We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, but the most valuable is Bruce, the owner!”
Review of The Bruce Chalet

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Bruce Chalet
Ranked #12 of 955 Hotels in Lijiang
Reviewed 22 April 2012

We have stayed in this hotel for 3 nights. This hotel is very clean with a very nice garden. It is located in a very nice, quate, secure area. Very good breakfast with western standards. The owner was very helpful with arranging transport, giving advices (helped us to arrange a trip to Shangri La) and even helping us with the plain tickets.
The hotel has wireless internet everywhere.
The hotel is around 15 minutes by taxi from Lijang and 10 minutes walk from Shuhe.
We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ljubov S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

183 - 187 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2012

My husband and I went to Lijiang looking for peaceful place to stay and we found a little paradise. Bruce is a wonderful host and Bella the girl working there, she was gentle and helpful. The Chalet is locate a 10 mins walk from the Suhe Old Town which is the most beautiful one among the 3 old towns on the location. Bruce helpped us to book the tours we wanted to do.

My favorite time at the chalet was the breakfast time. First because you feel like at home and you seat in the morning sharing the big table with other guest, cause you have always a nice chat and share some experiences. But if you want to have a breakfast lonely with you couple, you can also enjoy of the beautiful garden.

everything is made easy!!! We did not plan anything and the trip was super-worth it. We will go again for sure and we will stay here.

Thanks to Bruce and Bella!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Carlos F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

during our trip thru china we stayed in many hotels/hostels and the bruce chalet was by far the best! Great service, location, breakfast and bruce is the most friendly guy you will meet!

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacob cornelis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2012

This is a clean hotel with a very pretty garden, great value for money and very helpful staff.

The rooms are very cosy and clean with a modern bathroom.

The staff were very good at helping us arrange transport, giving advice on were to travel, and they were very interesting to chat to generally.

The hostel is about 10 or 15 minutes walk from Shuhe old town (which I much preferred to Lijiang old town - more quiet, less tourists and less hype, really nice bars and restaurants). Bruce is really good about getting the hostel drivers to take you into Lijiang or wherever else you want to go.

Also, do take a walk around the village beside the hostel. It is a beautiful Naxi village with very friendly people. Unlike Lijiang or Shuhe it has not been done up, nor does it cater for tourists. So it is a much more interesting place to stroll around.

The only con: our bed was quite hard - not so good if you have back problems.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daftmeerkat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Bruce' s chalet is in the old city of Shue town a quiet location , best stay , close to Lijian but not in the caotic town.
Bruce is very helpful and patient in helping his guests to organise their trip: suggestions, transportation, guides.
He suggested us a driver with a mini van to go to Tacheng ,our next stop after Lijiang, he dealed with him a good price and the driver has been a fantastic person.
The garden in the chalet is nice and the view from our windows was amazing.
Thank you to Bruce and to Bella too....and we loved Yunnan!

Room Tip: snow mountains view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sinestesia4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Lijiang hotels
5.5 km away
Zen Garden Hotel (Wuyi Yard)
4.9 km away
Baisha Holiday Resort Lijiang
1.4 km away
The Bivou
The Bivou
#1 of 955 in Lijiang
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Le Hoo Hotel
Le Hoo Hotel
#10 of 955 in Lijiang
58 reviews
0.5 km away
Arro Khampa Lijiang by Zinc Journey
0.6 km away
Maple Leaf Inn
Maple Leaf Inn
#27 of 955 in Lijiang
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bruce Chalet? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bruce Chalet

Address: Ronghua Village, Shuhe Town, Lijiang 674100, China
Region: China > Yunnan > Lijiang
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 955 Hotels in Lijiang
Price Range: RM71 - RM183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Bruce Chalet would be a great place for you who are already exhausted in trying to survive the throat cutting metropolitan life and looking for ways to recharge your batteries. The Chalet located in the Shuhe village underneath the Jade Dragon Mountain in Lijiang, Yunnan, China, the Chalet features picturesque scenery, genial sunlight, a large garden and great hospitality. The Bruce Chalet is built based on Naxi style structure combining with modern facilities. In total of 13 comfort rooms, including luxurious suites and Snow Mountain View rooms, all rooms with private bathroom, hairdryer, WIFI… ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Bruce Chalet reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing