We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat
Ranked #3 of 490 Hotels in Yangshuo County
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 December 2017

Nothing like waking up in a river view king size room on the second floor. Sitting out in the garden having tea or a drink and enjoying the sunset are also not to be missed. The staff is friendly and the restaurant provides great food and service.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank BirthdayB0y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,140)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 1,140 reviews

Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

We are sitting by the bank of the Yulong River in the glorious winter sunshine. Karst mountains loom as far as the eye can see and every few minutes a bamboo raft slides by. We have spent 3 days here and could happily have stayed a few more nights. I suppose that on the positive side it means We have reason to come back. Our stay could not have been more perfect - we were first greeted by this breathtaking view from our balcony when we arrived. The bed was comfortable, air conditioning (heating) worked well and the heated mattress pad was very much appreciated as temperature at night dropped to about 3 degrees. All our meals - breakfasts and dinners - were delicious, and the mulled wine is the best we have had. We borrowed bicycles from the hotel and took our time to explore the neighbourhood.

Can't say enough in praise of the hotel. Suffice it to say we will be back and will recommend the place to all our friends who are looking for an authentic local experience.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gajahgoogoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

The hotel gives you quality in everything you need! The nature is beautiful, the rooms are big, the beds are comfortable and the interior is so nice. The staff is also very serviceminded! We borrowed the hotels bicycles and had a super day along the river.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Liv N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UndertheMoon, Manager at Yangshuo Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Dear Liv,
It was our pleasure to have you with us this chilly December and we're very happy you found everything about us to be such an enjoyable experience.
We're sorry you weren't able to have Christmas dinner with us but please do come back and see us again some day.
Safe travels and blessed holidays,
Little Fish, Annie, Michelle and the Mountain Retreat Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Fabulous location, scenic, quiet, lovely staff, bike ride into town was an easy 25min trip.
Room was lovely, clean, had all we needed, including a hair dryer!
Would stay again. Night time Cultural show is a ‘must’!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KLZ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UndertheMoon, Manager at Yangshuo Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear Friends,
Glad to know you appreciated our hair dryers in the room :)
While we have always considered ourselves to be an eco-lodge, we have found that providing such amenities, as long as they are not single-use, is important for guest comfort. The same goes for our electric blankets, and in-room heating, which are a must in the chilly winters here.
Thank you for sharing your glowing review with other prospective guests.
Safe journey and have a wonderful holiday,
Little Fish and the Mountain Retreat Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

We stayed at the Yangshuo Mountain Retreat in November 2017 and absolutely loved our stay. Our room was amazing, with a beautiful view of the river and the karst mountains. The staff was helpful and friendly, and the food (we ate dinner and breakfast there) was delicious. The dining room is cozy; one evening when it was raining, there was a fire going and it was a lovely place to curl up with a glass of wine. The retreat practices sustainability by not using single-use toiletry products and single-use water bottles but offering alternatives (I loved that!). The pathway along the river is wonderful for biking and walking and the entire region is gorgeous. I highly recommend staying here when you come down to Yangshuo.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LavenderFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UndertheMoon, Manager at Yangshuo Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear Shanghai Friends,
We're grateful for all of your generous praise here and especially for our sustainable policies, for which we're very proud to be a model in China for the past 16 years. It was our pleasure to guide you to the very best around us, namely the Yulong River path that runs right from our property past some of the most spectacular scenery in Yangshuo.
Thank you also for taking advantage of our dining options (including the glass of wine by the hearth)!
We wish you the best this holiday and hope you'll have the opportunity to join us in the Spring. As returning guests, we have many complimentary upgrades and offers waiting for you :)
Yours faithfully,
Little Fish, Annie, Michelle and the Mountain Retreat Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Yangshuo County hotels
4.8 km away
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
Yangshuo Tea Cozy
#2 of 490 in Yangshuo County
633 reviews
6.1 km away
Li River Resort
Li River Resort
#5 of 490 in Yangshuo County
483 reviews
9.3 km away
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
Banyan Tree Yangshuo
#9 of 490 in Yangshuo County
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 km away
Hidden Dragon Villa
Hidden Dragon Villa
#13 of 490 in Yangshuo County
182 reviews
1.3 km away
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou Retreat
Yangshuo Phoenix Pagoda Fonglou ...
#4 of 490 in Yangshuo County
309 reviews
5.8 km away
The Bamboo Leaf Yangshuo
The Bamboo Leaf Yangshuo
#12 of 490 in Yangshuo County
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yangshuo Mountain Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yangshuo Mountain Retreat

Address: Yulong River Road | Gaotian Town, Yangshuo County 541907, China
Phone Number:
Region: China > Guangxi > Yangshuo County
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Yangshuo County
#2 Romantic Hotel in Yangshuo County
#8 Best Value Hotel in Yangshuo County
Price Range: RM 184 - RM 443 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Yangshuo Mountain Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat overlooks the pristine Yulong River and surrounding karst limestone towers in the heart of the Yangshuo countryside. We are one hour from Guilin, just down the road from Impression Liu San Jie and a quick ride to West Street. We are American owned and locally run, established in 2000. Our accommodation, food and staff, not to mention our beautiful surroundings are highly rated by Frommers and other trusted guides. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Yangshuo Mountain Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat Hotel Yangshuo County
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat County
Yangshuo Mountain Retreat Hotel County

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing