We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (298)
Filter reviews
298 results
Traveller rating
121
128
28
17
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
121
128
28
17
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews every hour bunk beds pool area fish night pretty hotel old town on demand the breakfast buffet was great large suite boats run boat ride free boat main bedroom small ferry standard double room family room shower room
Filter
Updating list...
15 - 20 of 298 reviews
Reviewed 30 July 2018

We stayed in a small suite for 10 nights. Furniture was fairly basic and bathroom in real need of updating. Although we were not on the side with a view of the town we had a nice peaceful view across gardens and hotel, very good sized balcony and because of the extra room more wardrobe space than normal.

Hotel grounds well maintained and good cleanliness. The boat service, free, worked very well with just a 5 minute crossing to port of town stops, every hour. Luggage collected from boats.

We were half board. Very good breakfast choice including cook preparing eggs etc. on demand. Took us a while to realise that it was quicker to help yourself to coffee then staff came round with top ups. Evening meal system worked well, usually choice between 2 neat and 1 fish dish for main, waiter served, and wide choice of starters and deserts on self service buffet.

Day trippers come over to use the small beach area but we had no problem getting sun loungers, free to guests, and only hotel guests allowed in pool area. Our trip was in July and a lot of families with children and some childrens' entertainment was provided.

We hired bikes (behind the information centre at Dolphin port) to visit the park area, well worth a day with several beach areas and small cafes. We also visited St Andrew Island with Hotel Istra, about 15 minutes on boat, very popular with day trippers, worth seeing for a change of scene but felt more commercial/busy than Katrina.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank AJH24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaistraCroatia, Manager at Island Hotel Katarina, responded to this reviewResponded 3 August 2018

Dear Ajh24,
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We hope that you will remember the nice experience of your stay on Katarina Island, that enchanted you, and that you will honour us with your visit again.
Sincerely,
Hotel Katarina Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2018 via mobile

The island is very nice and close to Rovinj. The room was renovated and all have wonderful view to the gardens and sea. The salted pool is very clean. There are enough and comfortable sun beds. The new beach is nice. Good places to jump on the water.

Small things to improve:
Allow guests to wait in the boat.
The staff does not look happy.
The bacon in the breakfast is bad.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Gilberto M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaistraCroatia, Manager at Island Hotel Katarina, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018


Dear Gilberto,
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We hope that you will remember the nice experience of your stay on Katarina Island, that enchanted you, and that you will honour us with your visit again.
Sincerely,
Hotel Katarina Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2018

We stayed here for two nights with a group. Beautiful location about a 5 minute boat ride from the town; boats run hourly. Very quiet as it is on an island. Very nice pool, small gravel beaches, lots of areas to lounge in the sun. The restaurant had an amazing buffet for breakfast and dinner. Rooms very nice; we had a view of the town across the bay that was truly beautiful.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the town on the 4th or 5th floor.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Borden1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaistraCroatia, Manager at Island Hotel Katarina, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2018


Dear Borden,
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We hope that you will remember the nice experience of your stay on Katarina Island, that enchanted you, and that you will honour us with your visit again.
Sincerely,
Hotel Katarina Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2018 via mobile

This is a 5 star Island with 4 star buildings and 3 star facilities and service. It is desperately in need of a class operator. Can you imagine paying to pay for a towel to sit on at the pool or table tennis bats to play at the tables when you are paying £241/night for a room?
Everything is beginning to run down. The desk staff are what I call “going through the motions”.
Directly across the water they are building a HUGE hotel/marina/sea wall. 10 hours of noise/fumes per day. Finishes end of 2020.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank IuvLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaistraCroatia, Owner at Island Hotel Katarina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Dear LuvLondon,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback.
We are glad that you shared with us your opinion about the entertaiment and sports offer, and we will do our best to continue to improve and enrich our offer for the satisfaction of our guests!
We thank you one more time for this feedback and your visit, and we hope to welcome you back to our hotel very soon!

Hotel Katarina Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2018

This hotel has a lovely location with beautiful views of Rovinj. The staff is excellent and accommodating. The pool is quite impressive. The dinner menu (not included) had a choice of both buffet and ala carte. We ate there both nights and enjoyed the food and the beautiful terrace dining. There is a small ferry that runs on the hour. On.the.hour. Pay attention to that. You must stick to a plan if you want to get to town at a certain time. It returns from both port locations on the half hour, so just wait at the one closest to you when you are in town. The rooms are the only reason this lovely place lost a star. They definitely need updating and 'sparse' is probably the correct adjective. Still, the beds were comfortable and furnishings met our needs even if they were not exactly inviting.

Room Tip: We had a family room and it was quite spacious.
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michele A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaistraCroatia, Owner at Island Hotel Katarina, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2018

Dear Michele,
Thank you for the great review of our hotel! We hope that you will remember the nice experience of your stay on Katarina Island, that enchanted you, and that you will honour us with your visit again.
Sincerely,
Hotel Katarina Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews