We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth a stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Valamar Diamant Hotel
Ranked #4 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2010

Just returned from a weeks stay in this hotel and would certainly recommend it. Was a bit worried when we first pulled up outside as it looked like a hospital in need of a good paint but dont let this put you off. Inside it's lovely!! Rooms are very clean even though a little small. Bedding & towels are changed daily and there is a safe in the room which is free of charge. Pool is clean and you can get free towels. There are plenty of sunbeds as pool area does not open till 9am. (Only moan we have was the number of kids splashing about/ playing ball in the pool which made swimming quite difficult- guess thats what you get for going in August!!!) Food was excellent- the choice & quality was superb! Evening meal times 7-9pm and sometimes you had to wait for a table to become available. Best time to go for eve meal was either at 7 of 8.30...avoid 7.30-8ish. Would def recommend the trip to Venice- worth every penny and the highlight being the Gondola's. The service in the pool bar was a bit slow if you went during peak lunch times- avoid these hours and the service is much better. There are not many british folk about so brush up on your German/Italian/Austrian/Polish/Swedish/Dutch and you'll be having many conversations!

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chapstick_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (648)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

256 - 260 of 648 reviews

Reviewed 8 August 2010

Just returned from Hotel Diamant. We were two families with 3 teenagers between us. We had 3 rooms which were allocated next to each other. The standard of food was beyond excellent, with so much choice and well presented. The rooms were very clean. We went on a tour to Venice which we booked ourselves through an Agency in Porec (cheapest possible price 299 K) and also went on a fishing picnic wich we again booked ourselves on the harbour front in Porec (Santa Marija). This was a tour with lunch included (fresh fish, cabbage salad, bread, wine and soft drink for children). Well worth booking on this tour and on this boat. We found the cheapest supermarket on the otherside of Porec by walking along the harbour front right to the end. There is also a small supermarket up on the hill with the self catering apartments (a little bit far in the heat! - make sure you go there in the evening). The beach is a concrete platform and there is need for water shoes, so take them with you. The pool is lovely and we spent most of our time on the grass under the trees outside the pool area. Towels for the pool are free of charge. There is a lovely walk into Porec which we undertook most days and there is a little train to bring you back (or forward) which costs about £1.20. one way. Should you need to entertain the children there is plenty to do in Brulo just down from the hotel, near the sea. The sunsets are something else - remember your camera! We finished off our holiday with a ride on the Segway which you can hire from the hotel. It is a 40 min tour for £12.50. The instructors are lovely and it is definitely worth the money. The staff are very friendly and they make an effort every evening to entertain their staff. There is something on every evening. We would like to return either to the Valamar Diamant or to a Valamar Hotel in Rovinj.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank huwjones792
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2010

Very friendly staff. Good quality and good choice of food very well presented in buffet style. Lots of activities for children with fun staff in charge of their clubs. Definitely geared up for the young and over 60's travelling with family. Probably better for couples without children to stay in Valamar's other hotels in Porec.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AscotJayKay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2010

So, one can surely see the remains of the past-big building, 10 floors, modern looks for the 1980's, ... but when you enter inside you can see all the opposite. Modern interior, great service, polite staff - extremely polite staff. Location - just a few steps from the beach. Food all that one can imagine. Good hairdresser, good wellness area, they even have a dentist who is very good and cheap. Rooms are nice, but you won't spend a lot of time there. All in all, very good hotel to spend a vacation there!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juzba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2010

I visited the hotel for one week's holiday. The exterior is not attractive but please do not let that detract from the wonderful interior and the equally wonderful staff. All the staff I came across were very polite and more than helpful.

The room was excellent, I was at the end of a corridor so had nobody passing my room however I didnt hear any noise from other rooms during my stay. The room was cleaned daily and towels and bed linen changed on request, daily if you wish. The bed was very comfortable. There was an excellent balcony with a small table and 2 chairs. I overlooked the car park but the view was fine with many trees around the property.

The pool area was clean and very pleasant, towels if you need them and plenty of sun beds both around the pool and on the grass under the trees. The pool bar did great food and the bar in the foyer does wonderful cocktails at decent prices though I did find the wine quite expensive. The main restaurant caters for every taste and I couldnt fault it in the slightest, such a diverse range of foods, all fresh and delicious. I dont eat meat but there was plenty of fish and veggie options each meal. The breakfast was excellent.

The hotel is nicely placed a bit of walk into Porec but a lovely walk along a scenic pine clad route. Swimming from the rocks appears to be a great passtime though I didnt venture in to the sea. I did go on a few tours, they were all excellent. A great boat trip to Rovinj on the Santa Maria with a lovely mackerel and salad lunch though there was plenty of chicken and sausages if you wanted them. Wine was plentiful too.

I didnt attend any evening entertainment so cannot comment on that but I heard it was a fairly quiet affair. There is a wellness centre which I understand is very reasonable in price but again not something I used. I was too busy visiting Porec and surrounding places of interest.

I hope this helps anyone who may be thinking of using this hotel :)

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank bessieb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porec hotels
0.1 km away
Valamar Crystal Hotel
1.4 km away
Hotel Laguna Parentium
1.6 km away
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 km away
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
Valamar Zagreb Hotel
#6 of 33 in Porec
284 reviews
0.2 km away
Valamar Rubin Hotel
Valamar Rubin Hotel
#11 of 33 in Porec
309 reviews
1.4 km away
Laguna Molindrio Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Valamar Diamant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Valamar Diamant Hotel

Address: Brulo 1, Porec 52440, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Porec
#2 Spa Hotel in Porec
#2 Best Value Hotel in Porec
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
#4 Luxury Hotel in Porec
#6 Romantic Hotel in Porec
Price Range: RM348 - RM1,015 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Valamar Diamant Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 244
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Second to none for sports and relaxation in Porec Valamar Diamant Hotel is only a 10 minute stroll away from the historic centre of Porec. Surrounded by pine forests and pristine beaches, it offers the right balance of recreation, relaxation and exceptional buffet dining, including dietary meals. The Hotel’s recreational activities are second to none, especially when it comes to biking. It features a sports hall, outdoor pool, heated indoor pool and a wellness and beauty centre. During summer, guests can relax on nearby Brulo Beach or by the outdoor pool, walk by the sea, or take the tourist train to the centre of town. After a cycling tour, tennis match or diving lessons, a superb dining experience awaits you on the terrace of the hotel's show-cooking restaurant. When the weather is not too hot, it is the ideal time for sporting types to train. Guests can work out in our fitness centre with 40 modern machines and then relax in the steam bath, jacuzzi and large pool with geysers and waterfalls in our wellness centre. Whichever type of holiday you choose, our friendly and attentive staff will make sure you have a pleasant stay. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Valamar Diamant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Valamar Diamant Porec
Hotel Valamar Diamant
Diamant Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing