We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Once in a lifetime experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Hewlett Harbor, NY
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Once in a lifetime experience!”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

Tahiti isn't an easy trip from NY but totally worth the travel time! I've been to many Caribbean islands as well as Hawaii and nothing compares to staying at this resort in Moorea, Tahiti. Moorea is an island a short distance from Bora Bora and probably a lot like Hawaii was years ago before it became more commercial. The setting looks like a postcard it's so beautiful and the staff at the Sofitel couldn't have been nicer. The food was only good (not great) and the food & drinks there are very pricey - I recommend bringing your own bottles of liquor from the duty free shop. We were there with a group of people from my husband's company (although this was a pleasure trip- this isn't a place to conduct business!) and the resort had no trouble accommodating us. I used the spa twice and the massages were wonderfully relaxing. The pool area was beautiful and the ocean was warm and clear. This was truly a trip of a lifetime!

Room Tip: don't miss taking one of the unbelievable "bungalows" that are over the ocean! They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JodyHewlettHarbor_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,780 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,723
    719
    200
    86
    52
See reviews for
221
2,149
47
22
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (423)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Princeton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

We we welcomed at the front desk with juice and lei and they
Took care of our luggage. They surprised us with cake in our anniversary. So generous of them. They really know if we go all
The way there to celebrate any occasion how to make it special. We loved our bungalow. 10 feet away from beach. The beach is
Very shallow
And
Full of beautiful fish. You
Can snorkel
Right thee. Overall excellent place to
Stay.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank avnis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tempe
Level Contributor
155 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 February 2012

This hotel is located on Temae beach, which is a great beach. The snokeling is great, and there are plenty of fish and coral because it's protected. Watch out for the currents as they can be strong. We are good swimmers, and use fins and it was still hard to swim. The hotel seems to be nice, we used their parking lot and walked through the grounds to get to the beach. However it seemed to be too rich for us, so we will never stay here.

Room Tip: Get a bungalow near the beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank tutana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
illinois
Level Contributor
106 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2012

OMG! amazing and a dream come true! Went to Tahiti, Moorea and Bora Bora. This was far the best. We had a bungalow over the water, every morning on the patio was like a huge aquarium, each hut has it's own entry way into the water. The room was gorgeous, spacey and elegant.
We had lunch daily at the bar. Very pricey! No where near the resort to walk or shop. The resort was it. Take the tours of the island! We had a fabulous time! The scenery is out of the movies. Can't even make this stuff up.
This is not a party place, bars are not open late. Nor is there dancing or bar atmosphere. More like a total relaxation get away.

Room Tip: For some reason they push the beach bungalows! If you go all the way there and not stay on the water...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mzzlol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Maharepa
4.7 km away
Manava Beach Resort & Spa - Moorea
19.6 km away
Manava Suite Resort Tahiti
5.7 km away
Club Bali Hai Moorea Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 km away
Hotel Kaveka
Hotel Kaveka
#4 of 4 in Maharepa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 285 reviews
16.0 km away
Hotel Hibiscus
Hotel Hibiscus
#2 of 2 in Papetoai
4.0 of 5 bubbles 648 reviews
8.6 km away
Hilton Moorea Lagoon Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort

Property: Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort
Address: B.P. 28, Moorea, Maharepa 98728, French Polynesia
Phone Number:
Region: French Polynesia > Society Islands > Moorea > Maharepa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Maharepa
Price range (per night): RM1,536 - RM3,380
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort is located on the North-East Coast of the island, just 5 minutes away from Temae airport, Vaiare ferries docks, the 18 holes international golf course designed by Jack Nicklaus®. This landmark hotel is built on the longest and most beautiful white sand beach of the island, within a protected marine area maintained by the CRIOBE®.From this hotel, guests have a unique panoramic view on the lagoon and the island of Tahiti. The hotel offers a wide range of accommodation with a total of 113 Luxury Bungalows located in the gardens, directly on the beach or over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has the only Luxury Beach Bungalows on Moorea that have unobstructed views of the island of Tahiti, located directly on the beach. Historically, this hotel is the first of the island that built bungalows over the water. Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora has now the largest Luxury Overwater Bungalows in Moorea (83 sq. meters).Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora also features 1 Luxury Villa with 2 bedrooms (150 sq.meters). It has 2 bathrooms, 1 lounge, 1 deck and 1 outdoor jacuzzi®, with a direct access into the lagoon and panoramic views of the island of Tahiti.Dine in Polynesian authenticity at the Pure restaurant with outdoor terrace dining offering complimentary and traditional dance shows every night or choose the barefoot elegance of K restaurant, gourmet dining, feet in the sand experience, with a unique dance show.For light snacks and exotic cocktails or premium alcohols while admiring the view, try the Vue bar overlooking the infinity pool, the lagoon and Tahiti with weekly live concerts. For light snacks and exotic cocktails during a farniente day on the beach, only steps away from the lagoon, try the Beach bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Hotel Maharepa
Sofitel Moorea Beach Resort
Sofitel Maharepa
Maharepa Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing