We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,281)
Filter reviews
3,281 results
Traveller rating
2,061
827
228
101
64
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,061
827
228
101
64
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgarden bungalowour honeymoonfishfrench polynesialuxury overwater bungalowvue barrented a caroutdoor showerdinner buffetbeach bartravel agentlagoon viewbeautiful propertysnorkel geardream come trueentire stayclear water
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 3,281 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2018

If you're going to Bora Bora or any french polynesia place, you HAVE to make sure you are in an OVERWATER Bungalow. Don't be fooled by titles such as "Beach Bungalow" -- it's not the same. The overwater bungalows are amazing. It was so gorgeous. And the snorkeling (with gear provided by the hotel) was so cool.

That said, this place gets 4 stars instead of 5 because of issues with the food and service. They have a buffet breakfast, which is nice... however, there was a long black hair baked right into a biscuit one morning. On a different day, we had dinner at the bar at the K restaurant in hotel... there was a black hair on my margarita pizza! I saw it immediately when the waitress set the plate down. She made me a new pizza and offered me fruit juice as compensation. Fruit juice is not proper compensation for hair laying on top of food. The proper response should have been to make me a new pizza and not charge me for it. I didn't finish my pizza and took some of it to go. The waitress said I can come back later and the kitchen would warm it up for me. When I came back the next day to get it warmed up the bar tender was really rude and said "this is a business. we can't just be warming up your food." Obviously tourists are paying thousands of dollars for this vacation, I expected better food and service.

However, view and experience of an overwater bungalow is amazing. It's a once in a lifetime experience. Don't be worried about plumbing etc., it works seemlessly. I highly recommend this place for a honeymoon or something similar. There really isn't much to do at night. No night life and nothing to do in town. You have from 7am - 4pm to enjoy the water and sun (Note: sun seems to "set" earlier because once it gets past the mountain it gets abruptly dark).

Room Tip: ask for a bungalow further out on the water. P.S. - bring your own alcohol in a checked bag. It is VERY expensive.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Krista P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2018

Ia ora na and thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort.
We are delighted to have been able to welcome you and share with you our corner of paradise!
We will take your feedback into consideration in order to improve. We hope to welcome you again very soon!
Mauruuru!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 August 2018

The Sofitel is nice. It should actually be a 3.5 to 3.75 but I cant rate it like that. It is a luxury resort in an incredible location with some really great things going, but misses the ball in a couple areas.

The Good: Location is great, near the airport, a great snorkeling reef right off the beach, an overlook just above the hotel, pearl shops within walking distance, rooms are nice and for the most part clean, concierge team was extremely helpful, the staff is very friendly, great views Tahiti.

The Not as Good: The food is average, although the staff is nice the service itself wasn't great (outside of the concierge), had some events at the hotel which made things noisy and cluttered, the card system for towels was inconvenient, some of the common areas could use some attention to the cleaning.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the main pool and restaurant
  • Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Gerardo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Ia ora na and thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort.
We are delighted to have been able to welcome you and share with you our corner of paradise!
We will take your feedback into consideration in order to improve. We hope to welcome you again very soon!
Mauruuru!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

The grounds of the hotel are absolutely beautiful. The hotel sits on a wonderful stretch of the lagoon with a long, expansive beach with wonderful views of Tahiti. The hotel is extremely quiet and peaceful. The views, grounds, and tranquility beat the Hilton. They have a wonderful Polynesian show with food prepared in a traditional Polynesian underground oven on Wednesdays (perhaps Saturdays too?).

Now for the not so good. Having stayed at the Hilton and Sofitel, the service is lacking compared to the Hilton. We sat at the bar during lunch for >20 minutes with nobody coming to take our order. We had a similar experience each day at breakfast where we had to flag someone down after sitting for several minutes and not receiving any coffee. There is 'island time' and there is sub-standard service; what we experienced at the restaurant and, in particular, the bar was the latter. As for the food, most traveling to FP receive the complimentary breakfast buffet. The food was fine but the Hilton's breakfast is much better. I cant speak to the quality of food at dinner, as we ate off the resort each night save the one night during the Polynesian show. We were in a OWB and the rooms at the Sofitel are very nice, if a bit lower in quality than the Hilton. The hotel does need an update to its public restrooms. The bathrooms in the restaurant/bar area of the hotel were not clean. Upon leaving, we needed to use the showers in the lobby and they were pretty disgusting. Add this to the fact that we know our room was not occupied when we left (as our luggage was accidentally taken back to our room) and we were told that a late check-out was impossible left a pretty poor impression. If I recall correctly from our stay at the Hilton five years ago, we were given 30 minutes in a spare room to shower before leaving. They offered this to all guests as a courtesy and I'd recommend that the Sofitel look into doing the same.
Overall, we had a very nice time at the hotel but would only return if the Hilton had no availability. That being said, the shortcomings of the hotel didnt spoil our time or impact our ability to appreciate the wonderful atmosphere at the Sofitel.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank jfmiii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Ia ora na and thank you for sharing your wonderful experience at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort.
We are delighted to have been able to welcome you and share with you our corner of paradise!
We will take your feedback into consideration in order to improve. We hope to welcome you again very soon!
Mauruuru!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018 via mobile

The Sofitel is truly a 5 star Resort. We stayed here for 7days on our honeymoon in an Overwater Luxury Bungalow. A daily breakfast buffet was included with the room along with 2beers, 2 sodas, 2 waters and 2 juices. We also received nightly turn down service. With the honeymoon package, they provided a bottle of Brut champagne, a T-shirt for the groom and a sarong wrap for the bride.

On our wedding night we ate at the K restaurant and received top of the line service from Pedro. We ate at the breakfast buffet every morning and Heinz, the egg guy, was so delightful. Bryce was so helpful to me when I experienced a mishap with my wedding dress on the golf cart. All of the employees were so nice and friendly.
The only thing we would change about our stay was the quality of the food. The food was never hot and the drinks were never cold.

The hotel offers some free activities including snorkeling, paddle boating and canoeing free of charge. These activities are available at the Dive Center. We also participated in some excursions including the aquascope tour and snorkeling with motorized water scooters, both of which were tons of fun.

We ate at some local restaurants, Ruddy's, Moorea Beach Cafe and a Chinese restaurant, they all offer free shuttle service from the hotel. The food was delicious at all of them, however very expensive. If you rent a car you must stop at Allo pizza, it was delicious as well.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mayde2travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Ia ora na!
Thank you for this beautiful sharing of experience, and what a "magnificent" praise for Sofitel Moorea! We are very touched by your comment, all our team thanks you for your stay with us, come back soon! Mauruuru!
Thank you for sharing your experience at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora and see you soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2018 via mobile

The Sofitel is absolutely amazing. From the very moment you check in to the second you leave, you are treated like royalty. Every single staff member we encountered was incredible! The hotel is stunning! The beach bungalows are huge and so nice and the OWB’s were gorgeous. Definitely the BEST hotel on the entire island!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank delaniford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didier L, Directeur général at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Ia Orana !
Thank you for your comments following your stay at Sofitel Moorea Ia Ora Beach Resort.
It is with great pleasure that we receive your compliments. Also, we will not fail to share your appreciations with all our teams. Your satisfaction is the greatest reward for our ambassadors who work day after day to offer you irreproachable service.
We look forward to welcoming you again and ask you to believe, Delanisue, in the expression of our best feelings. Mauruuru

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews