We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bharatpur Ashok Forest Lodge--True Jungle Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Bharatpur Ashok (Forest Lodge)
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Bharatpur
New Delhi
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Bharatpur Ashok Forest Lodge--True Jungle Experience”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

My experience of staying at Bharatpur Ashok the 3rd consecutive time out of my past visits was has been memorably the best so far. The positive point about staying in here is that this hotel is located 2 kms from the main gate, inside the forest itself. Barely half a kilometer from the entry check point inside the forest. The hotel has an open air restaurant and garden from where you can spot wild life having your morning tea or breakfast. We could see lot of birds including peacocks inside the garden during the day and in the night we spotted jackals trying to hunt wild rabbits.

All credit goes to Mr. Hari Lal and his team of staff at the hotel. Despite full occupancy being a weekend he went the extra mile to provide us a room against a last minute cancellation and without charging any booking advance, reserved a room just on good faith, turning down all other requests coming up. I am very grateful to Hari Lal ji for this and greatly appreciate the same.

The entire team of Bharatpur Ashok is not only professional but at the same time very friendly, polite & hospitable and made every possible effort to make our stay comfortable despite full occupancy and work pressure.

Now a small word of thanks for each of the staff members who equally contributed to our memorable stay and made us want to come back again. Starting from the reception desk, Mr. Harish with his ever smiling and helpful nature, Mr. Pankaj. always ready to help with his great sense of humour. The food & beverage service led by Mr. Prabhu Dayal and supported by Mr. Manik Chand Verma, Ramesh Ji, and a huge thanks to Mr. Narendra Bhargava --The Chef who made the most delicious fare for lunch and dinner. I would recommend both the buffet and Ala-Carte in the restaurant. Mr Bhargava went the extra mile to prepare mutton curry for us and I would strongly recommend all to request him to make the same if you are a non-veggie fan like me. Last but not the least. Mr. V.K. Meena --House Keeping who ensured that we had all the amenities in the room. Must say the rooms are very well appointed with spotless clean bed & bath linen. Room heater was provided to ensure that room was warm and comfortable in these winter nights. Mr. D.L. Meena who is the maintenance in-charge ensured that all the appliances and hardware was in top running condition. Mr. Khem Singh & Mr. Kartar of the store was also available for any replenishment.

I can summarize it all by saying that this hotel and the staff here will leave no stones turned to ensure the most comfortable and memorable stay for you in the middle of the forest. This forest lodge is the only one which is located right in the heart of the national park.

Rickshaws and cycles are readily available for hire right at the gate of the hotel. The rickshaw pullers charge Rs. 70 per hour, and tips are greatly appreciated as the poor folks really strain and stress going the extra mile to ensure you have a good sighting and photographs.

I have been regular with two of these guys who double up as guides too and have appreciable knowledge about the various species of flora & fauna within the forest. They made extra efforts to ensure I could have the best shots of the birds and animals & reptiles inside. If you are an avid birder and hoping to capture some very good shots then I strongly recommend contacting either of these guys before you plan your visit to Bharatpur and ensure they are available with you through the day. Their details are as below.

Mr. Maharaj Singh [--] --Rickshaw No. 77

Mr. Rameshwar [--] --Rickshaw No. 54

For any other tips on your Bharatpur visit you may call me @ [--] and I shall be happy to help you with any other useful inputs.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank MysticMinstrel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

222 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    38
    91
    56
    22
    15
See reviews for
102
47
16
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

This is a great base from which to explore the fantastic bird reserve. You can just walk out of the door of the hotel and you're there, rather than having to come up the long road from the entrance as everybody else does. It makes getting round some of the lesser-visited parts of the park much easier - the main drag along which the rickshaws travel can get pretty congested, especially during the day at weekends.

The hotel is very quiet, with apparently only a few visitors. Rooms are nice and a good size, although not always brilliantly maintained. Good enough though.

There are probably more staff than guests, so service is pretty good. Food is fine but not fantastic. Don't expect the 'bar' to sell drinks!

Watch out for the park fees. If you enter before 5pm, you'll have to pay even if you're only going to the hotel. On subsequent days, you pay if you go up the main drag, but apparently not if you walk in along the other paths. Confusing.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kath_noble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Italy
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Average hotel. Nothing positive other than the location.
The rooms are too expensive for what is offered.Better hotels available in Bharatpur for less. We checked out a few. Rooms are clean esp toilets but not well maintened.
The hotel has an Old lodge look, and so is the attitude by the staff in the restaurant. Food was bad and so was the service.Menu is limited and on one day we were offered buffet dinner which we were forced to take(not informed earlier). For the buffet(overpriced)- Food was bad, icecream had melted and no one cared.
Room service is only for tea and served withing 15mins. Waking up to birds chirping and in a forest is the best part of our stay in this hotel.

Room Tip: Try to get a North Wing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VijB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Delhi, India
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

The high point of hotel Bharatpur Ashok is it's location and the low point is the food. The location is inside the jungle but you will need to pay the park entry charges daily (troublesome only if you intend to go somewhere else for the day rather than the bird sanctuary). The place is quiet and you can hear the chirping of the birds and howling of jackals. We had trouble bolting the door from inside and the keys are super heavy - not easy to carry them around. The room size was okay and there was a small balcony with a view towards the jungle. In one of the rooms the bathtub was scratched with brown base revealed - looked very bad. The food in the cafeteria is expensive, oily and better avoided. The menu might look enticing but I never saw the tandoor working in my 2 days stay there. There is no buffet in lunch and no alacarte in the evening. The service is painfully slow with the waiting time as high as 30 mins for a bowl of curd raita. The check in and check out was smooth and there was ample vehicle parking. Rickshaws can be hired directly from the hotel though it would have been better if they could arrange cycles as well. Overall an average experience.

Room Tip: Rooms on the right specially first floor ones with balcony have a good view
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PramitM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Awesome location, its inside the bird century, nice peaceful surrounding & you can spot (subject to bird population & season) lots of bird in the premises itself... but positives all end here, food (specially non-veg) is bad, service average & definitely overprices given the food, service, quality of rooms etc. Being repetitive but scores a ten on ten on location... so if you can ignore the food & ready to pay a bit extra for average service but a magnificent location... this is your place...

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gaurav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bharatpur hotels
1.7 km away
Swaraj Resorts
Swaraj Resorts
#14 of 15 in Bharatpur
330 reviews
2.2 km away
Kadamb Kunj Resort
Kadamb Kunj Resort
#2 of 15 in Bharatpur
304 reviews
2.0 km away
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
Hotel Surya Vilas Palace
#9 of 15 in Bharatpur
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.3 km away
Chandra Mahal Haveli
Chandra Mahal Haveli
#4 of 15 in Bharatpur
61 reviews
4.4 km away
Hotel Sonar Haveli
Hotel Sonar Haveli
#10 of 15 in Bharatpur
70 reviews
0.0 km away
Hotel Park Regency
Hotel Park Regency
#13 of 15 in Bharatpur
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Bharatpur Ashok (Forest Lodge)? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Bharatpur Ashok (Forest Lodge)

Property: Hotel Bharatpur Ashok (Forest Lodge)
Address: | Inside Keoladeo National Park, Bharatpur 321001, India
Region: India > Rajasthan > Bharatpur District > Bharatpur
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 15 Hotels in Bharatpur
Price range (per night): RM151 - RM283
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Bharatpur Ashok (Forest Lodge) 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bharatpur Ashok is located right in the middle of the Keoladeo National Park, A true delightful destination for bird watchers. Come and experience staying inside a National Park. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Hotel Bharatpur Ashok (Forest Lodge) reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ashok Hotel Bharatpur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing