We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$113
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 26% below average rates

The price you found is 26% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$138/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$244
US$237
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$152
US$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hostel Villa Zorana(Hvar)(Great Value!)
US$70
US$57
Hostelworld.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 43% below average rates

The price you found is 43% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$100/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Apartments Dobrila(Hvar)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$164
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$109
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$304
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$493
US$269
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 33% below average rates

The price you found is 33% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$402/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (2,167)
Filter reviews
2,167 results
Traveller rating
718
771
424
148
106
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
718
771
424
148
106
Show reviews that mention
All reviewspool areaswim up barsea viewbonj les bainsbig hotelgreat poolsister hotelyour luggagehula hulasun loungerspeak seasonnice walkmin walkold townbeautiful islandmain townyoung people
Filter
Updating list...
1,526 - 1,531 of 2,167 reviews
Reviewed 22 August 2010

We got upgraded to a junior suite, which set the scene for a great stay. Front desk staff were fantastic, really friendly and helpful. The location is great just around the headland from Hvar town. Pool was great, busy but we only used it when we came back from the islands. Great place.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DA_Wanderlust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We have just returned home after spending a wonderful week at Amfora. This was the second time we have stayed at the hotel and all in all we enjoyed it very much. We got nice connecting rooms with seaview and found the rooms very nice. I can see from earlier reviews that former guests are complaining about noise from the nightlife. We did not experience this, the only problem we had with noise was during the midday party at Splash on the 11 th. Then it was like sitting on a disco but it ended at 8pm so no problem with sleep. In general we found the staff very helpful with a very few exceptions. Our youngest is 6 and he loves the water slide at and that is why we are staying at the pool. And then we are down to the major problem at Amfora. To get four places together in first row you we found that you have to be down at the pool at 745 am, reserve the chairs and waiting in the queue to get towels at 8am. If you are an early riser Amfora is the right hotel for you. This situation has to change either by don't allow people to reserve towels or increase the no. of sunbeds. A great advantage is the free WIFI that also worked very vell in our rooms. Despite the problems with sunbeds we will be happy to go back.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helge R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

If you like big flashy resorts that [with a childrens stroller] takes 2 lifts and numerous stair cases to reach your room, then this is for you. It would have to be the most over priced hotel we have ever stayed in. On the positive side, the staff were friendly and the pool great for little kids but the rooms were lacking in everyway. The hotel was really badly layed out, the decorations/pictures were so cheaply put together and the lifts tiny. It was completely obvious that this was a huge money making machine with no thought to people comfort. The breakfast was good.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueHammer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ztudor, General Manager at Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2010

Dear Guest,
First of all, we would like to thank you for staying at Amfora, hvar grand beach resort, a property recognized for its seafront location, modern design and diverse range of services.
As a family oriented resort in summer months, we have kept in mind the needs of families with small children and made all the public areas, including the pool, accessible for children's strollers. As the largest hotel on the island of Hvar, with 324 rooms, Amfora stretches along the Grand beach on the surface of 35 000 sqm. As for the spacious layout, when hotel was build in 1971, the building regulations were very strict in terms of the landscape preservation, so the hotel had to be built in length, rather than in height. This resulted in architecturally preserved Hvar town residential area, in which the hotel is located.
Since the hotel was firstly built, its interior and exterior were renovated for the first time only a few years ago. The newly renovated rooms were redesigned with comfort and space in mind. Also, keeping in mind the needs of families and larger groups, the rooms and suites of one whole north wing at the hotel have been designed to provide more space than our standard and superior rooms, which are oriented towards the bay.
We are pleased that you have been satisfied with all other aspects of hotel services and we thank you for your sincere review. We look forward to welcoming you to Amfora again in the future.
With best regards,
Hotel Amfora management team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2010

A great beach side hotel, within walking distance from the city of Hvar, with fantastic pool and easy access to the sea and activities.
The rooms are large, nice and comfortable, especially if you have a seaview. Initially, we had booked an "attrium" suite for 5 and on arrival, discovered that there were 3 beds only, that the rooms was smelling tobacco and that it was overlooking a staircase, for 442 euros/ night : so beware of their centralised booking system!
We were then upgraded to 2 connecting rooms with 2 bathrooms and seaview: a big difference!
The only negative point: it is a very big hotel (probably more than 300 rooms), and you might feel a bit anonymous. This also means that in the morning you have to rush to reserve your sunbeds (we were there during peak season) and that the atmosphere of the indoor breakfast room (no possibility to have breakfast outside) is not exactly cosy with standardised food being served.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mhp21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2010

The booming bass from the neighbouring nightclub vibrating through our poolview room between midnight and 4am really spoiled this as a claimed 'tranquil' destination. Reception staff shrugged shoulders, "there's nothing we can do to help." So with two more nights to go we've been out to buy ear plugs. Be sure to pack yours too.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ztudor, General Manager at Amfora Hvar Grand Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 1 September 2010

Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for staying at Amfora hvar grand beach resort, and for taking the time to provide genuinely useful observations about your stay with us.

Hotel Amfora is located in the quiet, residential area, 10 minutes walk from the centre of the town by the sea. Hotel itself fully respects noise restrictions and music regulations. Music from the downtown club, which is opened the whole night, usually does not spread towards the objects located by the sea. If the noise level is higher than town's laws and regulations, our night staff are instructed to contact local authorities.

Once again, thank you for taking your time and providing us with your most helpful insight.

For any further inquiries, please feel free to contact us at any time.

With best regards,
Hotel Amfora management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews