPOL is a family restaurant. It is not very large, but there is enough place for 40 guests. The owner and the chef of the restaurant is Macedonian. Mainly there are Macedonian dishes on the menu. Guests can order delicious pastrmajlija, home-made bread, fresh meat as well as excellent fish, rapa whelks and mussels. You will enjoy wonderful food, large portions and reasonable prices. The meal can be accompanied by excellent Bulgarian wine Spiritus Sanctus. From the terrace you can have a magnificent view of the sea. The waiters speak Russian English German Bulgarian and will be happy to provide all the information about new and special dishes. We are waiting for our friends!
Reviewed 26 July 2017

If you like grilled meat - there are probably no better places around! The chef really knows his stuff - pork meatball, which is chefs own recipe, was really fresh and perfectly seasoned, so were french fries (homemade!) and salad we ordered too. The atmosphere was great and warm, the owners (as this is a family business) really seem to actually care about their guests. All the above comes with really great prices - probably the most affordable in Nessebar. We really don't understand the $$$$ rating on TA, should be $ or $$.
If we ever come to Sunny Beach/Nessebar again, this is one of the places we'll surely visit again!

Date of visit: July 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Bartosz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADMINAKROPOL, Владелец at Akropol (family restaurant), responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2017

Dear friend!!! Thank you very much for Your impression. You are right, our guests are very dear to us!!! We prepare the food with love and we are always happy when our guests are happy !!! Cheers my friend ;) :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (172)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

83 - 87 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2017 via mobile

This is the best restaurant in the island and also one of the cheapest. Their main and beast course is pork stake that is magnificent griled . They also serve great salads, fish and seafood but i recomand the pork steak . Cheers

Date of visit: August 2016
Thank Sorin I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADMINAKROPOL, Управляющий at Akropol (family restaurant), responded to this reviewResponded 25 July 2017

Thank you very much Sorin , you are always welcome . Best regards!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017

We met Alex, the owner, on our first trip to Nessebar 5 years ago and saw him every year on the beach since. He told us he'd opened this reastaurant last year and we visited most days for drinks and ate there 3 or 4 times. He runs the restaurant with his sister Maria and they are both lovely - really welcoming and friendly. The food is fab, cooked fresh and great quality - we often just asked them to bring a selection of dishes of their choice and everything we had was great. Can't wait to go again this year!

Date of visit: August 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank nicandbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADMINAKROPOL, Управляющий at Akropol (family restaurant), responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

We are so thankful for the lovely words and even more for the joy and pleasure you had in our Restaurant. Our home is your home , you are always welcome ... Best regards p.s The best ships are friendships :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2017 via mobile

Second time around for our family holiday to Sunny Beach and Akropol didn't disappoint. A wonderfully warm welcome from brother and sister Maria and Alexander. Charming little place, with a very local ambience. Food was beautiful, fresh and warm homemade bread, along with a fantastic cheese salad and main dishes of chicken, meatballs and pork steaks. Washed down with a large local beer, cold and refreshing. No pushy staff trying to tempt you inside. The welcome and food is all you need. Highly recommended. Many thanks for your hospitality, Patricia, Wayne and Shania xx

Date of visit: May 2017
2  Thank WayneDobson68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADMINAKROPOL, Управляющий at Akropol (family restaurant), responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Always pleasure to be part of good memories , Ocean dream is on the menu :) best regards and looking forward to see you again xxx

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2016

Very nice restaurant build in old and sailor style, we really loved the atmosphere and very friendly staff. Food and beer was great, so we can only recommend to go and try! Next year when we are there we will definitely visit again :-)

Date of visit: September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Neri B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ADMINAKROPOL, Управляющий at Akropol (family restaurant), responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Thank you for the kind words. We are waiting for you at the same place - same time :) Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Akropol (family restaurant) also viewed

Nessebar, Burgas Province
 
Nessebar, Burgas Province
Nessebar, Burgas Province
 
Nessebar, Burgas Province
Nessebar, Burgas Province
 

Been to Akropol (family restaurant)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing