We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (410)
Filter reviews
410 results
Traveller rating
267
81
30
17
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
267
81
30
17
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the salt water pool ocean front the owner infinity pool land's end resort great drinks laid back every morning monkey lala west bay half moon bay min walk restaurant bar learn how bring bug spray beautiful ocean place is great
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 410 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2018

My husband and I were staying close-by Land's End and ended up coming to spend many afternoons at the lovely little resort on the iron shore. Land's End is located on a quiet road just out of West End (5 min walk). It has access to the water via some stairs and the snorkeling off the iron shore is amazing. There are lots of loungers to relax on, a large infinity salt-water (fresh from the ocean!) pool, a nice shower, clean bathrooms and a lot of shade too. The Happy Hour special of 5 Salvas for $8 is a real bargain and we often would come for Happy Hour and to view the gorgeous sunsets. We ate a couple of meals here too and although there was a bit of a wait for our food it was tasty when it arrived. The portions are big and the prices reasonable. The owner Dwayne is a very pleasant man and I enjoyed our chats. His staff are all very nice and the service was good.
I would highly recommend spending time at Land's End Resort!!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank esmimisue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirza W, Director de Recepción at Lands End, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Hello,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our resort.

Along with the staff we are so happy you enjoyed spending time at Lands End and hope to have you back in the near future.
We try our very best to give a great service and meet your expectation with our food and specials of the day. We apologize for the wait and this issue will be addressed with the rest of our team.

Kind regards,

Lands End team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Spent two days here on our return from Utila. Room was clean and bed comfortable. Staff was helpful and attentive. Pool was clean, sun deck had pleanty of lounge chairs and the view from both is incredible. Snorkelling off the front of the hotel was very good. Location close to West Bay was good, just a short walk.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank willsl848546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirza W, Director de Recepción at Lands End, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time out of your day to share your experience at our resort.

Along with the staff we are happy you enjoyed your stay and hope to have you back in the near future.

Kind regards,
Lands End team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

The location is stunning, just outside the hussle of West End but close enough to walk to it however for those with mobility problems I wouldnt recommend this property unless you use transport as the road approaching has many potholes and is uneven.

There is a great breeze due to the position of the hotel which is lovely and cooling. Snorkelling can be done from the hotel steps which give you direct access into the sea, care needs to be taken on windy days though unless you are a confident swimmer.

The sea water pool was fantastic, cleaned and refilled every couple of days.

The layout of the hotel is lovely with many areas for relaxing and places to get away from the hubbub of hotel living. Free Wifi provided.

The cleanliness of our room was of a very high standard and the cleaning staff should be commended as they really do go the extra mile.

Now for the disappointing bits for us; the room we had provided us with a 32inch TV but not a fridge, this is basic in all of the hotels we have stayed in throughout SE Asia and it seemed to us priorities were a little odd where a TV is provided above a fridge.
In addition we didnt have a wardrobe or drawers in our room which again seemed odd to not provide as a basic amenity, good job we went prepared with clothes hangers and were able to make use of the curtain poles.

To be fair to Lands End I have just reread the description of the room we booked via the booking agent which does state wardrobe but no mention of a fridge so my fault for not reading properly.

We only ate breakfast there and what we had was ok but someone needs to define the continental breakfast option as it was very very different to what I would consider a continental breakfast ;-) All of the breakfasts we had came with complimentary fruit which was a lovely addition and thoughtful touch.

The overall issue we had was with the bar staff who appeared not to be there to provide a service but to hang out with their phones and chat with friends, the attitude we received on occasions was that it was a chore to actually serve you.

There was no consistency with guests arriving, some guests recevied a welcome drink on arrival some did not, we fell into the 'did nots' group. Glasses and bottles from the evening before were often left around the hotel grounds and not cleared in the morning but left until late in the day before being removed, this seemed to depend on who was working.

Although we started a tab during the day we were often asked to clear it as staff finished their shift, we felt this was inconvenient as we were staying at the hotel and would have preferred to pay our bill when we had finished our day around the pool in our time and not theirs. As this happened several times we stopped opening a tab.

All in all the bar / restaurant service was below what we expected with the exception of one member of staff and we feel that this let down the hotel and impacted on our experience of Lands End which would have been a lot more positive if some of the staff had lived up to the beautiful location.

Room Tip: If you want a fridge or wardrobe DONT opt for the bungalow with garden view
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank dwyall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirza W, Director de Recepción at Lands End, responded to this reviewResponded 11 April 2018

Greetings,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our resort and for pointing out ways that would have made your stay better.

We are delighted that you enjoyed snorkeling, swimming in our salt water pool and the great island breeze.

Regarding having a refridgerator in your room, it is gladly installed upon request.
We are sorry you did not receive a welcoming cocktail, since at the time you were here, it had just been implemented. (Before we did not give welcome cosktails to our guest).
We humbly apologize for our bar staff attitude, this goes against our policy and what we believe in. This issue has been addressed and changes has been to help avoid situations like this from happening.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, we can now grow from this and avoid future issues.

Kind regards,

Lands end team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Great location. Best view and pool on island. Be prepared for locals and children even though it says ADULT ONLY. they are allowed to swim all day and take up all the few beach chairs if they buy a drink. Rooms outdated and old linens. Pillow had stains and smelled like body odor. Replacement did also. Not much time spent in room. Restaurant is just ok. Many local places to eat. Best sunsets in the island and snorkeling for strong swimmers off rocks. A few staff members were excellent. Request refrigerator and safe for your room. Stay beachfront also. Bring bug spray. Can’t beat the price just don’t expect a resort but a budget motel feel with great views.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Roanne67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirza W, Director de Recepción at Lands End, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Hello Roanne,

Thank you for sharing your experience at our resort and pointing out everything that would have made your stay much better.

Lands End Resort is not only known for having ocean front rooms, but for having easy access to off shore snorkeling and diving and for having the ONLY salt water pool in the West side area. Therefore, we not only have locals but foreigners visit us from different areas of the island.

We apologize for not meeting your expectations when it comes to the rooms. We will address this issue as soon as possible.

Kind regards,

Lands End team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2018 via mobile

This place is great. On the quiet end of West End just a short walk off the main street. Has a beautiful big pool overlooking the ocean and a big deck with lots of lounge chairs. Also has a pool bar and restaurant. Gorgeous sunsets and a big wide view of the ocean unlike the more crowded locations directly in West End. Doesn't have a beach but that hardly mattered with the short walk to West End. Some people snorkeled off the rocks in front of the hotel.
Super friendly staff and very nice rooms. We got an ocean front room and it had a big beautiful balcony and hammock. I don't want to leave!!!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank blakeali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tirza W, Director de Recepción at Lands End, responded to this reviewResponded 1 April 2018

Dear Blake,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at our resort.

We are so happy you got to enjoy your stay and we invite you back soon to catch more breathtaking sunsets.

Lands End team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews