We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful Location Great Hosts”
other travellers have booked this property
Apartment Anja
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Apartment Anja
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
Apartment Anja
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Cavtat, Konavle, Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Dalmatia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FranFlint...
Flintshire
Level 4 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Wonderful Location Great Hosts”
Reviewed 14 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016
7
people found this review helpful

We have recently arrived back from our very first visit to beautiful Cavtat these are my honest opinions in no particular order. Hopefully some of the information will be of help but I am sure I will cover stuff others have in the past.
I have lots of photos so I will try and post quite a few.

Anja Apartment

We were met with a smile by the lovely Matea who showed us around the three bed 2 bath apartment. Our first impression was how big it was, the bedrooms are a really good size.
It really is spotlessly clean a credit to Matea and her Husband.

Great comfy beds.
Lovely pillows and duvets they look fairly new.
All cleaning products, loo rolls provided even the dish washer tabs
Every dish, cutlery, quality pans for a self catering holiday
Microwave. No electric toaster as such but we used the sandwich maker which did the trick
If you plan on using the washing machine just add a few washing tabs to your luggage
Came in handy plus it was the same model as my own.
Air con in all the rooms with remote controls
Cable TV with English channels
Fast WiFi password provided
Seating area small not the most comfortable couches
Coffee percolator with filters
Iron, ironing board, hairdryer
Lots of drawers, mirrored wardrobes plenty of coat hangers
Drain smell seemed to come from back bathroom not all the time but noticeable.
Lovely views from balcony and front bedrooms
Chairs on balcony with padded cushions
Beautiful tasty cake from Matea delivered by her Husband...thank you

They obviously take pride in their apartment and it shows
You will love it

OTHER INFO

ATM plus bureau exchange by the bus stop
Premo supermarket is by the barriers on entering the town it has most things including wines and beer
Bakery and fresh veg fruit market opposite
Free WiFi bars and restaurants they willingly give you the passwords
No sandy beaches in Cavtat advise comfy padded seat for rocks. Saw quite a few with the rolled up Pilate type mats, perfect if you can pack in case. Fold up sponge mats sold in most shops but they are about £10 each
You can hire sunbeds and sunshades in certain areas although I dont know prices
Plenty of taxis directly outside airport no need to haggle set price 120 Kuna approx £14.
Journey is a pleasant 10 mins ride
Same price back to airport taxis located by Cavtat bus terminus
Bus drivers speak English very helpful
Cavtat bus terminus ideal for Dubrovnik approx 1 hour journey. Cost for one way is 25 Kuna approx £2.90. Bus is standing room only after the first few stops. I did feel sorry for all passengers further up the line they had no chance of getting on.
Got catamaran back from Dubrovnik quicker than the other boats cost 70 kuna for 4 of us just over £8, brilliant.
Take a look the boats moored in the harbour WOW. Roman Abramovich yacht Eclipse.... floating hotel

If you fancy a shopping mall get no 10 bus (without the letter M next to it) cost is 20 Kuna approx £2.30 one way takes about 10/15 mins, all info came from the shop assistant in Premo supermarket!! Ask bus driver to let you know when you reach Srebreno shopping centre. Big modern new complex H&M plus other shops. Places to eat and have coffee with great views. We visited on an overcast day, if you make your way down to the shore you can catch the little boat back to Cavtat with your bargains.

Full day 8.30am start coach trip to Montenegro Budva and Kotor very interesting cost 700 Kuna approx £82 but that was between 4 of us. Shop around as we found prices could vary by £10. Take passport for border control. Our brilliant tour guide Danko and driver Super Mario advised us not to use the ATM at the garage (coffee/loo break stop) in the past cards have had a tendency to be swallowed, sometimes not enough money in machines!!
Take Euros as Kunas not accepted in Montenegro.

Hired little boat for the day with 5 hp engine great fun visiting islands dropping off to sunbathe and snorkel. We used Ivan or as he told us EEEvan located on the harbour by St Nicks church. Provides you with ice packs & cooler box, also mobile phone in waterproof container just in case. £80 between two couples really good fun

Found some receipts for buses drinks etc. Just to give an idea of cost
Dalmantino bar and restaurant located opposite bus depot at the harbour.
Ordered 1 Whiskey & bottle Sprite. 1 pint beer. 1 Gin & bitter lemon cost 148 Kuna approx £17.40. Paying for the ambiance.

As in most resorts usual prices for wine and beer much cheaper away from the harbour.

Samba bar, walk behind and away along the road from Dalmantino same drinks plus a white wine half the price. No ambiance... but people watched!! Choices and options.


Mausoleum in Cavtat located near the harbour climb of 176 steps. Stunning views when you catch your breathe. Pay 10 Kuna to visit beautiful church.

Cavtat is quiet of an evening plenty of restaurants where you can also have a drink but no bars as such. So if you want the nightlife this is not for you

I must mention Ciparis family run restaurant the food is excellent and delicious. The staff are hardworking and so friendly. We visited several times, it's so handy for Anja apartments.

To sum up Cavtat is one of the prettiest places we have visited. Thank you to Matea and Ivica for their hospitality you will love Anja apartments its in a perfect location with no hills to climb. A 10 min stroll to the supermarket. with fab scenery along the way. We will most definitely return to Croatia.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gary D
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome”
Reviewed 12 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Great location, everything within the apartment was very clean and functional.
Matea helped with recommendations of places to visit and eat. Swimming just across the road and great place to relax.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Total ambience of the location
Liked least: nothing really
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
buenoabog...
San Diego, California
Level 6 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Exactly what we expected”
Reviewed 5 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Just read the prior reviews and look at the pictures on TA - it is all spot on. We loved our stay at the Apartment. Matea was great at providing information, and her husband was waiting for us when we arrived. The apartment had everything we needed and since we arrived during a mini heat wave, the air conditioning was very nice to have. The location is ideal; a short walk to whatever you want. We swam everyday out in front and generally wandered around Cavtat, which is lovely. One day we hang out at the beach next door and did the water sports there; another day we went and hung out at the tip of the little peninsula with the best little bar you could ask for. Although we enjoyed taking the water taxi up to see Dubrovnik, we are very glad we decided to stay in Cavtat. Too much commotion up there for what we were looking for. There was a small storm one afternoon and the wifi went out at the apartment. Matea had it fixed the next day and left us a tasty homemade cake too! I would stay there again without hesitation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Would like a few more pillows
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jul 2016
Thank you, I'm so glead you enjoyed. Hope you will manage to come back again. Matea and Ivica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue J
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful apartment great location”
Reviewed 24 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
1
person found this review helpful

A beautiful place to stay for a relaxing break.location perfect a pleasant walk to restaurants and town and around the cove the scenery is magnificent the sunsets amazing. The apartment was very well equipped, clean and spacious with comfortable
beds we couldn't of asked for more everything was supplied many thanks to Matea and her husband

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 May 2016
Thank you Sue for this wonderful review. Hope to be your host again.
Matea and Ivica
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
joannefis...
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Super spot in a lovely town close to Dubrovnik”
Reviewed 10 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

My husband, two teenage children and I enjoyed a fabulous stay in Apartment Anja. We loved the location which is right by the sea. From our room, with the window open we could hear the sea. The apartment is on a very quiet one way road /lane with the sea right by its side. We hired a car and there is a parking space right outside that you chain up so it is always yours to use!

Just a 5 minute walk to the left and you come to a few restaurants and cafe/bars. You do not hear or smell these from the apartment. A 10- 15 minute walk by the sea takes you to the bus station in Cavtat with the no 10 bus to Dubrovnik every half an our or so. There is a small supermarket by the bus station and a lovely bakery and bank! In the centre of Cavtat and by the other harbour there are lots of dining opportunities. We also took a boat to Dubrovnik from here which run very frequently.

We enjoyed our location as the teenage kids could wander into town on their own and they hired bikes for a couple of afternoons.To the right of the apartment about a 5 minute walk away is a beach and a couple of hotels.

You can swim from the rocks in front of the apartment.

The apartment itself had everything we needed. Two rooms face the sea...one with a lovely balcony to sit on. The third double bedroom looks over the back ...there are orange trees growing there...and that room has an ensuite with a much welcome bath tub (although only three quarter size). The view not as impressive though.

Just a couple of negatives...the bathrooms sometimes smelt of drains. This whiff was also evident outside generally from time to time. It wasn't overpowering but noticeable sometimes. The other thing was the trees outside...you can see the sea and the view but you have to look around some of the trees. They must be protected and rightly so...you just have to position yourself to get the better view. Going up on the roof was good to catch the sun.

We used the shared balcony and the table tennis there. The views from the left of that terrace are across the bay to Dubrovnik.

The furniture and bedding etc have a feel of Croatia about them. Everything was clean and Matea met us there and kindly left milk at our request plus fruit and biscuits as a welcome gift.

The bedrooms are spacious and the bathrooms too.The lounge was small but great in the evening after a hard days sightseeing as we could chill and watch some Croatian TV!

The kitchen and dining area are spacious. Not hyper modern but having all you need including a welcome dishwasher.

We had trips to Dubrovnik by boat and returned on the no10 bus. We went in the hire car to the Sokol Grad Castle (fab) near Ljuta and then to Molunat which is unspoilt by the sea. We drove to Perast and Kotor in Montenegro. The border is only 50 mins away. We also went toKorcula town on Korcula Island which is a two hour drive along by the Adriatic catching the foot ferry from Oribec to Korcula.

Cavtat is incredibly pretty and just 30 mins by bus or boat to Dubrovnik. The airport is 10 minutes by car. We enjoyed watching the planes flying into Dubrovnik. They are infrequent and fun to watch.

A great spot all round! I recommend the apartment. It is not, as the pictures show, hyper modern, but it is very comfortable and spacious. It's location 100%

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Listening and watching the sea from my bed! Being close to Dubrovnik in a pretty town.Being able to stroll to the shops, restaurants ans bus along by the sea.
Liked least: The occasional drain smell in the bathrooms and the view being partially blocked by the trees.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing