We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
28
12
7
0
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
12
7
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsother guestshistorical homeguest refrigeratorbed and breakfastfive pointswalking distancefirst floora great staydollssheliakeysheets
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018

This was our first time at a bed & breakfast. We were traveling with our children for a church conference. When we arrived it was very difficult to park the minivan in the tiny spaces for the guests. There were not enough parking spaces for all of the guests' vehicles, some had to pay to park at metered parking in front of the mansion. The hostess was anything but polite to us. She was upset that we brought 1 extra girl with us because of needing to feed an extra mouth. She charged us an extra $20 cash for her to stay which we paid. She said it was a huge burden because they would need to feed an extra mouth, which I responded that I would not be eating at all anyways because I cannot eat when traveling or I get sick. We apologized over and over for the little girl coming with us but it was an extreme circumstance that led us to bring her with us. Then as we climbed the stairs to our room, the hostess proceeded to yell "Gretchen" over and over. Finally I realized she was talking to me. I let her know that wasn't my name and reminded her of my name. She was letting us know to be quiet if we were out and about late. Finally after all of that it was nice that the girls loved their bedroom and balcony. My son slept on the chaise lounge comfortably. The beds were comfortable. Very busy, noisy street out front. Only two of our five ate all of the breakfast. The hostess served the meal, all food whether you want it all or not. She told the kids they needed to eat properly and which utensils to use for what...etiquette class at a B&B? Other than that she excluded us from the conversation being held between herself and all of the other guests at breakfast. Not that we minded, but it was obvious she didn't really want us there, which was a shame since the girls adored all of the many neat decorations about the mansion. The rooms are very pretty and comfortable. I recommend families stay elsewhere, but honeymooners and older couples may enjoy staying here. If not for the hostess, this would have been a great stay. The staff were awesome and super friendly.

Room Tip: The Southern Belle room is great if traveling with a little girl since the extra bedroom is decorated for a little girl.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank RPittman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Hassinger Daniels Mansion B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 27 June 2018

HASSINGER DANIELS MANSION BB -- SOUTHERN BELLE SUITE. There are some inaccuracies in this review. Generally National Historic registered Victorian Bed and Breakfasts like ours, attract adult guests because of their history and décor. But families are also welcome and they are usually very careful and polite. Certain rooms and suites are best suited for families, others are not, due to precious antiques and possessions in them. Our rooms have occupancy ratings with the building, fire, and health departments. The suite they rented is suitable for adults and can accommodate 4 persons. But without telling us, they brought 2 adults and 3 children. When we saw this at arrival. They said they would make other arrangements elsewhere for the extra person or persons but rather than have 2 breakfasts at 2 locations, asked to pay for the 5th person to join for breakfast. We cooked for 5 and charged them for the extra breakfast. In their review we learned for the first time that they didn't arrange another accommodation for the extra guest(s) and state that one person slept on a chase lounge. We do not allow this since it is a 19th century French antique, not a roll-away hotel bed. At breakfast they sat at a medium table with 5 places rather than come at regular time and join with other guests at the big table. Thus they talked amongst themselves. My staff and I served a nd talked with them and the other guests. We recommend this guest always be truthful with hoteliers and innkeepers in the future, never bring more guests into a room rated for few guests, and abide by all policies of the lodgings they rent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Sheila Chaffing is a role model for young women;the living, breathing subject of a stellar GARDENS AND GUNS cover story. Her restored Hassinger Daniels Mansion B&B is comfortable, has beautiful stained glass, and an included breakfast feast. She and Tamika serve guests a 9 a.m. meal that is as delightful to the eye as it is delicious. My husband and I kept asking ourselves why anyone would choose a "cookie cutter" hotel when this amazing luxury accommodation sits in the middle of the action that is downtown Birmingham? Do yourself a favor: call Miss Sheila and make a reservation.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank mary p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Hassinger Daniels Mansion B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

HASSINGER DANIELS MANSION BB -- VULCAN VISTA SUITE. We so enjoyed these guests as they traveled through Birmingham. Everyone enjoyed them at the breakfast table. They had keen insights into historic preservation and antiques. They were ideal guests to help preserve the Mansion via their lodging fees of the ongoing preservation of a National Historic 1898 Victorian Mansion built by the iron industry family. Please come again! Loved to have you stay. Thank you for taking time to make a review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2018

We enjoyed our stay at the Hassinger Daniels Mansion B&B. It's a stunning house and very quiet room with lots of privacy. The hostess was lovely, made great conversation and offered great tips for the area. The location was great for nearby restaurants/pubs.

  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank ejirvine32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Hassinger Daniels Mansion B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

HASSINGER DANIELS MANSION BB. What a delightful comment "a stunning house and very quiet room with lots of privacy". Just what our management goal is. We are so happy this guest found us and we hope they will continue to stay with us whenever in our region. Thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

The Hassinger-Daniels Mansion Bed & Breakfast is no mere hotel, its an experience born out of love, dedication, and vision. Her proprietor, Mrs. Shelia, actually rescued this Unique Painted Lady from a demolition team and exhaulted her up to the highest eschelons of Victorian Grace. You see, Mrs. Shelia is in actuality, an architect rather than simply its manager. For her, the mansion and its continued preservation is her mission. Through that sublime focus, she has revived it and invites you, her guest, to discover/ enjoy it, and gain a bit of a by-gone- era of romance in our hectic lives. As a seasoned traveller, and amateur architecture aficianado, I highly recommend the Hassinger-Daniels Bed & Breakfast as an immersive Victorian experience which for all young ladies, brides, and lovers of beauty should not pass upon.

Tips to know before you go: Mrs. Shelia is the owner of not one, but TWO fabulous Victorian Bed and Breakfasts. As Hassinger-Daniels has only just been lushly rennovated and opened to the public, it's own webpage is under construction. If you would like to experience a 360 degree tour of the mansion before deciding, please type in the full name of the Hassinger-Daniels Mansion on Youtube, and tour it there. If you would like a complete description of rooms offered and their amenities, please visit the website Bed & Breakfast.com and you will find that information listed under the complete mansion's name. Be advised that this is a traditional Victorian-era home (1898) which in the South, necessitated the need to be raised off the ground to keep cool during the extremely high humidity in the Summer-time. To stay at this Mansion REQUIRES climbing 3 small flights of stairs at least, for people whose rooms are on the 2nd floor and two MORE flights of stairs to ascend to the 3rd level floor rooms. Call Mrs. Shelia and ask if there are any rooms on ground level floor (I'm not sure). Doing the math, that means that if you choose a room on the 3rd level floor, you will be climbing 5 small flights of stairs, but the opulence and tasteful decorations in the rooms will not disappoint I assure you.

After you have chosen the room which best fits your fancy/ budget, please visit her sister Mansion 'Cobb Lane Bed and Breakfast's' webpage @ CobbLaneB&B.com and look at the top right hand corner. You will see an oval plaque which reads, "Check Availability'- click there. You will be asked your arrival dates. Put one in (you can change any date based on what is available & when) and you will then see an 'X' marked by the rooms which are taken and when. Scroll down to the last 10, and those are the rooms in the Hassinger-Daniels Mansion. You book the room of your choice there.

I HIGHLY recommend that a day or two before you arrive, that should you have the SLIGHTEST need, that you give Mrs. Shelia a call and let her know. Anything form extra blankets and sheets to additional fan in your room, or problem with stairs, or the tiniest need at breakfast concerning diet requests, please give her a call and let her know all about it. You see, the mansion doesn't open until 3pm. and at times, either her or her assistants are moving between the two mansions attending to multiple guests. After letting her know, should you have any requests or questions in mind, put in the coordinates of the mansion of your choice on the day of your arrival and arrive between 3-9 pm (or unfortunately sometimes even later) but Mrs. Shelia or her assistants try to be there as often as they can to greet you. I also HIGHLY recommend that you choose your dining option carefully as there are MANY restaurants within the surrounding blocks to enjoy, but should you choose one more than 2 miles away, you will be driving down a vast array of slow-speed, ever-winding, twists & turns, and one-way streets down or further up the mountain of the five-points South district and 280 HWY is several minutes down the road in either lunch hour or rush hour traffic. Be advised and plan before you go. For example, I chose La Paz mexican restaurant because my garmin said it was only 2.5 miles away. Yeah, 15 minutes later, and lots of twisting and turning in the dark, I arrived. That restaurant was FANTASTIC though and I highly recommend it!

Upon arrival: You will follow a short drive between the mansion and its neighboring 'Chick Fil' A around to the back of the Inn and park behind. Walk up one small flight of stairs and proceed up the porch and down the walkway around the porch to the front of the house. After you have paid in full a few days before arrival, Mrs. Shelia will text you the ever-changing security code to the front door. Greeting you will be a delictable array of yummy cookies/ pastries under glass. The parlor, hall, and main dining rooms are arrayed with antiques and exhibits of items found during the restoration of the home. Also, vintage furniture, restored mantles, and photo albums of the mansion before / after its rennovations pique your fancy and interest. Everything is just absolutely gorgeous. Mrs. Shelia's husband is an accomplished local wood-carving artisan and you will see life-sized examples of his intricately carved wooden horses and griffins majestically on display. I recommend proceeding to the back left of the house where you will find a smaller refrigerator of guest drinks to enjoy before you ascend to your room.

Proceed back to the front of the parlor and the stunning winding staircase up to your room will be adorned with 3 fabulously detailed hand-inlaid stained glass windows which were amazingly perfectly preserved during the proud previous owner's care of the massive home. If you're on the 3rd floor, continue on up the winding staircase and make sure to HOLD ONTO the origional/ opulent wooden staircase and LOOK UP to see a fantastic sight above your heads in the ceiling above you!

I've been twice so far and enjoyed it SO MUCH! and I am truly grateful for the opportunity to stay in a vintage, lavishly-restored, Victorian Mansion in the heart of downtown Birmingham. I catalog it as an experience not to be missed.

Room Tip: 3 staircases climb for 2nd floor, 5 staircases climb for 3rd floor!!!
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank bethoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Hassinger Daniels Mansion B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2018

HASSINGER DANIELS MANSION BB. What a wonderful comment this guest made "The Hassinger-Daniels Mansion Bed & Breakfast is no mere hotel, its an experience born out of love, dedication, and vision". That is the finest compliment we've ever had. THANK YOU! You understood what we're trying to do. Bless you. Please come again and again. Try each of the rooms.

For readers of this review, some notes to assist. The Mansion has 4 levels. Art Studio is below level. Common Rooms (Parlors, Dining and Victorian Chambers guest room) level one. Five guest rooms level two (Serafim, Camelot, Peacock, Garden View, Southern Belle). Four rooms on level three (Vulcan Vista, Blue Serenity, Hera's Loft, Enchanting Turret). Guests with mobility issues please reserve Victorian Chamber. It is closest to the front door and very convenient on he same level for breakfast, cookies and beverages.

THANK YOU so much for your review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2018

The Hassinger Daniels Mansion is a wonderful old B&B. We received a complimentary upgrade to a very pleasant room. Nice recommendation to a good restaurant (Jim 'N Nick's BBQ) withing walking distance.

Recommend highly.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dick N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheilachaffin, Owner at Hassinger Daniels Mansion B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2018

HASSINGER DANIELS MANSION BB. Short and sweet, this Review was helpful and much appreciated. Both of our 1898 Victorian Inns, two blocks apart, are in the Five Points Historic District which is also the Culinary District of the City. There are 41 restaurants right out the door. Often guests from out of state who are first timers in Birmingham like to sample the Alabama BBQs. Closest walkable one, which is also the best one, is Jim 'N Nick's. Beyond pork, they also offer beef, turkey, chicken and cat fish. They are also known for their pies (pecan, coconut, lemon, chocolate) and cheese biscuits. Please come see us again on your next trip to town. Thank you for coming!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews