We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Nearby Hotels
Li River Resort(Yangshuo County)
US$100
US$96
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tangrenjie Hotel(Yangshuo County)
US$43
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$61
US$52
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Hidden Dragon Villa(Yangshuo County)
US$55
US$46
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Old Manor House Yangshuo(Yangshuo County)
US$89
US$78
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yangshuo Tea Cozy(Yangshuo County)
US$93
US$70
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yangshuo Resort(Yangshuo County)
US$143
US$120
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
CTN Garden Hotel(Yangshuo County)
US$61
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$93
US$85
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,166)
Filter reviews
1,166 results
Traveller rating
871
235
44
14
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
871
235
44
14
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmountain retreatthe riverkarst mountainsbamboo furniturebeautiful locationbamboo raftsister hotelwelcome drinkthe dragonginger teabike ridelight showmain buildingfree shuttlefamily roomstayed longerchina trip
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 1,166 reviews
Reviewed 13 December 2017

The hotel gives you quality in everything you need! The nature is beautiful, the rooms are big, the beds are comfortable and the interior is so nice. The staff is also very serviceminded! We borrowed the hotels bicycles and had a super day along the river.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Liv N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UndertheMoon, Manager at Yangshuo Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Dear Liv,
It was our pleasure to have you with us this chilly December and we're very happy you found everything about us to be such an enjoyable experience.
We're sorry you weren't able to have Christmas dinner with us but please do come back and see us again some day.
Safe travels and blessed holidays,
Little Fish, Annie, Michelle and the Mountain Retreat Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Fabulous location, scenic, quiet, lovely staff, bike ride into town was an easy 25min trip.
Room was lovely, clean, had all we needed, including a hair dryer!
Would stay again. Night time Cultural show is a ‘must’!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KLZ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UndertheMoon, Manager at Yangshuo Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear Friends,
Glad to know you appreciated our hair dryers in the room :)
While we have always considered ourselves to be an eco-lodge, we have found that providing such amenities, as long as they are not single-use, is important for guest comfort. The same goes for our electric blankets, and in-room heating, which are a must in the chilly winters here.
Thank you for sharing your glowing review with other prospective guests.
Safe journey and have a wonderful holiday,
Little Fish and the Mountain Retreat Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

We stayed at the Yangshuo Mountain Retreat in November 2017 and absolutely loved our stay. Our room was amazing, with a beautiful view of the river and the karst mountains. The staff was helpful and friendly, and the food (we ate dinner and breakfast there) was delicious. The dining room is cozy; one evening when it was raining, there was a fire going and it was a lovely place to curl up with a glass of wine. The retreat practices sustainability by not using single-use toiletry products and single-use water bottles but offering alternatives (I loved that!). The pathway along the river is wonderful for biking and walking and the entire region is gorgeous. I highly recommend staying here when you come down to Yangshuo.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LavenderFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UndertheMoon, Manager at Yangshuo Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear Shanghai Friends,
We're grateful for all of your generous praise here and especially for our sustainable policies, for which we're very proud to be a model in China for the past 16 years. It was our pleasure to guide you to the very best around us, namely the Yulong River path that runs right from our property past some of the most spectacular scenery in Yangshuo.
Thank you also for taking advantage of our dining options (including the glass of wine by the hearth)!
We wish you the best this holiday and hope you'll have the opportunity to join us in the Spring. As returning guests, we have many complimentary upgrades and offers waiting for you :)
Yours faithfully,
Little Fish, Annie, Michelle and the Mountain Retreat Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

I stayed here for 2 nights as part of a China tour. The situation is wonderful, in the mountains with a river running in front of the hotel (very good Feng Shui!)
It is very peaceful, the staff were all so friendly & helpful & the good food was great!
If you have been hectically touring around China, here is a great place to rest & recharge your batteries. It is lovely to eat outside, watch the river going by, listen to birdsong & see brightly coloured butterflies!
I took a river rafting trip, which was so peaceful! Staff at the hotel will arrange this for you.
A few drawbacks are that the whole area has been declared a conservation area, so only local taxis & shuttle buses are allowed in. This additional expense is mostly absorbed by the hotel and your companies.
In my room, it was quite dark, there were only small lights over each bed, which, when I tried to open the safe inside the wardrobe, meant I could not see. In addition, the safe was at floor level, so I had to lie on the floor on my stomach to access it! No easy task for an overweight, over 60 year old!
The wardrobe itself was interesting, it had a hanging rail, but it was only about 2' above the shelf, not even enough depth to hang t shirts!
However, overall it is a wonderful place to stay, to rest up & enjoy the peaceful nature all around. Thank you!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank a-lady-traveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UndertheMoon, Manager at Yangshuo Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear Madam,
It was our pleasure to host you for two nights as part of your China tour and we're delighted you found everything at the retreat to your liking. We've noted your comment about the placement of the in-room safe which we have moved to make access easier. As for the lighting, we are in the process as I write this of updating the rooms with beautiful new lighting which will be installed before Chinese New Year. We believe it will make a wonderful experience for guests in this room. The antique cabinet in your room needed lowering of the shelf, which we have also done, thanks to your feedback.
Safe travels wherever you go and happy holidays!
Little Fish and the Yangshuo Mountain Retreat Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

We had a room with balcony and view over the river. Fantastic . Nice girls running This hotel.
The room great. The breakfast is NOT Big but fine. Vertikal Nice to borow somre bikesand exploy the region.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank CgrGDen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews