We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A stunning and beautifully finished villa”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Villa Maria

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
22 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Cavtat, Konavle, Dubrovnik-Neretva County, Dalmatia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 22 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

1silverfo...
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“A stunning and beautifully finished villa”
Reviewed 13 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have just returned from a fortnight at Villa Maria. We have stayed in a number of villas over the last few years and in terms of the quality and finish of the house - this is by far the best we have been to. Absolutely spotless. Modern kitchen and appliances. Very smart bathrooms and newly fitted showers. Fitted a/c in the downstairs rooms plus bedrooms. Lovely outside, and a great pool. Lovely views to the front, with sunsets across the bay in the distance. Large welcome pack with fresh food, huge bowl of fruit, beers and wine.

The villa is only a five minute drive from the airport, and similar distance into Cavtat. Most evenings we got an Uber into Cavtat to eat (only £3) but picked up the local taxis home (about £8) which were plentiful and no hassle at all getting to and from the villa - far easier than trying to find a parking space in Cavtat. It is probably the only holiday we have had where we felt we didn't need the car other than for one or two trips! The local restaurant Tomislav has very well priced and excellent food...but rather hot to sit in during the evening...but it does do takeaway. Bakery is excellent and there are a couple of supermarkets - all walking distance.

Other than visiting Dubrovnik of course, worth visiting Molunat (follow the road to the fish restaurant - the beach is outstanding) and Platt beaches. Also well worth a visit to Sokol Grad which is a beautifully restored fortress in the mountains about a 30 mins drive south. The scenery is quite spectacular.

One of the best holidays we've had and the best villa we've stayed in. If I had two comments:

1. On first arrival, the turning up to the villa is difficult to spot and could perhaps have been a bit clearer in the directions. Drive past the hard standing / car park just past Tomislav restaurant and turn right just at the corner with the butchers (Pivac)

2. While there is shade under the canopy to the front of the house, it would have been great to have some sun umbrellas by the pool. The sunbeds are the most comfortable I have used...and I kept falling asleep in the full sun!

Date of stay: August 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Aug 2017
Thank you so much for this wonderful review and for taking the time to write it.I am so glad that you had lovely time in our holiday villa and hope to see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
adamcarru...
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“An excellent Villa with amazing owners”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We spent a week here at the end of June and the Villa is as beautiful as it looks in the pictures. Extremely spacious and plenty of room for our kids to play around in inside the Villa on the one rainy day we had while visiting. We went into Cavtat to do a bit of shopping for the Villa before we checked in. To our amazement when we got back and checked in there was an enormous amount of fresh fruit, beers, water and yogurts (including kids yogurts) for us to enjoy. Also a range of spirits including some homemade ones for us to help ourselves to. The owners were extremely polite and friendly, additionally they gave us there mobile number to contact them if we required any help with anything. All and all a fantastic Villa and would recommend it to anyone.

Date of stay: June 2017
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2017
Thank you for taking the time to share your great experience in our holiday house. It was pleasure to have you and your family as our guest.Hope to see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne198...
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect family holiday!”
Reviewed 20 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We came to stay at this amazing villa for one week at the end of May. We had two families stay with three children ages 6, 5 and 2. The villa is very family friendly. The two older children stayed in the kids bedroom, which they loved. My son slept in the cot provided in his own room right beside my room. There is two large bathrooms so each family could have their own. The sitting room was nice and cool. We didn't want to be out in the strong heat at lunch time so we would come inside. There was plenty of kids films for them to watch. The kitchen was fully equipped. The owners had a lovely selection of fruit for us on arrival. The pool area is lovely. Plenty of sun loungers. Steps down into the pool so child friendly. Plenty of outside space to have lunch and dinner.
The villa is located about 10 minutes outside Cavtat. Only £8 in a cab or you can get a bus at the end of the road.
The airport is only about 10 minutes away! The kids loved looking at the planes fly over. My only small negative and actually probably our fault for not checking but we arrived at 11am but the Villa wasn't going to be ready till 3 so we had to get back in a cab to the town for a few hours. With three tired children it was slightly stressful however we ended up having a lovely lunch in Cavtat. When we got back the villa was absolutely perfect for our stay! So clean.
We would definitely recommend this villa.

Date of stay: May 2017
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for this wonderful review and for taking the time to write it.I am so glad that you had lovely time in our holiday house and hope to see you all again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ida H
1 review
“Beautiful villa Maria”
Reviewed 12 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Just got home from a perfect vacation in Cavtat, Croatia. We were 2 families staying at this beautiful, spacious, well equipped house, surrounded by a nice garden with fruits, vegetables and berries of all kind. Most of the time we just chilled by the lovely pool - fun and relaxing at the same time. Friendly and helpful owners who left us drinks, candy and lots of fruit on arrival.

The villa is situated in a quiet place, just outside the lovely city of Cavtat. Just down the road we found the busstop, a bakery, a minimarket and a great restaurant, Tomislav, You can walk down the road to Cavtat, but with 4 small kids it was perfect to take the bus. You can also take the bus the other way, to Plat, Mlini or Dubrovnik.

I would also recoment you to visit the small beaches in Cavtat and to have lunch or dinner at Bugenvila restaurant.

Date of stay: June 2017
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jun 2017
Dear Ida thank you for taking the time to share your great experience in our holiday villa. It was pleasure to have you and your family as our guest. Hope to see you all again
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
380eagle
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Amazing! A perfect place for one or two families to enjoy time together by the pool!”
Reviewed 16 February 2017 for a stay in August 2016

We stay in Villa Maria for 2 weeks in Aug 2016. It was the first time we had decided to go on holiday with friends and the villa was just perfect in so many ways.... a big interior for everyone to have their own space if required. 2 bathrooms so families could separate. Kids ages 5-9 could have freedom to move around and you were not worried where they were. Gated villa with lovely big pool which is where we spent most of our time and the kids loved it. The owners were all really good and made sure that we were well taken care of. We got private transfers to and from the airport which isn't too far away either, but noise pollution was not an issue. The villa is hidden away, and we took the bus (number10) into the small town of Caveat, with its lovely restaurants and beaches. Dubrovnik is a boat ride away but well worth the visit for the day. Our family loved Croatia and Caveat. The only real downside was that there was no zircon in the bedrooms so sleeping was tricky, however, I believe the owners are going to get this sorted. A couple of power cuts but sorted very quickly and I guess to be expected when the villa is remote. Bakers down the road make the best bread ever and local super market for water, fruit and food. We had the best time!!

Date of stay: August 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.