We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth a visit if in town”
Review of Hostel Nucapacha

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hostel Nucapacha
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 October 2014

We quite enjoyed this place. It had a nice relaxed atmosphere and the pool was a nice touch. Good value for money especially with breakfast included. The internet was average and did not reach our room. Staff were friendly, kitchen was good. At one point we needed something printed and this could not be done due to the printer apparently not working which was disappointing. Also no hot water which is never okay, although in Guayaquil's climate it was somewhat bearable.

Quite a far way from town (taxi ride away) but worth staying in all the same as the the town centre is not overly nice anyway.

Room Tip: Try and get a room on the first floor as the wifi may reach your room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jack J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (122)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 122 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2014

Great neighbourhood and close to many cute bars and conveniences.
The room was clean and safe and the hostel staff were really helpful too!
Unfortunately the pool was closed when we were there, but I imagine it's PERFECT for a dip when the weather is so hot!

Room Tip: Go for the double room with a window! (the natural light is much preferred)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank mary m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2014

I was in the city for business and decided to try a hostel for a change. The room was basic but clean, the internet worked fairly well, the beer was cold and well priced, didn't get a chance to go into the pool but it was big, the staff was extremely friendly and helpful when I wanted directions around the neighborhood, and the room comes with breakfast. The shower in the shared bathroom was only cold water but the stuffy weather in Guayaquil doesn't necessarily make it a negative, but if you want a hot shower you are out of luck. There are a bunch of great places to eat around the hostel and it is fairly close to everything. I will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: Room 6 only has a window to a covered courtyard and you'll have a lightbulb shining into your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LikeBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights just passing through Guayaquil. We stayed in a double room with its own bathroom.
The hostel itself has a good vibe, friendly people and within easy walking distance to supermarkets and the main street where you can find some good restaurants (some terrible ones too, avoid Fanaticos, unless you want salt poisoning).
The rooms aren't amazing, but they are clean and comfortable with a fan and a decent bathroom. The water is temperamental, I couldn't get it to go hot but others did.
Overall I would recommend. It's not 5* but we paid $12 a night, so we got what we expected.

Stayed: September 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Emmaf0712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2014

Guayaquil was our first stop in Ecuador and this hostel didn't welcome us in the slightest! The room was appalling, poorly lit and smelt of drains. The beds were old and didn't seem clean. The staff weren't overly friendly and when we asked for another cofffee at breakfast we felt like it was far too much to ask! There was a lack of atmosphere which coupled with the poor service and facilities made this one of the worst hostels we have stayed in. The only positives were that the internet worked well and the kitchen was ok. No hot water either, although Guayaquil is warm enough that this isn't entirely necessary.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nucapacha, Owner at Hostel Nucapacha, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2014

Dear Emma.
I am truly sorry for making you get the worst impression of our city. I have located the room you guys were and we are looking into the smell you mention, although i am surprise of the old beds since the matresses are pretty new and the beds are constantly under maintenance, still we take very serious this matter since we are aware that our rooms are simple so we think that the least we can do is work really hard to keep them as clean as possible.
Breakfast, since is complementary, we are prepared to serve one per person, we hate having to charge extra for coffee, (and a lot of people find this unpolite, including us) so it might seem that we hesitate but this is only because we have to make sure we have enough in the kitchen, once we have check this, we have no problem in giving it.
I know that it does not make sense to explain this to you since you are no longer at the hostel and are probably not comming back, and I wish there was something i could to change that, however i am aware that is not possible, so i will only apologize again and thank you very much for taking the time to write us and let us know what you think. I'll make sure to take the steps to address the problems that you have mention and hopefully turn this review around into future awsome ones.
Kind Regards.
Carolina

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Guayaquil hotels
2.2 km away
Villa64
Villa64
#10 of 62 in Guayaquil
222 reviews
2.9 km away
Hotel Sander
Hotel Sander
#32 of 62 in Guayaquil
47 reviews
3.6 km away
Tomo Hostel
Tomo Hostel
#4 of 62 in Guayaquil
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 km away
Nazu City Hostel
Nazu City Hostel
#2 of 62 in Guayaquil
60 reviews
3.8 km away
Manso Boutique Guesthouse
Manso Boutique Guesthouse
#3 of 62 in Guayaquil
384 reviews
3.7 km away
Wyndham Guayaquil
Wyndham Guayaquil
#1 of 62 in Guayaquil
1,034 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostel Nucapacha? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostel Nucapacha

Address: Urdesa Central. Balsamos Sur #308, Guayaquil EQ09112, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Guayas Province > Guayaquil
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 62 Speciality Lodging in Guayaquil
Price Range: RM 55 - RM 129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
NucaPacha is Quechua and means "OUR UNIVERSE" ...And this is what our hostel means to us and more importantly, what we want to share with you, our universe, our land. We offer afordable acommodation for backpackers and travelers who enjoy a chill, peacefull and cosy place to stay in while in the city chaos. Our facilities are design to offer a friendly atmosphere where you'll feel like home. Having lots of common areas to invite all of you to feel like part of our family. Nucapacha is in Urdesa Central, a safe and quiet neighborhood, yet close to bars, restaurants, night clubs, banks and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostel Nucapacha reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing