We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved AKR..Didn't like the Noseeems(insects)”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anthony's Key Resort
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 5 February 2009

I stayed at AKR with my husband for a dive vacation. Everything about the resort was amazing. The romm on the key, the service, the diving was ok. Had to go to the other side of the island which was very rough for th ebetter diving.Loved going out into the open waters with the dolphins!!!!We are considering taking our 15 year old daughter back this spring but I have a big concern When we were there, they were infested with Noseeems(insects)!!!!! We were eaten alive even with military issues bug spray!!! I am trying to find out if they still have this problem because my daughter will FREAK out!!!!! She would just be hanging out while we dive. I hope I can get some info from some recent visitors!!!

Thanks!!!!!

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank KFGM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,145)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

967 - 971 of 1,145 reviews

Reviewed 13 January 2009

I work for Caribbean Travel + Life magazine and have stayed at several "dive" hotels, but this one stood out from the rest. You'll enjoy the casualties and the luxuries of the property. This is definitely a place for, divers, dolphin lovers and eco friendly tourists. And you’ll feel safe knowing they have a clinic on property. I can’t say enough about this fabulous dive resort!!! Thumbs up to AKR.

Stayed: November 2008, travelled on business
1  Thank dsmith82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2009

Anthony's Key Resort is a real divers resort offering all in packages including unlimited diving and meals. The resort is located at the west side of the island close to west end which has some nice bars. A taxi would get you there in 6 minutes. The pros: beautiful location with superior cabins located on a little key close to the mainland. A boatservice gets you over. Diving is professional and the package is a good deal offering you a lot of diving for a reasonable price. Boots are big and all equipment is good. They also have dolphins in the resort where you can snorkel or dive with or have an encounter. Although it is one of the nicest dolphin encounters I have seen and far better than the ones offered in Mexico around Playa del Carmen, it does feel a bit like a tourist trap. Every morning busloads of cruisepassangers are dropped of. Also positive: Most people in the resort are divers so it was nice and quite at the pool. My husband is a diver at was very happy with the dives he made.The negs: the food is very basic, don't expect any high cuisine but rice and beans kind of stuff. The cabins: we had a superior cabin (nr 21) overlooking the bay and the mainland with a private deck over the water. Definitaly book a superior cabin unless you like bugs, heat and are the survival type. The basic cabins don't have airco, and some of them are located on the hills between the forest - bugs garanteed. Also the superior cabins are very different in terms of location: some of them very good others are on the cay between the bushes and hardly have a view. Some cabins have a private deck, others have to share the deck with 1 or 2 other cabins. Overall we had a nice vacation and with the offer "second at half price" that we booked, we felt we got value for money.

Stayed: January 2009
1  Thank bZita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 December 2008

Great diving, food, staff, boats and room. I really liked the fish presentation, and will be back to the resort again in 2009.

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank dozerd4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2008

This is a wonderful place to stay, plenty to do and the food is great! We stayed in an overwater hut and you don’t realize from the web site just how big the bungalow is, huge! We had two queen size beds, a large dressing room and an over sized bathroom. It was very romantic and many evenings were spent on our deck watching the dolphins and sunset.
Let’s talk about the diving, well planned out, careful and lots to see. I was glad safety was a number one concern, yet if you wanted to go off on your own you could. Dive your limits!! Wrecks, coral and fish, what more could you ask for.
This is not your plain old dive resort, not only do they feed you, take you diving, give you a 4 star bungalow, but you also get entertainment to keep you on your toes. Dolphins to visit any time you want, shore diving, swimming in a pool and beach swimming, snorkeling, horseback riding, kayaking, and the BBQ on Wednesday, and a trip to a private island to spend half a day eating swimming, snorkeling and hiking.
This vacation is made for any level of diver and non diver. See you at Anthony’s again.

  • Stayed: March 2007, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank diver01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sandy Bay
6.9 km away
Grand Roatan Caribbean Resort
0.9 km away
Tranquilseas Eco Lodge and Dive Center
0.8 km away
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
Mayoka Boutique Hotel
#4 of 5 in Sandy Bay
213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 km away
Barefoot Cay
Barefoot Cay
#1 of 5 in French Harbour
615 reviews
6.7 km away
Infinity Bay Spa and Beach Resort
2.9 km away
Seagrape Plantation Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anthony's Key Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anthony's Key Resort

Address: Anthony's Key, Sandy Bay, Roatan IB3107, Honduras
Phone Number:
Region: Honduras > Bay Islands > Roatan > Sandy Bay
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Sandy Bay
Price Range: RM2,164 - RM2,596 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anthony's Key Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tucked away on the island of Roatan, Anthony's Key Resort is a legendary tropical wonderland where lush greenery rustles in breezy sea air. Pristine beaches rim turquoise waters. And wooden bungalows perched above a tranquil lagoon offer guests incredibly scenic views and a sense of perfect disconnection from everyday life back at home. For over 40 years, this family-run paradise has been home to divers in search of unspoiled waters, and lovers of natural adventure in all its forms.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Expedia so you can book your Anthony's Key Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anthony`s Key Hotel Sandy Bay
Anthonys Key Sandy Bay
Anthonys Key Hotel Roatan
Anthonys Key Resort
Anthony's Key Resort Honduras/Sandy Bay, Roatan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing