We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth the extra for the sea view”
Review of Pical Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pical Hotel
Ranked #28 of 33 Hotels in Porec
Reviewed 2 June 2010

Stayed for a week, and had a good break. Arrived at the hotel to find the seaview room that we'd paid a supplement for hadn't been allocated to us. Sorted that out with minimal fuss (apparently there were 2 rooms booked for the same surname for the same week....not quite sure we believed that) and our room was decent enough, if a little dated. No air conditioning, plus the only safe available was chargeable and near reception; many 3 star hotels would provide both facilities in the bedrooms as standard today. The room wasn't massive, but adequate. The balcony made up for it.
The hotel food was good - we don't book halfboard as a rule, but this was the only option on this occasion, so having paid for the evening meal we ate it. Breakfast and evening meal always gave a good choice, although it does get a little boring after a few days; all hot though, and plenty on offer with stocks replenished regularly. The pizza bar was good all week. The 10% discount on food & drinks for Thomsons guests was welcome.
Good size hotel swimming pool, and the sea is only 5 mins walk away (no beach). Try the land train once, but it's only a short walk to the old town.
Good value for money; think we've seen all that Porec has to offer, so unlikely to return, but would recommend the hotel.
Just keep your fingers crossed, though, that you don't get a room underneath an ignorant guest who thinks it's ok to smoke/ shout on the balcony at 6.50am in the morning....and at 1am too....

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ruthL36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (411)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 168 of 411 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2010

Not at all suitable for even slightly disabled. There are 24 stairs up to and back down from, the restaurant not a few steps. A long dark tunnel to the pool area . Bath overflowed when draining out the used water into the bathroom through the drain hole in the floor. No tea/coffee facilities in room. The rooms are " tired" . Ask for a second key or you will have to stay together 24/7. We had a noisy room party going on into the small hours near us. General location good, but dont expect a beach of sand, do visit the town, and pay a call at the water side cafe.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank doogel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2010

Just returned from a lovely week at the Pical Hotel in Porec.

It was mum and mines first trip to croatia so didnt really know what to expect and we were not in the least disappointed.

The rooms were spacious and clean.

The staff were very friendly and nothing was too much bother. Especially the Thompson rep Tanyia.

The hotel is only a 15 minute stroll from the town centre of Porec with its enchanting old town. The marina is a lovely way to spend an afternoon and then stroll back among the pine forests to the hotel in time for dinner which again is superb.

After being nervous about croatia we cannot wait to go back againl.








The

Stayed: May 2010, travelled with family
Thank juzziejuz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2010

Another last minute bargain,always fancied Croatia and we weren't dissapointed, only in the weather! missed out there. The Hotel Pical made this alot more bearable, very clean, friendly helpful staff but best of all, very good food, as the weather was so poor it was the high light some days, looking forward to meal times.Drinks are fairly expensive,you do get 10% off, if you are with Thomson holidays,which we were,.we also bought a couple bottles of wine,which we enjoyed in our room at a fraction of the hotel price.It deffinately pays to go half board.We didn't eat out at all,only had a lunch when we did a Best of Istria trip,never felt the need.I think there are some very good days out,Venice,Lake Bled in Slovenia, we couldn't do them, due to rain, also boat trips are plentiful. The local buses are worth a look at also,easy to get to Rovinj & Pula, the capital of Porec.We only had a week, which was long enough in Porec due to unusal weather conditions,it is very pretty & the people friendly.But, you do need the weather there. Probably, we went to early in the season.Hopefully will go to another resort in Croatia sometime.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank youngandsixty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2009

We stayed at the hotel Pical for two weeks commencing 22nd September. When you first arrive the hotel does not look much from the outside but is in a good location surrounded by pine trees. The inside of the hotel is very different. The staff are helpful and friendly and the hotel is very clean. The room was slightly small but we had a balcony overlooking the sea and Porec. It is well worth paying the little extra for this. The hotel is in a very quiet spot and very relaxing and quiet at the time we stayed. The reception area, bar and restaurant have all been modernised. The nice surprise was the buffet meals. We were half board which is well worth it. We only ate out once. Even if you arrive for dinner late the food is fresh and constantly replaced with good variety.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Seasonedtraveller033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Porec hotels
1.2 km away
Hotel Laguna Materada
2.6 km away
Valamar Diamant Hotel
2.4 km away
Valamar Rubin Hotel
Valamar Rubin Hotel
#12 of 33 in Porec
309 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 km away
Valamar Crystal Hotel
1.2 km away
Valamar Riviera Hotel & Residence
0.7 km away
Light All Inclusive Hotel Laguna Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pical Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pical Hotel

Address: Pical 2 | Borik bb, Porec 52440, Croatia
Phone Number:
Region: Croatia > Istria > Porec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Porec
Price Range: RM275 - RM974 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Pical Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 249
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A couples seaside hotel in Poreč that offers the sights and flavours of Istria Just minutes away from Poreč old town and surrounded by lush pine trees, the Pical hotel is tailor-made for a holiday for two. Along with a wide selection of rooms and an array of activities at the sports and tennis centre, the hotel offers congress facilities for up to 500 delegates. Chefs at the award winning show cooking restaurant will introduce you to flavours of Istria while one of the three bars will let you enjoy the sunset with a glass of the best of Istrian wine. Don't miss swimming in the hotel's 25-metre outdoor sea water pool or the all-day entertainment programme (free of charge) at the nearby Valamar Zagreb Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Pical Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pical Hotel Porec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing