We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
neo2122
Singapore, Singapore

Very basic and unforgettable experience

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Jan 2013
The hotel is very old and not well kept. I was brought here by my tour operator. There is a rear section of the hotel that seems to be in construction but abandoned for a long time. The furniture in the room is very old and so are the limited appliances provided.

There is no pool in sight except the one under construction.

The bathroom is huge which makes it feel cold and airy. Although there is the bathtub, I did not see the attraction to use it. The water pressure on the shower was weak and hot water was either intermittent or disappears suddenly which is not good during the winter months! I was shivering throughout my bath!

Mosquitoes are of course a plenty around the property. There is also a large dog which always comes up to you that probably belongs to the owners.

I will definitely not return to this hotel!
Date of stay: December 2012
Room Tip: Request a room near the reception
Trip type: Travelled with family
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
1.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
1.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
3.0 of 5 bubblesService
2.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Nearby Hotels
Hotel ground
  • Priceline
  • eDreams
26.3 km from Palm Valley Hotel
Free parking
Pool
  • eDreams
  • Vio.com
  • Agoda.com
26.3 km from Palm Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
dining hall; could use a little sprucing up
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
26.8 km from Palm Valley Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Easy and fast booking
    25.2 km from Palm Valley Hotel
      28.9 km from Palm Valley Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      • Lol.travel
      • Vio.com
      30.0 km from Palm Valley Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Free parking
      • eDreams
      25.7 km from Palm Valley Hotel
      Free Wifi
      Pool
       ไกด์ท้องถิ่น ชาวเบดูอิน นอกเหนือจากทำหน้าที่ขับรถพาเที่ยว ยังทำหน้าที่ ประกอบอาหารและ ทำ ที่พักชั่วคราวให้ด้วย ไม่ได้ มี เป็น กระโจมนอนแบบหรูหรา แต่เป็นที่พักชั่วคราวแบบเรียบง่ายแต่ ไม่ทำลายธรรมชาติ ขยะทั้งหมด จะเก็บกลับ ไม่ทิ้งร่องรอย หรือเพิ่ม มลพิษ ให้กับ พื้นที่เลย ครับ
        30.0 km from Palm Valley Hotel
        Get rewarded with One Key
        • Hotels.com
        • Vio.com
        View more hotels in Bawiti
        Reviews (7)
        Filter reviews
        7 results
        Traveller rating
        0
        1
        2
        3
        1
        Traveller type
        Time of year
        LanguageAll languages
        Traveller rating
        0
        1
        2
        3
        1
        See what travellers are saying:
        Selected filters
        Filter
        Updating list...
        1 - 6 of 7 reviews
        Reviewed 21 January 2012

        I stayed here for only one two nights thankfully, the hotel is quite far from town so not a good option if you don't have private transport. The lobby looks nice but the grounds are overgrown and unkept. The reason I chose this hotel was because Zahi Hawass recommended it and I wanted to see the room he stays in, so at least I fulfilled my wish.
        The hotel appeared to be virtually empty except for the lobby where staff watched the satellite TV with a couple of other male guests but it was always tuned to arabic channels..
        My room was spacious, right next door to Zahi's suite. It had dated wrought iron furniture and the bathroom was very old and really needs updating. My room was quiet and although the linen was clean, the room was dusty maybe because it was not very busy?
        The breakfast was typical Egyptian – fuul, salad, boiled eggs, bread etc the service was poor in the restaurant. I ate one evening meal here as it was included in my package, it was a huge serve but lots of meat - bbq chicken, steak, kofta etc and I had asked for vegetarian! I did enjoy the lentil soup, the salad breads and dip, however I was very sick that evening??
        My room had a small old TV which only had two local channels both in Arabic. There is internet connection in the lobby, they will give you the cable to connect to your laptop.
        The worst part of my stay was being bitten alive by mosquitoes in my room, they are silent assasins !!! make sure you bring a spray for your room as well as for your body.
        This hotel is alright for a night but personally I would not stay here again.

        Room tip: Zahi Hawass suite is Number 1.
        Date of stay: October 2011
        • Trip type: Travelled solo
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        2  Thank Nefertari
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 14 November 2011

        We were a group of 5 families went to this hotel through our travel agent "Select Egypt".
        While doing the check in, some of our kids went over the roof of the receiption, and we heared a very load voice from a man saying that he is the owner and we are not welcome in "His" hotel and he ordered his employee to cancel our reservation.
        Actually I visited many and many hotels in Egypt, Europe, and USA but this is the first time in my life to face this situation and see a hotel kick-out some guests with a previous reservation.

        The travel agent "Select Egypt" decided to do a complain aganest this hotel and to mark it in their site as "NOT RECOMMENDED".

        Finally, we moved with our bus to "Sand Rose" hotel, which is very nice, simple, clean, and quit hotel. It's more than enough for two nights before we started our two days safari and camping in the wight desert , which was unforgetable trip full of activities. Visit "Select Egypt" site to see the full program.

        Room tip: Another Hotel ;)
        Date of stay: November 2011
        • Trip type: Travelled with family
          • Service
        2  Thank Wael189
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 26 January 2016
        Google Translation

        Date of stay: April 2015
        • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
          • Value
          • Location
          • Service
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 16 July 2014
        Google Translation

        Date of stay: September 2013
        • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Service
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        Reviewed 28 April 2011
        Google Translation

        Date of stay: December 2010
        • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
          • Value
          • Location
          • Sleep Quality
          • Rooms
          • Cleanliness
          • Service
        This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
        View more reviews