We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (414)
Filter reviews
414 results
Traveller rating
102
184
82
28
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
184
82
28
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews low season klong dao beach quiet season beach pool fat monkey traditional thai style the main road tuk tuk ban saladan stayed nights thai and western food ceiling fan big pool great pool beautiful beach national park bars and restaurants
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 414 reviews
Reviewed 22 July 2018 via mobile

Very accomodating Front Desk staff. They're helful, courteous and reliable.
The anglo breakfast food not being our cup of tea, the staff was kind enough to arrange a morning Thai soup. Very appreciated.
Rooms was nicely furnished, equiped as should be (with a great ceiling fan!). Beds were confortable and all appliances worked flawlessly.
The common areas, especially around the pool, would need some attention but that may be because this area is undergoing some renovations.
We did not venture into the F&B outlets (except for one bkfst) but it did not look like it is the hotel's "forte..."
In a few words, do not expect a 5* hotel resort experience, but rather a pleasant lowkey stay at a nice clean beach hotel.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank capsicum0620
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018

Stayed here with my partner and another couple for a break whilst backpacking around south east Asia. Overall impression was of a faded grandeur and not living up to its potential. Quite a few little things that could be improved that individually do not seem much but all together leave a bad impression - staff not friendly at breakfast, furniture in breakfast area looked old, loads of cigarette ends in the grass next to beach, big groups of staff hanging around not seeming to do much, stain on our pillowcase when arriving in room, very expensive laundry service. A large tree branch also fell in the grounds near us when we were there which was scary; next day the tree was pruned however an apology / reassurance would of be en appreciated. Positives - room nice, great location on beach, nice pools.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank 327ed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2018

My husband found a smoking deal for an overnight at this lovely resort. (low season, hotel room, not in the bungalow section, $35). Upon arrival, we were given a cold washcloth (much appreciated!) and a glass of cold juice (not spiked,darn!).
Our room was in one of 3 buildings that are hotel style overlooking a 3 section large beautiful pool.
We decided to have lunch first at their restaurant because we were given a 20% off coupon at the front desk. The Thai food was standard delicious. The crazy part was that breakfast the next morning was included! It was buffet style. Very nice variety.
Our room was modern and had slippers, robes, flat screen tv, very comfy beds , a small refrigerator and 2 waters.
The long wooden winding walkway (say that 3X fast) to the beach past the lovely bungalows was beautifully landscaped.
On our beach walk we saw a couple of mini-marts, a few bars and other resorts.
On the Royal Lanta grounds there are lounge chairs, umbrellas and several pagoda type platforms with chairs if you want to be out of the sun. There's also a second pool, not as large.
The staff was very attentive.

Room tip: Not many ocean views
Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patti H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2018 via mobile

Currently at Royal Lanta for a 3 night stay. It is low season so it's wonderful the pools are both essentially ours and the beach is not the nicest ive seen but nothing to complain about.
The breakfast is OK. Nothing to write home about. Basic and does the trick.
The resort itself is quite large and we had a room at the front in the newer part which we did not mind at all. The rooms are cleaned well and the resort is also very clean.
Location is good. Lots of massage places outside and a few restaurants. Right down the street from a huge 7/11.
The staff are kind. There is no elevators but they help you with your suitcase.
Overall having a great stay and would recommend to others.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank killershay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2018

This was our second visit to this hotel and it was even better than the first which we enjoyed a lot. It is completely relaxing place and so spacious giving you room to spread out and choose where you want to spend your time whilst during your stay.

Getting there – the hotel very kindly arranged a free pick up from another hotel we were staying out on the island. This was greatly appreciated and really good fun as we were picked up in a motorcycle rickshaw with two suitcases and a rucksack! We had to struggle up the hill to get to the hotel – a real laugh! I’m sure they would do the same thing for free if they pick you up from the pier as well as the hotel is only about 15 minutes away.

It is a well-established place so any taxi driver or tuk tuk will know where you are.

Location – just about perfect.

The hotel rooms from just off the main road right through to the beach and this is perfect. It is a long thin resort but the most you will have to walk is about three minutes from reception to the beach. You are also only two minutes from the main road and the first shop you come to is a 7-Eleven which is always useful.

Rooms – we were lucky enough to have gone for one of the villas near to reception and if the budget can run to it I would recommend this. They were extremely private and at times it was like we have the whole place to ourselves in.

Last time we had Stayed in one of the standard rooms which were great but quite public as the balconies are just feet from the walkway through the resort. They also don’t benefit from much shade which can be a problem.

Our villa was amazing. It was absolutely huge and had a whirlpool bath shower and toilet all in separate cubicles within the bathroom. The living area was huge as well and done out beautifully in traditional Thai style. You had everything you could possibly wish for in there to make your stay comfortable one with things like hot drinks making facilities, agood fridge, umbrellas, great toiletries, safe, television – the list could go on. The balcony was fabulous as well with two chairs, table and clothes dryer. It was really roomy as well and we spent hours there in the morning and the evening.

Pools – absolutely terrific.

As I mentioned one at the top of the resort was really quiet and never any problem getting a sunbed with shade. The one down towards the beach is equally nice and has great views out across the ocean. In addition to this there is a big area right on the beach with lots of sunbeds with umbrellas and tree shade so this is a real plus point for the hotel.

Wi-Fi – the weakest point without doubt and really could do with some improvement.

It is free for unlimited devices but only in the restaurant and reception areas. You can pick it up in other places but it frequently drops the connection and can become frustrating. Surely another couple of boosters around the place would be of great benefit.

Food – we only had breakfast here which was a fairly standard but a decent quality buffet. The coffee was just about drinkable but not the orange juice!

Staff – we were very impressed. It is quite unusual for a hotel to listen to room request sent in advance but these people have done it perfectly. All our needs for the tended to quickly and professionally and the room cleaning service was great.

Noise – we barely got any order them from the wildlife which was lovely. The villas are very private and set up so they minimise contact with other guests. We slept very soundly indeed in the very comfortable beds.

Date of stay: April 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OfftheirP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews