We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay - its part of the experience”
Review of Hostal Dona Esther

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hostal Dona Esther
Ranked #5 of 33 Otavalo B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Reading the other review, yes, the rooms are small, but they are clean and functional and more importantly they are 'right', very quaint. For a stay in Otavalo The Dona Esther compliments an authentic experience. Its a perfect central location. And it has great pizza oven and restaurant, and super staff.
All very well priced.
We would recommend taking a bus out the Peguchi Falls too.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (163)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Historic colonial style hostel with friendly staff, authentic rooms with local textiles. All is clean and well organised. Advice to have dinner because that is indeed local sourced and delicious. Breakfast is fine and good.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank JLDB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

We enjoyed our stay at Dona Esther and thought the price was fair. The breakfast was very good, considering it was included in the room price. We never tried the kitchen outside of that. The staff was great, despite the language barrier we were able to communicate as much as necessary...though if you don't speak spanish it will be difficult to get advice on what to do/see/eat around Otavalo. Room was basic but clean. Only complaint would be that the internet wasn't great, we were often able to connect to the wifi but had no internet access. Usually better in the mornings.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

This hostel did not live up to our exspectations. The room was small and was not clean. The staf was not really helpfull. Their understanding of english is poor. Considering its price the hotel is expensive.

The positieve thing: the restaurant serves good food.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Theo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyOtavalo_Ecuador, Owner at Hostal Dona Esther, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay, we actually had a lot of satisfied guests these pasts weeks, but unfortunately we didn't hear any complaints from you or any other guests. Our rooms are photographed just the way they are, I don't think you saw another room on the pictures. Our staff is actually very helpful (see other comments) despite the fact that their english is not perfect; but then again I guess your spanish is not any better.
Hopefully you found the accommodation of your standards for the rest of your trip.
Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

I thought the Dona Esther was a fine value. It is a very pretty and artful interior. One block from the square. Very friendly folks. The rooms are small, but the bathrooms are small and adequate.

Repeat: stay there as it is a good value and has a local feel.

The breakfast was very western and filling.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ReedMankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyOtavalo_Ecuador, Owner at Hostal Dona Esther, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Thank you for your recommendation! We're happy you had a good stay with us. Just a small note on the rooms; the matrimonial rooms are the smaller ones, but if you like a bit more space, we have a few large twin bedded rooms, same price....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Otavalo hotels
0.1 km away
Hostal Riviera-Sucre
Hostal Riviera-Sucre
#2 of 14 in Otavalo
153 reviews
3.9 km away
Casa Mojanda
Casa Mojanda
#1 of 14 in Otavalo
228 reviews
0.2 km away
Coraza
Coraza
#7 of 14 in Otavalo
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Hotel el Indio
Hotel el Indio
#8 of 14 in Otavalo
24 reviews
6 km away
Hosteria Cabanas del Lago
3 km away
La Casa Sol Otavalo
La Casa Sol Otavalo
#1 of 1 in Peguche
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hostal Dona Esther? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hostal Dona Esther

Address: Juan Montalvo 4-44 y Bolivar, Otavalo 100450, Ecuador
Region: Ecuador > Imbabura Province > Otavalo
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 33 B&Bs / Inns in Otavalo
Price Range: RM220 - RM261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dona Esther is a small colonial style B&B in the center of Otavalo, near the famous Saturday crafts market and all other activity. With only 12 rooms and a family room for 4 on the top floor, we can keep it personal. Your room has a view on the green inner court yard, so you can take a seat outside your room and enjoy a glass of beer or wine after a day of activities. Our restaurant with a delicious and inventive menu is just downstairs, our reading room has enough books to buy or exchange and the Wifi is free for guests. A choice of breakfasts available. Restaurant closed on monday evening. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hostal Dona Esther reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing