We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“five star facility with affordable price”
Review of Kaivalyam Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kaivalyam Retreat
Ranked #1 of 190 Munnar B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 October 2013

I went to munnar as a weekend gateway to escape from city life.
After checking trip advisor i have finalised to stay in kaivalyam retreat for two days.
Really the place is terrific . The resort is 7 km away from main town but that's add real beauty to the resort.
Resort located in calm / greenery location .
Dont miss the spice plantation walk to the river (really tiresome but it would be great experience).
The food served is very tasty and rooms are pristine clean. You can find the resort owner available around the clock. if you got issue , he is ready to help you always.
If possible try to go for kadhakali show near resort at 5PM.(Dont miss that ).

only -ve thing i felt is : There is no payment option using credit card. it would be great if they have card payment option while checkout.

Room Tip: Try to get luxurious bedroom and dont miss walk (trek) to river which is near resort.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ranjithkumar S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (669)
There are newer reviews for Kaivalyam Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 389 of 669 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2013

We had a lovely time at Kaivalyam. Could have done with a couple of nights more! The room was spacious, spotless and the seating area and private terrace were great for reading time. The food was delicious and very reasonable considering the quality. Did the Yoga two mornings, which was worth getting up for. Great instruction in a beautiful setting.

Took the spice plantation walk to the river and also went for a walk in the nearby tea fields. More lovely views and clean air!

The staff were terrific. One of our party was unwell when we arrived with food poisoning and they had her right within a day, with specially prepared a soup and husk drink. Thankfully she was then able to enjoy their yummy food for the remainder of our stay.

Would happily stay here again and if I find myself in Kerala in the future Kaivalyam will definitely be on the itinerary!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllieK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2013

I spent 9 days here, and loved it despite the fact that it was pouring rain the last 6 days of my stay (of course the sun came out the day I left!).
The retreat is located in an absolutely beautiful setting, around 7 km from the town. I would definitely choose this setting over the town, which is very busy and not so charming in itself. I was surprised by how nice the rooms are; well kept, roomy, and tasteful, with a balcony overlooking the spice plantation. In the room, hot water was abundant, English language channels on TV, and a hot water kettle with tea/coffee for the room. The common area, where meals and tea are served, is roomy and comfortable. This is also where you find wi-fi. Meals were great; breakfast, which was probably the largest breakfast I have been served anywhere, (mainly Indian food which I prefer, with fresh fruit, good coffee and toast) was always excellent.
The staff was helpful, taking me on trips to town when I needed to shop, dropping me for walks through the tea plantations, and guiding me on a walk through the spice gardens.
The owner gives yoga classes at no extra charge in the lovely open air yoga pavilion.
This is one of my favorite stays in India, and I hope to go back when it isn't raining most every day!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sh1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2013

We stayed 2 days at this retreat, and we wished we could have stayed more. It was a fantastic retreat to a great value.

What I liked the most:
+ Excellent service - the owner was very attentive, friendly and helpful
+ Very high standard rooms for the price
+ The food was worth the trip itself - healthy and delicious Indian vegetarian food
+ Morning yoga classes in beautiful surroundings

Improvement potential:
- Nothing in particular - it was pouring down during our stay, but the retreat can hardly be blamed for that.

Overall a highly recommended experience!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Are K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2013

First i have to say tnx to my friend cristo,he is the one recommend for this place,iam was stay here in month of june but still i remember that experiance,what a place u have guys, i am was feel like a heaven,this place built in middile of cardamaom plantation,always peaceful,,than the food is sooooooooooo tasty,rooms and surrounding was very clean.staffs are very helpful, most thanks for for mr.mahesh&reni,both are more plus point for kaivalyam team,that days yoga teacher was not there so we miss yoga only then we did all activtitis,iam highly recomended this place,i will defenetly come again to this place,if u come to munnar dont miss this place

Room Tip: choose down side rooms
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julialex109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Munnar hotels
2.2 km away
Munnar Tea Country Resort
Munnar Tea Country Resort
#4 of 14 in Chithirapuram
944 reviews
2.9 km away
The Tall Trees Munnar
The Tall Trees Munnar
#2 of 8 in Pothamedu
721 reviews
25.0 km away
Camp Noel
Camp Noel
#1 of 1 in Pazhathottam
539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 km away
Parakkat Nature Hotels & Resorts
1.7 km away
Rivulet Resort
Rivulet Resort
#9 of 100 in Munnar
511 reviews
4.9 km away
KTDC Tea County Munnar
KTDC Tea County Munnar
#13 of 100 in Munnar
704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kaivalyam Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kaivalyam Retreat

Address: Opposite Workers Recreation Center | Moolakada, Pallivasal Estate, Munnar 685612, India
Phone Number:
Region: India > Kerala > Idukki District > Munnar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 190 B&Bs / Inns in Munnar
Price Range: RM302 - RM696 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kaivalyam Retreat 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set amidst a calm and scenic surroundings, the retreat provides a destination for visitors to indulge in learning experience of holistic lifestyle with traditional Yoga and organic way of living and dining. The place is a fusion of rustic external with smooth internal space creating luxurious facilities and natural environment to enjoy and pamper. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Booking.com so you can book your Kaivalyam Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kaivalyam Retreat Munnar, Kerala

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing