We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$334
US$265
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$169
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Villa Skansi(Hvar)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Bar/Lounge
US$55
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Reviews (49)
Filter reviews
49 results
Traveller rating
44
4
0
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
44
4
0
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeach barhotel restaurantsabinedalmatiancoast
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 49 reviews
Reviewed 14 August 2016 via mobile

We just spent 5 nights at Skalinada after recommendation from friends who have spent vacation there two past years, and we absolutely don't regret it! Coming out of the narrow tunnel after the drive from Stari Grad port is like walking through the warderobe to Narnia, a different world than the stressful, busy one left behind. Such a relaxing place! If anything to complain about, would be as it was August and high season the little beach in front of the hotel and the other small beaches all the way to the neighbouring village Zavala were completely packed. Next time we'll not go high season, but we will definitely return!

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Josefine L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

This was our first trip to Croatia, and our first stop was Hvar. Based on the favorable reviews we read on tripadvisor, we decided to book with Hotel Skalinada. We were not disappointed. We took the ferry over from Dubrovnik and arrived in Hvar Town in the evening. Sabine, one of the owners, picked us up in town and drove us to the hotel. Her hospitality was evident from the start. From the moment we arrived at Hotel Skalinada we were in love with it; the grounds were beautiful, the building itself was gorgeous, and it had a very relaxed feel. Tonci, Sabine’s husband, quickly introduced himself and was very nice with a good sense of humor. We knew we had made the right decision – Hotel Skalinada was just what we were looking for. We booked the half board package, which included breakfast and dinner. The food was excellent, and in particular the dinners, which were highlighted by the delicious soups, fresh salads, and locally caught fish. The service at the restaurant was excellent during each meal. During the day, we enjoyed lounging in the beach chairs on the patio, which afforded wonderful views of the beach & sea. The beach bar, where the service was also excellent, was a favorite of ours. The rooms at the hotel were simple yet comfortable. Our views of the sea from our terrace were incredible; we enjoyed sitting out there at night with a glass of wine or a beer. Upon our departure, Tonci volunteered to drive us to the ferry in nearby Stari Grad. If we ever return to Hvar we wouldn’t hesitate to book at Hotel Skalinada again, and would recommend it to anybody looking to travel to Hvar.

Room Tip: Choose a room with a terrace - the views are excellent.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank nfsullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 June 2016

An example of a great hotel and great staff! Rooms are clean and with spectacular view. The location is a few steps away from the crystal clean sea and beautiful beach. All that comes together with unbelievably good food and polite staff. Quite hedoinic place!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Roscic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016

This place has it all, firstly, nice accommodation stayed in one of the detached units that was well appointed bright with everything you would need for a long stay. The staff are some of the best that I have ever been around in any hotel/restaurant, you name it. The location of the place is quite stunning with a great beach down below the main buildings, the color of the water is quite spectacular! The food in the restaurant blew me away, we mostly dined on seafood, the tuna probably the best I have ever had anywhere. Also had some local white fish which was prepared just right, also had octopus and sardines which were also perfect. Breakfast was very good as well being from N. America it is what I would expect at home and it was perfect. Thanks to the staff the visit was perfect, a must on Hvar, if you need a little bit of paradise and quiet!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank montana43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 May 2016 via mobile

Amazing fresh fish cooked to perfection and beautiful little beach right below. I would recommend staying or taking a day trip. Dog friendly beach and restaurant.

We didn't stay there but had friends that did and they said the rooms were clean and good value.

Stayed: May 2016, travelled with family
Thank Dan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews