We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Travelling With Hostel(Yangshuo County)(Great Value!)
US$25
US$9
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
Savings alert! 36% below average rates

The price you found is 36% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$14/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

River View Hotel(Yangshuo County)
US$45
US$41
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$47/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Wada Hostel (Yangshuo)(Yangshuo County)(Great Value!)
US$24
US$7
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Yangshuo Village Inn(Yangshuo County)
US$34
US$29
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$49
US$40
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Room Service
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$45/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Yangshuo Mountain Nest(Yangshuo County)
US$59
US$49
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Yangshuo Wada Hostel by Yulong River(Yangshuo County)(Great Value!)
US$16
US$11
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
CTN Garden Hotel(Yangshuo County)
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$29
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,211)
Filter reviews
1,211 results
Traveller rating
906
244
45
14
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
906
244
45
14
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmountain retreatthe riverkarst mountainsheaven on earthbamboo furniturebeautiful locationbamboo raftsister hotelthe dragonwelcome drinkginger tealight showmain buildingbike ridefree shuttlefamily roomstayed longer
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 1,211 reviews
Reviewed 21 December 2017 via mobile

We are sitting by the bank of the Yulong River in the glorious winter sunshine. Karst mountains loom as far as the eye can see and every few minutes a bamboo raft slides by. We have spent 3 days here and could happily have stayed a few more nights. I suppose that on the positive side it means We have reason to come back. Our stay could not have been more perfect - we were first greeted by this breathtaking view from our balcony when we arrived. The bed was comfortable, air conditioning (heating) worked well and the heated mattress pad was very much appreciated as temperature at night dropped to about 3 degrees. All our meals - breakfasts and dinners - were delicious, and the mulled wine is the best we have had. We borrowed bicycles from the hotel and took our time to explore the neighbourhood.

Can't say enough in praise of the hotel. Suffice it to say we will be back and will recommend the place to all our friends who are looking for an authentic local experience.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Gajahgoogoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UndertheMoon, Manager at Yangshuo Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Dear Singapore Friends,
We noted that you are a highly experienced TripAdvisor reviewer so it's very gratifying to see how much you appreciated your stay with us. As we are run by local women, we love to know about the authentic experience you felt staying with us. There are many hotels in Yangshuo run by outside people, most of them open only a short time, so in this way we are different, with 17 years promoting localhood and sustainability.
Thank you for letting us warm your heart this chilly Winter.
Yours,
Little Fish, Annie, Michelle, Kate, Anna and the Yangshuo Mountain Retreat Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

The hotel gives you quality in everything you need! The nature is beautiful, the rooms are big, the beds are comfortable and the interior is so nice. The staff is also very serviceminded! We borrowed the hotels bicycles and had a super day along the river.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Liv N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UndertheMoon, Manager at Yangshuo Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 19 December 2017

Dear Liv,
It was our pleasure to have you with us this chilly December and we're very happy you found everything about us to be such an enjoyable experience.
We're sorry you weren't able to have Christmas dinner with us but please do come back and see us again some day.
Safe travels and blessed holidays,
Little Fish, Annie, Michelle and the Mountain Retreat Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

Fabulous location, scenic, quiet, lovely staff, bike ride into town was an easy 25min trip.
Room was lovely, clean, had all we needed, including a hair dryer!
Would stay again. Night time Cultural show is a ‘must’!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank KLZ66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UndertheMoon, Manager at Yangshuo Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear Friends,
Glad to know you appreciated our hair dryers in the room :)
While we have always considered ourselves to be an eco-lodge, we have found that providing such amenities, as long as they are not single-use, is important for guest comfort. The same goes for our electric blankets, and in-room heating, which are a must in the chilly winters here.
Thank you for sharing your glowing review with other prospective guests.
Safe journey and have a wonderful holiday,
Little Fish and the Mountain Retreat Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 December 2017

We stayed at the Yangshuo Mountain Retreat in November 2017 and absolutely loved our stay. Our room was amazing, with a beautiful view of the river and the karst mountains. The staff was helpful and friendly, and the food (we ate dinner and breakfast there) was delicious. The dining room is cozy; one evening when it was raining, there was a fire going and it was a lovely place to curl up with a glass of wine. The retreat practices sustainability by not using single-use toiletry products and single-use water bottles but offering alternatives (I loved that!). The pathway along the river is wonderful for biking and walking and the entire region is gorgeous. I highly recommend staying here when you come down to Yangshuo.

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LavenderFive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UndertheMoon, Manager at Yangshuo Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear Shanghai Friends,
We're grateful for all of your generous praise here and especially for our sustainable policies, for which we're very proud to be a model in China for the past 16 years. It was our pleasure to guide you to the very best around us, namely the Yulong River path that runs right from our property past some of the most spectacular scenery in Yangshuo.
Thank you also for taking advantage of our dining options (including the glass of wine by the hearth)!
We wish you the best this holiday and hope you'll have the opportunity to join us in the Spring. As returning guests, we have many complimentary upgrades and offers waiting for you :)
Yours faithfully,
Little Fish, Annie, Michelle and the Mountain Retreat Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2017

I stayed here for 2 nights as part of a China tour. The situation is wonderful, in the mountains with a river running in front of the hotel (very good Feng Shui!)
It is very peaceful, the staff were all so friendly & helpful & the good food was great!
If you have been hectically touring around China, here is a great place to rest & recharge your batteries. It is lovely to eat outside, watch the river going by, listen to birdsong & see brightly coloured butterflies!
I took a river rafting trip, which was so peaceful! Staff at the hotel will arrange this for you.
A few drawbacks are that the whole area has been declared a conservation area, so only local taxis & shuttle buses are allowed in. This additional expense is mostly absorbed by the hotel and your companies.
In my room, it was quite dark, there were only small lights over each bed, which, when I tried to open the safe inside the wardrobe, meant I could not see. In addition, the safe was at floor level, so I had to lie on the floor on my stomach to access it! No easy task for an overweight, over 60 year old!
The wardrobe itself was interesting, it had a hanging rail, but it was only about 2' above the shelf, not even enough depth to hang t shirts!
However, overall it is a wonderful place to stay, to rest up & enjoy the peaceful nature all around. Thank you!

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank a-lady-traveller57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UndertheMoon, Manager at Yangshuo Mountain Retreat, responded to this reviewResponded 7 December 2017

Dear Madam,
It was our pleasure to host you for two nights as part of your China tour and we're delighted you found everything at the retreat to your liking. We've noted your comment about the placement of the in-room safe which we have moved to make access easier. As for the lighting, we are in the process as I write this of updating the rooms with beautiful new lighting which will be installed before Chinese New Year. We believe it will make a wonderful experience for guests in this room. The antique cabinet in your room needed lowering of the shelf, which we have also done, thanks to your feedback.
Safe travels wherever you go and happy holidays!
Little Fish and the Yangshuo Mountain Retreat Family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews