We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“To avoid”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 38 Hotels in Ko Phi Phi Don
Reviewed 16 October 2017 via mobile

The experience started wrong with the online booking on their website which is not an online booking at all but a message sender service on which they may reply 4 days after your request... actually we were ending our stay at the hotel when we received an answer from Wanessa... So if you are still willing to stay there after reading this just use Booking.com or any other platform.
The property is old and absolutely not luxurious as mentioned on their website. The bungalows are old and not well maintained, wood falling apart, no curtain in the showers, no hot water in some occasions, old cathodic TV, wifi going on and out, plastic chairs on the beach, no beach service... and so on... Pictures on their website are well Photoshoped!
The service is very disappointing again starting since the checkin where the receptionnist wins a golden star, she might be one of the rudest person I was able to meet during this trip, giving attitudes and not helpful. I believe the manager of this hotel should start training his staff from scratch, starting with explaining them that caughing and spitting on the floor is not elegant.
You have to know that you are kind of stuck in this hotel as the easiest way to reach the town is by taxi boat and it will cost you each way 100 TBH during the day and 150 TBH per person after 6.30pm. We found out the last day we could reach the town walking but of course they never mentioned that to us upon arrival, anyway it is only worth it if you are into a muddy walk with no lights, that is maybe the adventurous glimpse you can get which is also mentioned on their website.
Now knowing that, of course prices at their restaurant are way overrated (250 TBH a chicken curry, 200 TBH for spring rolls...). Neither quality nor quantity are there. The restaurant closes at 11pm with a last order at 10.15pm. During our 2 last diners, employees wanted to leave so they just turned off ALL LIGHTS while we were still sitting finishing our beers at 11.02pm the first time and 10.57pm second time. Don't stay here if you want to relax, if you expect to feel special, if you want to feel like home and treated... again absolutely no customer service and lack of training.
In terms of facilities, beach is nice but the furniture is not up to scale, the swimming pool is very very small, common areas can be dirty (including the beach sand with some broken glasses, plastic...).
If you need an extra beach towel you will have to pay 50 TBH, if you want to hire some snorkel equipment you will have to leave a deposit of 100 TBH, each time you want to charge your room with a drink or food you have to show your room key, if you decide to pay your room at the end they will keep your passport... you will feel so trusted!
After 4 nights spent there we asked for the possibility of a late checkout, instead of 11am we asked to be able to spend 2 more hours and leave at 1pm (at that time one of the 2 only free shuttle a day leaves the hotel to the pier), our lovely receptionnist told us it was ok... if we wanted to pay 200 TBH per hour... it is low season and the hotel is empty. Again no customer attention at all.
But guess what? At 10.50am the phone rings. Friendly reminder that the checkout is at 11am! 5 minutes later the cleaning lady is on the terrace knocking at the door pressuring us to leave on the spot and the bell boy screaming "Hello, hello, checkout! Luggage, luggage!". This is exactly the way to make you feel home and special, isn't it?
"I hope you enjoyed your stay! We hope to see you again!" Well, no... and no! But we didn't have to answer that as they didn't care about that at the checkout. Again real lack of service and training....

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jacques H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPThebeach, Manager at Phi Phi The Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2017

Dear Mr. Jacques H.,
Firstly I would like to apologize if you had some issue with one of our receptionist, I will meet this department without delay to make sure about their way to answer to not be seems rude.
I feel very pained reading your complaints about our resort and services that seems went wrong on all your stay. Some of the points you mentioned are not really objective and I would like to give some explanations following your comments as it impossible to track your reservation with a pseudo on TripAdvisor.
You did mentioned that you book on our website without answer until the end of your stay but it appear that your reservation was made as we didn't received any complaint about booking not recorded.
Most of our guests who book directly with us pay the room at the check-in or via PayPal, in theses case the passport is never kept by our receptionist and we just make a photocopy. In case a guest request to pay at the check-out, we inform that we will keep the passport as guaranty, it happened from the past some people left without pay their stay. Of course this is only with the agreement of the guest.
Even on low season, our occupancy is good, even fully booked some weeks with an average 30 to 40 check-ins and check-outs daily, the rooms need to be re-made and this is the reason the check-out time is at 11am for a new check-in at 2pm. A late check-out is subject to a fee as you mentioned. In case you didn't agree for the fee, our reception will give a call in room at the check-out time. On any case we would never send the bellboys to scream at your door!
Concerning the maintenance of your bungalow, in case of any issue we would change your room right away upon request, 90% of our rooms had been renovated from the outside to the inside and the left 10% are almost done.
We do not have curtain shower as our shower rooms are on Thai style (spacious as well), otherwise our superior room with a smaller bathroom have a separated glass.
We also have a Maintenance team available anytime if you had hot water problem with a simple call at the reception.
Available maps of the island are at the reception for our guests, also the counter tours can provide all information about our area.
We are very careful about the quality and freshness of our food and we are daily delivered from the main land, there is no supplier in the island and even the market practice higher prices as everything in imported from Phuket and Krabi. This of course has a cost. I am surprised reading your comment about the quantity as we serve generous portions.
Our Beach Restaurant close at 11pm as we inform at the check-in and our Let's Sea Bar still open until we have guests staying, our bar will close at the latest at 1am.
We also have many customers coming from the next door resorts and for the safety of the guests we request the key to be shown if sign the bill on the room. I am sure you wouldn't like to be charged for some items that random customers would put on your room without verification from our staff.
We provide daily free beach towels in rooms and as you mentioned, extra beach towel are charged 50 bath, this is the cost of the laundry, this is not to make profit, but to reduce usage of too many towels in the ecological way.
I would like to thank you about the way to train our staff to not split on the floor and usually Thai people are educated enough to not do it.
On Long Beach, we are the only resort to provide beach chairs for our guests, our team cleans the beach every early morning and at the end of the afternoon. Our restaurant is located on the beach and provide full service, following your comment I hope we will have a service at the beach chairs is a near future.
Once more, I am very sorry that your stay went wrong and I hope my answer will help to explain so fact happened. I would be very grateful if you could send me an email for us to have a better track of your stay.
Best Regards,
Marc Guede,
Operation Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,521)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

52 - 56 of 1,521 reviews

Reviewed 13 October 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for just one (1) night and was very disappointed with the conditions of the rooms. The mattress was old and extremely hard. The pillows smelled like sweat from previous guests, the bathroom had mold growing everywhere (see pictures) and looked like it had not been cleaned in weeks. The hotel’s free wifi service was not good, as I had to reconnect at least twice per hour. It is true the hotel has a great location (right in front of Long Beach), but seems I was sacrificing too much comfort and cleanliness for it. Wouldn’t recommend a stay here until they upgrade their facilities.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Ramonxu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed in this hotel for two nights. I had a hard time searching for a hotel in this town because we only had a few days to stay and didn’t want to be secluded, neither wanted to be in the party zone, so I was very happy with the location, because you’re just 10 minutes by boat to the pier, and downtown, and at the same time you are away from the noise and party happening downtown. We book the frontview villa. The room is cozy, like a little cabin, the best feature is the awsome view and we also like the shower, in the night they offer a warm environment, with lights and music, great service from the guys in the bar area specially from Sakay from Myanmar

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Cris V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPThebeach, Manager at Phi Phi The Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Dear Cris V.,
Thank you very much for choosing Phi Phi The Beach Resort, we are pleased that you had a great time with us and our resort was perfectly match your needs and as well per our location.
Please be sure that I will pass your nice comments to my team at the bar and to Mr. Sakay.
We look forward to see you again soon.
Sincerely Yours,
Marc Guede,
Operation Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2017 via mobile

stayed here for 8 days and the view never got old.. the free breakfast was fresh and offered a variety of goodies.. staying in a bungalow with a view has its perks however climbing the steep steps everyday a few times a day sure got to you, the resort does offer a bell boy to drive you to your room.. we bought citronella for our bathroom from the pharmacy in town since the shower is partially out doors and we didn't seem to have any issues. getting to and from town was tricky they said you can walk the beach but it does get a little rocky.. the bar by breakfast does have 100bht long tail boat rides to the pier 730-630 (link up with one so you can call him and have him pick you up at the pier when you're ready to come back) the dinner was good a little pricey but we got the salmon steak 3 nights in a row!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank martine g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPThebeach, Manager at Phi Phi The Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 October 2017

Dear Martine g.,
Thank you very much for choosing Phi Phi The Beach Resort. We are pleased that you had a good time with us and we look forward to see you again soon.
Sincerely Yours,
Marc Guede,
Operation Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2017 via mobile

Everything was great.
Positive: The deluxe room with incredible view, the staff was nice, the beach was clean, good choices for breakfast, wonderful barbecue at night, nice staff at the restaurant, taichi at the sunset, easy to go by taxi boat to the village.
Negative: Western food was tasteless, cats everywhere.
We enjoyed each minutes and would recommend this resort for couples and families who's looking for quiet place out of the party side of the village.
We will return without hesitation. A special thanks to Mark and Sakay.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Linhbi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPThebeach, Manager at Phi Phi The Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2017

Dear Linhbi,
It was a real pleasure to meet you, my Team and I would like to thank you for your nice review and for choosing Phi Phi The Beach Resort.
We are pleased when our guests spent a great time with us.
We look forward to see you again.
Marc Guede,
Operation Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ko Phi Phi Don hotels
2.5 km away
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
Phi Phi Island Cabana Hotel
#16 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,341 reviews
2 km away
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
Chaokoh Phi Phi Hotel & Resort
#12 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
349 reviews
2.1 km away
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
Phi Phi Banyan Villa
#5 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
689 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 km away
Phi Phi Island Village Beach Resort
5.9 km away
Holiday Inn Resort Phi Phi Island
6.3 km away
Zeavola Resort
Zeavola Resort
#1 of 38 in Ko Phi Phi Don
1,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Phi Phi The Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Phi Phi The Beach Resort

Address: 177 Moo 7, T. Ao-Nang, Krabi | 177 Moo 7, T. Ao-Nang, Krabi, Ko Phi Phi Don 81000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Krabi Province > Ko Phi Phi Don
Amenities:
Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Ko Phi Phi Don
Price Range: RM 400 - RM 918 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Phi Phi The Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Phi Phi the Beach Resort is a peaceful hillside villas located at the most beautiful beach of Phi Phi Island with fantastic view of the ocean, white sandy beach and crystal clear water. You will enjoy holiday and have fun of snorkeling regularly see Black Tip Reef Shark, Dining in our Thai restaurant see sunset and have your fabulous moment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda and HotelQuickly so you can book your Phi Phi The Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Phi Phi The Beach Hotel Ko Phi Phi Don
Phi The Beach Hotel
Hotel Phi The Beach
Phi Phi Beach Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing