We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Please do not try to undercut the tuk tuk drivers - organise some tours yourselves”
Review of Stung Sangka Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Stung Sangka Hotel
Ranked #18 of 26 Hotels in Battambang
Reviewed 14 September 2011

The hotel is fine for business people in transit. We kind of ran here from the bus station to get away from the enslaught of tuk tuk drivers, and it was clean and well set up, with a nice pool. The aircon didn't work so we opened the window which was pretty stupid, but it was so bloody hot with no fan. Of course we woke up the next day covered in mossie bites (our fault) . Our main gripe was that the staff had absolutely no idea what was going on and more annoyingly tried to rip off both us and a local tuk tuk driver. We had been offered an all day trip around the sites of Battambang by Mr Tony when we arrived for fifteen bucks - so we told him we would check with the hotel to see if they offered any tours themselves (most of the places we stayed at in Cambodia had their own drivers who were courteous, safe and charged less than the going price). So right in front of us the reception staff called Mr Tony over (who was waiting in the carpark) and told him they would take $10 from him to keep for themselves, and advised us to hand over $15 straight to them for kindly arranging a tour for us with Mr Tony. They then told us that Mr Tony would only take us to two places, any more we would have to pay them, not Mr Tony, more money. We were outta there the next morning. I know it's a cutthroat place because tourism numbers in Battambang are so low, but for goodness sake if you're going to rip people off and undercut the local drivers could you be a bit more discrete. Maybe arrange your own tours.

Room Tip: not a place for families
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank EddoLegends
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (160)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

93 - 97 of 160 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2011

We stayed for one night. This was a large hotel, buy it was obvious that there was only few guests. no a place for several days.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kabdenmark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2011

we stayed here in March 2011 and found it a bit more than OK.
The pool was great the staff helpfull and the breakfast was excellent though the large restaurant closed for the day after breakfast.Laundry excellent
Dont miss seeing the crocodile farm and do travel on the Bamboo Train and get "all shook up"

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank twooldies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2011

We stayed two nightspaying US$30 a night for B&B. The rooms are big and clean. The beds could sleep 6 people, they are enormous. Breakfast was a very regimented and 'corporate' buffet. You had to have a ticket! The food was pretty average compared to what we had elsewhere and annoyingly they had always run out of something. The building is what an architect friend calls "Breznev Brutal" - a late soviet style which is trying hard to be grand but somehow not quite getting there. It makes the inside dark, but cool. But don't let this put you off. Similarly, the location in the middle of a seeming traffic island next to a petrol station is not exactly glamorous, but the double glazing is efficient and keeps out most traffic noise. The architect has put the swimming pool on the wrong side of the building - it never gets sun! But its a good pool. The hotel is just five minutes walk from the main town/market area. I have marked service low because the downside was that the front of house staff spoke no language other than Khmer, so there was no help in getting tuk tuks or in organising trips. As an example, they simply didn't know what the bamboo train was, yet alone how to get there (this is one of Battambang's main attractions and well worth doing before it gets modernised). In summary, good value, clean and central but has a charm bypass.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank archaeologyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2011

Having just spent a few days in lovely but basic accommodation in Kep this was just what I needed, taking into account this is Cambodia I felt it was really quite plush, good breakfast and friendly staff. I met Mr Kim the Tuk tuk driver who took me for an excellent day out, killing caves etc and really very interesting and a great sense of humour.
Very good

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beaubleep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Battambang hotels
1.1 km away
Classy Hotel & Spa
Classy Hotel & Spa
#8 of 26 in Battambang
256 reviews
1.1 km away
Phka Villa
Phka Villa
#7 of 26 in Battambang
438 reviews
0.8 km away
Delux Villa
Delux Villa
#6 of 26 in Battambang
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Seng Hout Hotel
Seng Hout Hotel
#13 of 26 in Battambang
364 reviews
2.1 km away
Au Cabaret Vert
Au Cabaret Vert
#5 of 26 in Battambang
311 reviews
1.0 km away
Bambu Battambang Hotel
Bambu Battambang Hotel
#4 of 26 in Battambang
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stung Sangka Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stung Sangka Hotel

Address: National Road N.5 Prekmorhatep Village | Svaypor Commune, Battambang District, Battambang, Cambodia
Region: Cambodia > Battambang Province > Battambang
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Spa Hotel in Battambang
Price Range: RM199 - RM249 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Stung Sangka Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Also Known As:
Stung Sangka Hotel Battambang, Asia - Cambodia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing