We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kaivalyam Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kaivalyam Retreat
Ranked #2 of 176 Munnar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 March 2012

Munnar has more than its fair share of terrible places to stay but this place is definitely not one of them. The owners were fantastic and the place exudes an aura of calmness. We were on the honeymoon package and one night we were to have our room decorated. I thought this would be quite tacky so was very surprised to find the room had been beautifully decorated with flowers, petals and candles. The room itself was very nice. Large and freshly decorated. The food was also fantastic. My wife also took advantage of the morning yoga sessions. All in all I would say that this place offered the best value for money of any place we stayed in our 3 weeks in Kerala.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

625 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    539
    74
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
213
289
31
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 March 2012

My husband and I had been traveling for 4 weeks when we arrived at Kaivalyam. The retreat is set in the cool hills of the area surrounding Munnar. The cooler temperatures was a welcome relief after 4 weeks of very hot weather. The forest and plantations surrounding the retreat are beautiful! The gardeners were always working on the surrounding gardens that included many types of flowers and plants. The retreat offers a few walks that are guided. There is a cardamon plantation surround the property, this was one of the walks offered as well as a walk to the river and a walk through the tea plantations to a water fall. Yoga is offered in the early morning at 6:30 am. It is a great way to start the day in an open air yoga studio! The breakfast is also included in the price of the room. The food is vegetarian and simply delicious. Lunch and dinner are both available with the menus changing every day. The rooms were spacious and bright with an indoor/outdoor patio area. The beds were the most comfortable we have had during our 7 week trip!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ihearttravel5x2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jerusalem, Yerushalayim, Israel
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2012

This hotel was perfect and exactly what me and my boyfriend were looking for when searching for a romantic getaway in Munnar. The free yoga lessons were a fun plus we actually had no idea about when we booked! The food was also amazing (all vegetarian), and the prices even better. It was by far the best hotel we stayed in India. There is also tons of activities to do daily (walks to spice plantations, tea plantations, etc...) It is all included in the price quoted for the room. It is a bit isolated and far away from Munnar city, but if your looking for a getaway, it is exactly the correct choice.

Room Tip: choose 2nd floor rooms as have beetter view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ronitspiwak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2012

We spent a peaceful night here. After the rather bumpy approach road it was wonderful to be greeted by Harish and Anju. They make Kaivalyam really special. The rooms are large, spotless and have great balconies.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GMFLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

The quality of Kaivalyam Retreat is unbeatable. We started smiling as soon as we saw the place, so well built and designed, and in a beautiful setting, with lovely garden... But when we were shown our room we just grinned from ear to ear...Stunning! 5 star accomodation, with gorgeous balcony, at affordable prices. And such an atmosphere of peace and tranquility, a real haven.
Harish and his wife and partner run the place like a dream, and are very kind and helpful. We twice decided to climb Cockramudi, the 2nd highest peak in Kerala, leaving at 5.30 to catch the dawn rising, and both times were presented with warm cooked breakfast and lunch to take with us and to eat on the hoof, totally as if it was a delight to do... wow! It makes you feel humble.
The complementary yoga was excellent, too, and the walk down to the water through the plantation enjoyable. We extended our stay after 30 minutes of getting there, and were so glad we did.

Room Tip: They are all gorgeous... stunning!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
4.1 km away
The Leaf Munnar
The Leaf Munnar
#2 of 13 in Chithirapuram
5.0 of 5 bubbles 359 reviews
2.0 km away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#5 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
1.7 km away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 km away
The Fog Resort & Spa
The Fog Resort & Spa
#3 of 13 in Chithirapuram
4.5 of 5 bubbles 454 reviews
3.1 km away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#1 of 8 in Pothamedu
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
1.0 km away
Chandys Windy Woods
Chandys Windy Woods
#1 of 13 in Chithirapuram
5.0 of 5 bubbles 854 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaivalyam Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaivalyam Retreat

Property: Kaivalyam Retreat
Address: Opposite Workers Recreation Center | Moolakada, Pallivasal Estate, Munnar 685612, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 176 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price range (per night): RM383 - RM464
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaivalyam Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a calm and scenic surroundings, the retreat provides a destination for visitors to indulge in learning experience of holistic lifestyle with traditional Yoga and organic way of living and dining. The place is a fusion of rustic external with smooth internal space creating luxurious facilities and natural environment to enjoy and pamper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with AAE Travel Pte Ltd and Hotels.com so you can book your Kaivalyam Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaivalyam Retreat Munnar, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing