We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (28)
Filter reviews
28 results
Traveller rating
10
13
3
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
10
13
3
1
1
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 28 reviews
Reviewed 26 July 2017

Great place to stay in Otovalo. Very close to Plaza del Ponchos for the market. Staff is friendly and some speak some english. Nice room, nice common area. Market on the corner of the square for necessities and beverages if you are so inclined. Make sure if you are staying here to specify Hotel El Indio. There is an El Indio Inn (Owned by same people I think) Set up transport to Quito airport for us for 4. Good driver.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank koho1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2017 via mobile

The hotel is in a great location next to the main Otavalo market. The staff is very friendly and helpful, and the rooms while basic are clean and functional. There are some nice open areas to sit and relax. The rooms at the back in the newer wing are much better and very quiet, while the older rooms are on the street which can be noisy. The Internet is great, and the showers nice and hot. Breakfast is included, which was good except for the terrible coffee!

Date of stay: January 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 97PaulS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 November 2016 via mobile

We stayed in room 403. It has a balcony overlooking the Plaza de Ponchos and the street, so plenty of light- also plenty of noise at night. Our room was right next to the place they kept the cleaning supplies etc and on Sunday at 6:30 am someone was rummaging in there. So much for sleep....
On Saturday morning we went to the Féria de Animales and Artisanal Market and when we came back hoping to take a shower, there was no hot water. In fact when we let it run hoping the water would warm up, the pressure just turned off. The bathroom also had that awful 3rd world plumbing smell.
The hotel does not offer breakfast (the only hotel in our 5 weeks in South America that didn't). The WiFi works ok but there is nothing to watch on TV.
Really can't recommend this place.

Date of stay: November 2016
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Francoise1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2016 via mobile

Great place to stay. Not far from the market and great eating places close by. Great ownership as well, very friendly atmosphere! I would highly recommend to anyone coming this way. Nice clean rooms and buildings. Fantastic views. Give this place a look if you are booming a stay in Otavalo. You won't be disappointed.

Date of stay: June 2016
Thank JasonKeys20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2016

For the price (we paid $81 for a double and single bed) it was nothing special. This price did include a standard breakfast, but the room was super simple--two beds, one desk chair, built-in shelving/drawers, and an '80s TV with remote. The bathroom was standard. The hot water was simply warm, even with no cold water turned on. The positives would be that is was clean and in a great location.

Room tip: Our room was right next to the restaurant so it was loud in the morning.
Date of stay: May 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shelleyf76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews