We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
15
46
56
18
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
15
46
56
18
6
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Stayed only one night in this Hotel in September and the experience was not very good. Double bed room was very ordinary. There were many varieties in breakfast but once finished, the next guest will not get that item. Desert was finished, it was informed to the Chef , he did not care at all. Attitude was bad of the staff members. Not satisfied.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Partho_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2013

This hotel is absolutely crappy. No one speaks English, so it is impossible to communicate and the staff at the reception is surly and avoids eye contact. The room was dirty, the bathtub had a rim of brown dirt all along the border, the shower curtain had a filthy brown border. This is the only hotel throughout our visit in China and Hong Kong where we found condoms provided in the bathroom, leading me to believe that this hotel is used for other purposes than accommodating foreign visitors. We had dinner at the hotel restaurant because there was nothing else available in the vicinity of the hotel and the food was of a poor quality in addition to the challenge of communication since no one spoke a word of English. It was impossible to sleep because of the loud honking of the road traffic below all the time except perhaps between 12.30 and 04.30 am. The hotel has no currency exchange facilities either. Even though the UNESCO Heritage Sites of Longmen Grottoes and the Shaolin temple are marvellous, I would advise visitors to skip these marvels altogether if cleaner, hygienic and better accommodation in Luoyang is not available.

I believe TUI China does a great disservice both to its customers as well as to the great nation of China by checking their visitors into such a crappy hotel and conveying a terrible impression of the country to the visitors."

Room Tip: Avoid this hotel at all costs even if it means foregoing the UNESCO World Heritage sites of Longmen Grottoes and the Shaolin Temple . This hotel is an insult to visitors.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TouristZurich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2013

The Peony Hotel in Luoyang was like a slice of America. Our safe would not work as it had no batteries in it. We struggled with language problems for about half an hour to get 4 new batteries to fit into it and then to get the Chinese maintenance lady to fit them right way round.

The manager agreed a special picnic lunch for our train journey at 40 RMB each, but the next day, I ended up having to explain to a francophone Chinese tour guide in French what we needed so that she could translate into Chinese! But I guess little episodes like this are what makes a tour more interesting.

Amusingly there were condoms and pictures of a scantily clad masseuse advertising the in-house massage parlour in the bathroom.

Ran out of toilet paper and had to start using our own after a couple of days. As many chinese public toilets do not provide toilet paper, you generally have to carry your own. Perhaps as a result, hotels don't provide too much in case guests steal it?

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rich C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2013

Good central location - good sized rooms and breakfast was above average for China. Staff very helpful and very easy check-in and check out. I would stay here again if I was travelling to Luoyang. Good choice of restaurants nearby.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank camjeffery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2013

There is a cafe in the foyer which has a sign outside saying coffee, but asked for coffee and was met with a blank look and a firm no. Had to settle for a beer which was twice the price we had paid in the restaurant 10 minutes earlier. Dinner was good, the breakfast room was massive and had a really good range of food. Rooms were fine, comfortable and quiet.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank winelover00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews