We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$177
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Book now, pay at stay
US$40
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Flying Donkey(Otavalo)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (173)
Filter reviews
173 results
Traveller rating
81
61
24
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
81
61
24
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgreat pizzawood ovencentral courtyardan excellent restaurantcolonial stylepretty courtyardon site restaurantwithin easy walking distancethird floorloved this hotelshort walkenjoyed our stayperfect locationstayed for nightsrooms are smalllovely hotelbeds were comfortable
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 173 reviews
Reviewed 5 October 2017

Reading the other review, yes, the rooms are small, but they are clean and functional and more importantly they are 'right', very quaint. For a stay in Otavalo The Dona Esther compliments an authentic experience. Its a perfect central location. And it has great pizza oven and restaurant, and super staff.
All very well priced.
We would recommend taking a bus out the Peguchi Falls too.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank gary h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2017 via mobile

Historic colonial style hostel with friendly staff, authentic rooms with local textiles. All is clean and well organised. Advice to have dinner because that is indeed local sourced and delicious. Breakfast is fine and good.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Thank JLDB007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2017

We enjoyed our stay at Dona Esther and thought the price was fair. The breakfast was very good, considering it was included in the room price. We never tried the kitchen outside of that. The staff was great, despite the language barrier we were able to communicate as much as necessary...though if you don't speak spanish it will be difficult to get advice on what to do/see/eat around Otavalo. Room was basic but clean. Only complaint would be that the internet wasn't great, we were often able to connect to the wifi but had no internet access. Usually better in the mornings.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aric J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

This hostel did not live up to our exspectations. The room was small and was not clean. The staf was not really helpfull. Their understanding of english is poor. Considering its price the hotel is expensive.

The positieve thing: the restaurant serves good food.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Theo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyOtavalo_Ecuador, Owner at Hotel Dona Esther, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2017

I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay, we actually had a lot of satisfied guests these pasts weeks, but unfortunately we didn't hear any complaints from you or any other guests. Our rooms are photographed just the way they are, I don't think you saw another room on the pictures. Our staff is actually very helpful (see other comments) despite the fact that their english is not perfect; but then again I guess your spanish is not any better.
Hopefully you found the accommodation of your standards for the rest of your trip.
Wendy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2017 via mobile

I thought the Dona Esther was a fine value. It is a very pretty and artful interior. One block from the square. Very friendly folks. The rooms are small, but the bathrooms are small and adequate.

Repeat: stay there as it is a good value and has a local feel.

The breakfast was very western and filling.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank ReedMankin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyOtavalo_Ecuador, Owner at Hotel Dona Esther, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Thank you for your recommendation! We're happy you had a good stay with us. Just a small note on the rooms; the matrimonial rooms are the smaller ones, but if you like a bit more space, we have a few large twin bedded rooms, same price....

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews