We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thanks for your staff's invitation for New year banquet”
Review of The Bruce Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bruce Chalet
Ranked #12 of 955 Hotels in Lijiang
Reviewed 30 January 2012

On the day of chinese new year eve of 2012. me and my gf was lost my way to one of the museum in shuhe town. i asked a lady who near us for a guidance. During the conversation she told us she was working in bruce chalet and her boss is also from Hong Kong, so sheinvite us for the new year banquet in this hotel. It was such a warm offer when meeting a people from the same country and offered us to join their new year banquet, unfortunately, we were rush in time and next time will definitely stay longer in shuhe and consider to stay in this place.

Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ks531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

198 - 202 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 5 January 2012

My family of 3 stayed at Bruce Chalet for 3 nights in late December. The warm hospitality shown by Bella & Bruce made our Lijiang vacation memorable. We adopted their advice on sightseeing around Lijiang and Bella helped us with the transport arrangements which were very decently priced, reliable with excellent service. Bruce even gave us hand warmers for our next destination (shangrila)...Now that's certainly going beyond call of duty! The adults enjoyed the company of other guests at the cozy kitchnette every morning whilst my daughter enjoyed playing with the puppy! Location wise, its great...you can walk to Shuhe Town (UNESCO heritage site) and the Black Dragon Pool which I highly recommend is a mere 10 minute cab ride, Our room was clean with electric blanket though we would have welcomed heating in it. If we were to visit Lijiang again.....we'll stay with them again, for sure!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pink G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 January 2012

Stayed for 3 nights at the Bruce Chalet from December 13 to 16 with my wife. The room was tidy, clean and spacious. And the electric blankets is very comforting on the cold winter nights To echo the previous reviews, Bruce is truly accommodating and will provide you with valuable advice on where to go.

Bruce also put me in touch with an excellent guide (Ebenezer Hui) who took us to Shangrila via Tiger Leaping Gorge.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank navrak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2011

My husband I stayed at the chalet from December 4 until December 7, 2011. The decision to stay here was based on trip advisor reviews of the place. To return the favor after benefiting from my readings, I would like to share our own personal experience. We are in our 40's and we come from the Philippines. We can speak a little Mandarin but we feel more comfortable finding a place where English was being spoken. Bruce was our main resource person for our itineraries. We did our own research before going to Lijiang, but his personal input and advice were invaluable. He also made our trip easier because he had reliable taxi drivers affiliated with the hotel. The rates were cheaper than the quotes we got on our own. I would say his tie up was merely to facilitate guests' needs. Bruce is dedicated to make his guests' stay worthwhile and enjoyable. He
did not hesitate recommending to us an overnight stay in another place thinking that it might be too tiring for a day trip, which means losing a night's income for him. He also has Bella as his helping hand, who equally offered generous help to us. For instance, she helped me buy 30 packs of tea which I brought home as souvenirs for Christmas. This was going beyond their hotel's services.
We were very pleased with our decision to stay in Bruce Chalet, which is around 15 mins taxi ride from Lijiang old town and 15 mins walking distance from Shuhe old town. The main selling point of the place is the remarkable service of the truly dedicated people manning the chalet. Thank you Bruce and Bella for a memorable stay!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank marilouyaptanmd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2011

My partner and I stayed for 3 nights in mid November, during Lijiang and Shuhe's quieter season. The courtyard is beautifully maintained and as it's a ten minute walk from Shuhe, it offers a nice haven from the town's somewhat overly touristy bustle. The staff are extremely friendly and never failed to offer free home grown fruit, tea, and coffee. They are happy to help with travel bookings, and very generous with advice--be warned, some of the staff can be extremely talkative and you may find it hard to get away.

Our room was clean but extremely cold, with only an electric blanket to keep you warm while in bed. Showers are hot but the bathroom itself is like an ice box, with only an overhead heater for warmth. Breakfasts, though very affordable, are basic, and if you're a coffee fanatic you are best getting your coffee elsewhere as Bruce's only serves instant.

As the Chalet is a ten minute walk from restaurants and shops, be prepared for dark walks back at night, since the Chalet has a kitchen but does not serve lunch or dinner. Make sure to borrow a flashlight from staff--we made the mistake of returning in pitch black and fell into a pothole in the road. That said, after checking out several hostels in the center of Shuhe we decided that the Chalet was preferable. Especially as it has a lovely rooftop with a view of the neighboring Snow Mountain and surrounding rice paddies, which makes for a nice spot to have a drink or two at sunset.

The Chalet also generously offered us bikes for free, as there weren't many guests, and advised us to explore the surrounding areas of Baisha and Naxi villages--which were much more laid back and less touristy than Shuhe. They offer a van and driver that can take you to Lijiang for 20RMB, or to the airport for 100RMB, so everything is quite accessible. They also allowed us to keep our room 6 hours after checkout as we had a night train to Kunming.

Overall a very charming place with enthusiastic and accommodating staff, but don't expect to be warm.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chinacanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
5.5 km away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
4.9 km away
Baisha Holiday Resort Lijiang
1.4 km away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#1 of 955 in Lijiang
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Le Hoo Hotel
Le Hoo Hotel
#10 of 955 in Lijiang
58 reviews
0.5 km away
Arro Khampa Lijiang by Zinc Journey
0.6 km away
Maple Leaf Inn
Maple Leaf Inn
#27 of 955 in Lijiang
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bruce Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bruce Chalet

Address: Ronghua Village, Shuhe Town, Lijiang 674100, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 955 Hotels in Lijiang
Price Range: RM71 - RM183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bruce Chalet would be a great place for you who are already exhausted in trying to survive the throat cutting metropolitan life and looking for ways to recharge your batteries. The Chalet located in the Shuhe village underneath the Jade Dragon Mountain in Lijiang, Yunnan, China, the Chalet features picturesque scenery, genial sunlight, a large garden and great hospitality. The Bruce Chalet is built based on Naxi style structure combining with modern facilities. In total of 13 comfort rooms, including luxurious suites and Snow Mountain View rooms, all rooms with private bathroom, hairdryer, WIFI… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ctrip TA and Agoda so you can book your The Bruce Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing