We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Yangshuo River Lodge(Yangshuo County)
US$62
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelling With Hostel(Yangshuo County)(Great Value!)
US$20
US$9
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$12/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

River View Hotel(Yangshuo County)
US$45
US$44
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$50/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$44
US$38
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 25% below average rates

The price you found is 25% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$51/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$49
US$48
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Wada Hostel (Yangshuo)(Yangshuo County)(Great Value!)
US$24
US$7
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Yangshuo Village Inn(Yangshuo County)
US$34
US$30
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yangshuo Mountain Nest(Yangshuo County)
US$59
US$49
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$58/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Yangshuo Wada Hostel by Yulong River(Yangshuo County)(Great Value!)
US$16
US$12
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
CTN Garden Hotel(Yangshuo County)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,213)
Filter reviews
1,213 results
Traveller rating
908
244
45
14
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
908
244
45
14
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmountain retreatthe riverkarst mountainsheaven on earthbamboo furniturebeautiful locationbamboo raftsister hotelthe dragonwelcome drinkginger tealight showmain buildingbike ridefree shuttlefamily roomstayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
79 - 84 of 1,213 reviews
Reviewed 17 November 2017

The location is stunning. The hotel overlooks the river and is surrounded by the limestone peaks,. We loved the staff who were relaxed and friendly. They helped us organize any trips we wanted to do. We really enjoyed taking out the bicycles, provided by the hotel, and exploring the area. After the hustle and bustle of the cities this is a welcome breathing space. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The food is great and a mixture of Western and Chinese helps with kids. A really lovely place.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Selina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UndertheMoon, Manager at Yangshuo Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 18 November 2017

Dear Selina,
It was our pleasure to help you and your lovely family make the most out of your time with us. We recommended our complimentary bikes as the best way to explore the beautiful countryside around us, especially on the Yulong River path you took from our parking down the river, so we're glad to know how much you enjoyed this trip.
Thank you for your compliments on our staff, rooms and food, as we are currently updating our facilities and menu for the Winter season.
Wishing you safe travels and a wonderful holiday season,
Little Fish, Annie, Michelle and the Mountain Retreat Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2017

The Yangshuo Mountain Retreat exceeded all expectations. The staff is friendly and helpful, and the location on the river is even more beautiful than the pictures. We had 2 weeks to tour around China before my wife had to be in Shanghai for 5 days on a difficult volunteer assignment. I wanted several rest days for her before taking on that challenge. That's what this hotel provided. We spent hours just sitting by the river, watching the bamboo rafts go by, against the backdrop of the amazing mountains.
So calming and restful.

I do a lot of cycling and home, and the bike ride along the Yulong river was, for me, O e of the most fun things I did in China

The hotel arranged a cooking class for us at Yangshuo Cooking School. That was an excellent experience which I'll review separately

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Dorsonschneider
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UndertheMoon, Manager at Yangshuo Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 15 November 2017

Dear Dorson and Mary,
We're so pleased that you chose to stay with us and to know how much you enjoyed your experience. For fans of cycling and walking, the Yulong River road you chose is a great option that leads right from our parking area up some of the most spectacular vistas on the Yulong River.
As with many guests who are interested in local culture, it's our pleasure to recommend Tai Qi, caligraphy, watercolor painting or the cooking school. We're glad to have exceeded your expectations!
Safe travels back to Seattle,
Little Fish and Mountain Retreat Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017

Driver picked us up from airport even though we were delayed and very late
Basic rooms but all you need,
Just to be able to wake up to the lovely scenery after the mayhem of the city was welcome
Loved the breakfasts sitting by the river
All staff very good
We were able to hire scooters that were delivered in an hour and tooted around the 'town'
Offers of' 'Bamboo,bamboo',by locals is offering a bamboo raft ride.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tiddlepom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UndertheMoon, Manager at Yangshuo Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Dear Friends,
Thank you for your very kind and helpful review.
As we wrote another reviewer recently, we are currently in process of completely updating our rooms with new locally handmade beds, lighting, cabinetry, painting and artwork. While we have always prided ourselves on our "rustic chic" decor, we want to give our many returning guests especially a refreshed look that is more "Yangshuo elegant"!
Safe journey and please think of us net time you visit Yangshuo.
Yours,
Little Fish and the Mountain Retreat family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2017 via mobile

Arriving here is not quite straightforward as during that day you have to leave your transport on the edge of the National Park and use a shuttle. The shuttle is provided by the hotel for arrival and departure. At other times you have to pay a small fee. To be fair we didn’t leave at times when we would need the shuttle as this was our quiet lazing time!

On arrival you are greeted and your bags taken to your room ? whilst you book in. The rooms all have verandas or balcony’s and face across the Yangzhou river with views of the karsts.

We were in room 201A, a large double with large veranda to si5 and watch the river. The room was well stocked with all the usual. The hotel operates a green policy so you get two glass bottles of drinking water which you can refill and all toiletries are not single use.

This is a lovely relaxing place to stay, you can watch the raft son the river, take a gentle stroll along the river or cycle if you choose.

The staff are drawn from local villages and the English is good but their service is exemplary.

This was the hotel on our China tour where we were most pampered and relaxed.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UndertheMoon, Manager at Yangshuo Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 12 November 2017

Dear David,
We're so pleased to hear your experience with us was the "most pampered and relaxed" of any hotel on your China tour! Since 2001 it has been our goal to provide tranquility and authentic China experience with all the comforts for our discerning guests. We really value your review especially because you have written over 500 of them in your travels, and are one of most experienced reviewers to stay with us.
All but one of our rooms has private balconies or terraces, though a few do not face the river as did yours, so we always do our best to offer complimentary upgrades to our best rooms like yours whenever possible.
From all of us at Mountain Retreat, we wish you all the very best in your continuing travels.
Sincerely,
Little Fish, Annie Michelle and Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2017

Spent three nights here and what a wonderful place it is. Initial reaction to the rooms might be that they are a little basic/rustic - which perhaps they are. However, the setting, the service and amazing staff more than make up for any short comings in the rooms.

Every single one of the staff without exception were friendly, helpful and courteous - they are a credit to the hotel.

The food in the restaurant is also good both with a decent choice for breakfast and dinner.

Recommended

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Mashie47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UndertheMoon, Manager at Yangshuo Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2017

Our Dear Friends,
All of us at Mountain Retreat are delighted to know how much you enjoyed your time here! We have also noted your review of our "rustic" room design and wanted to let you know that we are actually in the process this week of replacing our 16 year-old homemade bamboo beds with a traditional Chinese design built by our local master carpenter. While we are proud of these beds that were built from the bamboo on our property, we have decided to give them to local families to make room for these beautiful new canopy beds, which include a beautiful gauzy mosquito fabric.
Our carpenter has also made us new bedside tables to replace our original homemade bamboo style. Finally, we will repaint the rooms in a beautiful new color scheme starting in December. We hope upon your next visit you'll be amazed to see the difference! With our antique room furnishings and original artwork, we intend to preserve our "rustic chic" motif with even greater comfort and style.
Wishing you safe travels and all our best for the holiday season,
Little Fish, Annie, Michelle and the Yangshuo Mountain Retreat Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews