We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Villa Fontana and Cavtat”
Review of Villa Fontana

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Villa Fontana
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 June 2015

Cavtat is beautiful,very relaxing and an easy place to take a holiday in.
Several bays make for lots of boat interest as you take an easy walk into town on the flat.
Lots of restaurants along the way. We did not have spectacular food in any of the places we ate out in but it was adequate and not expensive. The views while eating dinner were a real bonus.
The price of a glass of wine was on the whole about £2.50 and was very good...one or two places at about £1.60 per glass...not so good!!
We stayed at Villa Fontana which was on the edge of Cavtat. From the apartment to right the other end of Cavtat was about 20-30 minutes stroll but the apartment was on the flat. Lots of other apartments behind but they are on quite a steep hill.
Janet who owns the complex was very nice indeed. Met us at the airport gave us the tour of the town and was overall very helpful indeed.
The apartment was not the best we have ever hired. We have had some stunning apartments in Portugal for instance at less cost. But it was fine for a week for two of us.
For instance the second bedroom did not have a window other than a skylight in the ceiling.
The en suite shower room had a sloping ceiling which made it difficult to stand at the washbasin and I am 5'3.
There was only a cold water tap in the washbasin in the en suite
The shower tray is quite small and the curtain sticks to you while showering.
We had one or two hiccups but Millie who is the cleaner sorted them out in a flash and was very helpful.
Wifi was brilliant. Pool very nice but if it's windy the umbrellas can be somewhat mobile!
But it was a nice quiet area with lovely views and very rural.

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with friends
3  Thank momcinnes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JKasumovic, Owner at Villa Fontana, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2015

Thank you for taking the time to review your holiday at Villa Fontana, we do appreciate your feedback. We're really pleased you enjoyed your time here and we thoroughly enjoyed meeting you. We're sorry the accommodation was not entirely to your liking but so glad you had a good time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 52 of 105 reviews

Reviewed 25 September 2014

Good location and well appointed accommodation . Cavtat is a lovely town and Villa Fontana is just 5 mins walk to a great beach.
The owners are very welcoming and even collect from the airport, we even had a little tour of the town on the way.

Room Tip: Rafters apartment is definitely the best for views, decor and space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank karen b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2014

We stayed in Cavtat last year and fell in love with the place. We stayed in hotel Crotia and although this was a four star hotel it was not for us as it was too large and impersonal.So i found Villa Fontana on the internet and it looked perfect, small apartments and a pool!! We arrived and sailed through immegration and we were met by Jeanne who tooki us to the Villa which took last than ten minutes. Jeanne had done some shopping for us which was great so we were stocked up for a couple of days. We had aprtment one which was light and airy and had two balaconies. The one overlooking the hills we had our breakfast on every morning, it was gorgeous.
We got ready in our swimming gear and headed to the pool, there was one other couple. My husband went to the honesty bar and grabbed two cans of beer ( you mark donw what you drink on a sheet in the partment and pay at the end of your holidays) as we drank our beer and relaxed on the sunbeds we knew we were going to have a great time at the Villa.
The rooms are given fresh towels every other day and the maid also empties the bins.
There is a supermarket at the top of a very steep hill but to be honest i would shop down in the marina just as good.
The beach is five minutes walk through Hotel Albatross and it costs 35 Kuna for a sunbed with a matress for the day. The beach is great and we got sunbeds at the very edge of the sea, the view is spectacular and the water is beautful and refreshing to swim in ( bring your reef shoes) There are a couple of bars and a very good restaurant at the beach. A pizza for lunch is only £4.00 and are excellent. A couple of times on an afternoon aq nipped back to our apratment and brought back a couple of beers from the fridge so we could have some refreshment on our sunbeds.
We walked into the marina every night ( sometimes on a lunchtime also) the walk talks 20 minutes and is really lovely. Cavtat has lost of fab restaurants and we were there two weeks and did not have one poor meal. I can recommned, Ivans, Zinos, Doliums,Kamen Mali. Our favourite bar was Miheals ( next to Kamen mali o the front) They show all the premiership matches and the barmen are great. The nice thing about Cavtat is the place is a great mizture of tourists from all over the world and locals.
We went to Dubrovnik a couple of times. We went by bus, the number 10 at the bus station there ( about 25 kuna) it took 30 mins, they call the stop for the old town so dont worry about where to get off, and then just follow the crown donw into the walls. To walk the walls costs 100 kuna, i checked on the interenet on the port authity website to see when the cruise ships came in and we went on wednesdays as there were very few boats coming in. It took us an hour to walk the walls and it was breathtaking. We then mooched around the city and got the water taxi back which i loved.
We loved our holiday and loved Villa Fontana, if you are looking for independence and a great location this is the place for you. When we walked past the Hotel Albatross with its aqua arobics sessions blasting every morning we were so glad we chose Villa Fontana!!!
Last thing forgot to mention the Wifi was great in the rooms and around the pool, faster than my Wifi at home!!!

Room Tip: Apartment one has a light and airy feel but I have heard the large apartment at the top are even bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
5  Thank MazC68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JKasumovic, Owner at Villa Fontana, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2014

Thank you so much for taking the trouble to post a review, we are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday at Villa Fontana – and thank you also for giving such good tips and detailed information, your experiences will be very helpful for our future guests.

Really pleased that you mentioned the wi-fi, this is the first season that we have been able to extended our connection coverage over the whole complex, and we’re really pleased that it worked so well for you.

We are really glad that you chose Villa Fontana too – and look forward to welcoming you back again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2014

We stayed in apartment 3 for 11 nights in July. It was our first visit to Croatia & booked these apartments as we wanted accommodation with a pool. Miro picked us up from the airport & gave us a tour of the centre before arriving at the villa where we were welcomed by Janet. Our apartment was on ground level & upon entering it it was clearly obvious that it was in need of a refurb. The kitchen units had edging either hanging off or had already come off which was unsightly. There was a tile loose on the step up to the kitchen area. One of the base cupboards had a stale smell. The fridge had not been cleaned & there was black mould in the seal round the door. The bathroom needed a thorough clean and the towels were old & had a sour smell. The bedroom had a divan which had no castors or feet & therefore sat directly on the floor & had a duvet which we found very unusual. The fitted sheet was bri nylon which did not fit properly.
Outside the vegetation desperately needed trimmed back & the pool area was in need of a good clean. We never saw the pool being cleaned & some days the pump was not working. As a result we did not use it as we could see a greasy film & dead flies etc. on the top. In general we feel that the whole complex would benefit from a complete overhaul although we did see the top superior 2 bed apartment which had obviously been refurbished & was immeasurably better than the one we had. We are not particularly critical people & don't expect luxury but we do expect a decent standard of cleanliness which unfortunately we feel was lacking. This could be due to the fact there were only 2 cleaners & they did not have enough time to do a deep clean between tenants. Miro & Janet are a very nice couple & most of the reviews are very favourable but this is an honest review of our stay at Villa Fontana & unfortunately we cannot agree with the many excellent reviews given by others. We paid far
more for the apartment than normal & feel we definitely did
not get the value for money we expected.

Malcolm & Elma Nicoll

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Emy1957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JKasumovic, Owner at Villa Fontana, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Wow, well you won’t be returning to us then!!

Firstly, can we say how disappointed we are that not only did you not bring any one of your concerns to our attention during your stay at our villa, thereby denying us the chance to put anything right and make your holiday the experience you wanted it to be - but you then waited 7 weeks after your departure to enrol with TripAdvisor simply to post this vitriolic review!

Taking your ‘complaints’ in order, as you enter Apartment 3 the first area you enter is the lounge – where you should have noticed the brand new three piece suite, the brand new coffee table, along with the new soft furnishings and ornaments. You should also have noticed the new smart TV which is connected to the free wi-fi that is available throughout the property.

I agree, there is a little edging off one of the kitchen units. At the start of our season this was intact and has become detached by the normal wear and tear when the apartment has been occupied by guests. This strip was purely decorative and in no way affects the hygiene of the kitchen, and now forms part of our ‘snag list’ before the start of our next season. I haven’t had any other reports of a loose tile, but obviously if the tile is loose it will be attended to without delay.

Again, there has not been any mention of a stale smell by any of our other guests, and neither I nor either of our 2 cleaners have noticed any such odour – however, I do believe that your holiday was during a period of particularly inclement weather, I seem to recall some particularly severe thunderstorms and it’s possible that the odour you noticed was due to damp caused by the rain.

I absolutely dispute your statements that the fridge had not been cleaned or that the bathroom was less than clean. You actually point out that we have 2 professional cleaners attending to the property and I have absolute confidence in their ability and thoroughness. We allow 4 hours between departing and arriving guests, which is ample time for the thorough clean of each of our apartments and rooms.

Our towels were all brand new for this season. I would suggest that the smell you objected to was actually a different type of detergent that you are not familiar with?

There is absolutely nothing we can do about your dislike of the style of bed – that particular bed is designed the way it is presented, without castors or feet, and is intended to sit directly on the floor. I have no idea why you would find a duvet on a bed to be unusual.

The gardens are traditional Mediterranean style, and as near as possible we try to keep them exactly as nature intended. We keep the pathways clear but in no way do we agree that any should be trimmed, indeed we have encouraged the growth of several of the trees so as to provide a natural screen between the apartment you stayed in and the pool area.

With regards to your comments about the pool and pool area, firstly can I say how pleased I am that you didn’t see the pool being cleaned, it means that our style of service, so as to be as unobtrusive to our guests as possible, is working. We close the pool between the hours of 8:00 pm to 8:00am for exactly that reason and it is during those hours the pool and poolside areas are cleaned and the chemicals are introduced to the pool. I can’t imagine that anybody would think we would invest so much money into creating a pool, for us to then just neglect it – it would make no sense whatsoever.

Whilst we agree that during the course of each season some areas become well used, again these form part of our annual maintenance which is carried out in our closed season. You have actually noted that we do constantly work to keep our property in as good a state as is possible, and as and when we are able to make improvements we do, as is evidenced in our Superior apartments – this does not in any way suggest that our other accommodation is inferior!

We have no idea what you would consider normal for you to pay for a holiday apartment, but please be assured that our prices are calculated very carefully and are in keeping with the area, and we feel aggrieved you that don’t feel you got value for money.

We are sorry that you disagree with all the very favourable reviews of Villa Fontana but obviously there is nothing we can say will persuade you away from your view – which we respect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2014

We stayed in the 'Rafters' apartment for ten days, 2 adults and our 2 teenage daughters. It was very comfortable-good air con,amazing view from the balcony,good bedrooms with super wardrobe space, a well equipped kitchen and wifi. The pool was quiet with comfortable chairs to lie on and read or sunbathe. Janet was brilliant to deal with from first contact onwards. The pebble beach was a 5min walk as was one of the best restaurants we ate in, 'Domizana'. They also serve take away pizza which is delicious and I don't even like pizza! There is a small well stocked supermarket about 15mins walk up a very steep hill.The old town of Cavtat was a 15min walk along a beautiful coastline. The town itself is pretty and full of restaurants and bars. This was one of our best holidays ever . Do take beach shoes to protect your feet from rocks and sea urchins and mosquito spray for those pesky mosquitoes. Thank you Janet, we really hope to visit Cavtat again soon.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank DeniseM678
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JKasumovic, Owner at Villa Fontana, responded to this reviewResponded 15 September 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit a review of Villa Fontana. We are delighted that you enjoyed your holiday and we look forward to welcoming you back again as soon as you can come.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Cavtat hotels
0.6 km away
Hotel Cavtat
Hotel Cavtat
#1 of 18 in Cavtat
1,184 reviews
1.3 km away
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
Hotel Croatia Cavtat
#2 of 18 in Cavtat
2,859 reviews
0.8 km away
Bacan Serviced Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 km away
Apartments Zvrko
Apartments Zvrko
#10 of 18 in Cavtat
118 reviews
0.7 km away
Castelletto
Castelletto
#3 of 18 in Cavtat
269 reviews
0.9 km away
Villa Radovic
Villa Radovic
#4 of 18 in Cavtat
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Fontana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Fontana

Address: Put od Oboda 5, Cavtat, Konavle 20210, Croatia
Region: Croatia > Dalmatia > Dubrovnik-Neretva County > Konavle > Cavtat
Amenities:
Beach Beverage Selection Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Cavtat
Price Range: RM334 - RM651 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Villa Fontana 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Villa Fontana comprises of six self catering apartments with either one or two bedrooms. There are also twin or double en-suite rooms available. Only a short walk to the beach and a pleasant stroll to the Cavtat village village centre. Villa Fontana has a secluded swimming pool and sunbathing area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Villa Fontana reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Fontana Hotel Cavtat

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing