We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Phi Phi The Beach Resort
Nearby Hotels
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
Phi Phi Hotel(Ko Phi Phi Don)
US$37
US$32
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
P. P. Palm Tree Resort(Ko Phi Phi Don)
US$72
US$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$153
US$112
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Beachfront
P.P. Erawan Palms Resort(Ko Phi Phi Don)
US$71
US$65
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Pool
Phi Phi Banyan Villa(Ko Phi Phi Don)
US$57
US$46
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Zeavola Resort(Ko Phi Phi Don)
US$305
US$171
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$74
US$43
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
Tohko Beach Resort(Ko Phi Phi Don)
US$35
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Beachfront
  • Restaurant
Paradise Resort Phi Phi(Ko Phi Phi Don)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
Reviews (1,593)
Filter reviews
1,593 results
Traveller rating
430
584
285
164
130
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
430
584
285
164
130
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslong tail boatblacktip scubablack tipshark pointpartial sea viewfire showdeluxe villamain towntonsai piersteep hillmaya baygolf buggymonkey barbaht per personwater taxiboat rideclear water
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 1,593 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2018

First the good... The property is really beautiful, the views from the hillside rooms are lovely, the beach is nice. The Blacktip Dive shop and its staff are fantastic if you are there to dive or learn to dive. The breakfast has a broad range of options and allows you to go into the buffet even before their official opening time. Things are kept clean in general.

BUT the property missed the mark in so many ways. The most notable is the service. With a few exceptions, the servers seem disinterested in service. My impression was that they all seemed to be really unhappy and that vibe carried through in all interactions. A small group of the service staff (and it seemed that they were all from Burma originally) was very friendly and engaging and made those particular dining experiences pleasant. Friendly service is a norm in SE Asia and its absence here was like a wet blanket on the experience.

On our last night we joined some friends for a cocktail - their order was misunderstood by the waiter and he returned with the wrong drinks. We called this out immediately and ordered the right drinks. The wrong order was not taken away - nor was it consumed. When the check came the wrong drinks were still listed. We asked to have them removed and after much discussion the check came back with only one charge removed. We were told that the waiter would have to pay for the drink himself. No surprise that the staff is unhappy!

The front desk staff was not particularly friendly nor helpful. Our single ask of the staff was to have an extra hour after the noon check-out time to better align with the scheduled longtail ride to the ferry pier. We were turned down immediately, without checking, as if we had asked for a free night.

Another thing that is odd for a place that is billed as a resort: you need cash for many of the services on the property like the spa, one of the restaurants, the "fun" bar and the dive shop. Bring lots of cash! There is only one ATM on that part of the island, a 10 minute walk away. And it sometimes runs out of cash. My expectation was that these services could be charged to my room. Only the primary restaurant can be charged. Why doesn't the property have its own ATM?

Things that we could have overlooked if the service was better or the prices were more in line with other parts of the island - the internet service was really spotty, the mattresses are very hard, paying for the dive shop with a credit card involved a 5% surcharge and other minor things.

To the resort - turn around the service experience, allow services to be charged to the room or at least get an ATM if you want to be seen as a true resort.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Willdief
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPThebeach, Manager at Phi Phi The Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Dear Willdief,

Thank you very much for choosing Phi Phi The Beach Resort and for your time to reviewing us. Your comments are very helpful for us and some points I agree need to be improved.

I really appreciate your sharing and I will explain some reason for you and the readers.

The definition of a resort is about the landscape and separated chalets/bungalows rather a building for a hotel, that is not about the services or facilities provided.
As per ATM, we request every years, the area in Long Beach has, as you mention, an ATM and our request is always denied unfortunately.

The Let's Sea Bar, Massages shop and Blue Moon Restaurant are located on our landscape but are independent, this is the reason they can't be charged on the room's bills. Of course our Beach Restaurant can be.

Our check out time is 11am and the next check in is at 2pm, on this period of the year we are fully booked and a late check out without prior notice at the reservation will delay the check in of the next guests who expect his check in on time. Otherwise on medium and low season we allow the late check out with an extra charge per hours.

We are actually a 3 star resort, we are working hard to provide the best service and improve some areas, our prices might be a bit higher for the reasons of our exclusive location, large landscape, also 100% of the wooden work is made in our premises, for the restaurant as we are on island, everything is delivered from the main land. Most restaurants and resort in Koh Phi Phi are delivered 2 or 3 times per week. For the freshness of our dishes we choose to be delivered everyday and all of this has a cost that you will understand.

I hope I could answer most of your expectations with reason, and we are pleased that beside of these you had a very good stay with us.

We look forward to greet you again.

Sincerely Yours,
Marc Guede,
Operation Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

This is a higher end stay on Long Beach however note the beach outside the hotel isn't the best and is actually an old shabby pier that needs doing up to suit the hotel. Great views but VERY steep steps up to your rooms, please note and bear this in mind. It's the kind of place if you're up the hillside and want to stay in your room enjoying the views ordering room service, this is the place. A short five mins walk and you'll hit the nicer part of Long Beach. The hotel is being extended looks like they're building a bar but it wasn't noisy. Being on Shark Bay you get a lot of tourist boats throughout the day as it's one of the many stop offs on the standard tour everyone offers. These usually end by 5pm where a calmer peace and quiet hits phi phi with the ensuing sunset.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Laidback2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPThebeach, Manager at Phi Phi The Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Laidback2013,
Thank you for choosing Phi Phi The Beach Resort, we are pleased that you had a good stay with us.
We provide a cab service for our guests to reach their room anytime is needed to avoid a steep walk.
I would like to apologize for the building on work, it will be finished on April and will be the new Dive Centre and a 3rd swimming pool.
We look forward to greet you again for enjoying our new facility.
Sincerely Yours,
Marc Guede,
Operation Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

The resort and the views from the rooms were really good. Enjoyed 2 nights of stay here.
The resort can be reached only via 10 min drive using long boat from the pier, but thats available throughout day and night.
The shops near the resort provide snorkeling equipments, kayaks on rental basis for the day.
Not a lot of party scene on this part of island but its comparatively quiet and less crowded than the other beaches.
The staff wasn't very helpful and they close the reception early in night. You need to take steep roads to reach rooms if it's odd hours. Otherwise hotel taxis do help you with same.
The long beach is rocky but much clearer. A must visit.

Room Tip: Closer to sea
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Amit C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPThebeach, Manager at Phi Phi The Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Amit C.,
Thank you very much for your review and for choosing Phi Phi The Beach Resort.
Our Front Office close at 11pm as per the cab service. We still have a staff on stand by all night in case of emergency.
We a delighted that you had a great stay with us and enjoyed snorkeling.
We look forward to see you again.
Sincerely Yours,
Marc Guede,
Operation Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

View is beautiful. Rooms are rustic. Food is subpar. Front desk is lazy. I asked to print out my boarding ticket for ferry 3 different times and each time got a different excuse and then the day of I almost missed the boat. Beach is dirty in the morning because the staff hasn’t picked up bottles or trash from night before. When taking the long tails back from the main phi phi don they drop you off a 10 minute walk away because it’s allegedly to shallow however they can pick you up right at hotel which makes no sense cause it’s just as shallow. All in all not a great experience. They should build a dock. Would not come back. They just don’t seem to care about anything.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Kelsey M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPThebeach, Manager at Phi Phi The Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Kelsey M.,
Thank you for your comments, these are helpful for us and I will meet my GSA team.
We were during the period of very high and low tides, at some moments the long tail boats can't cruise in some parts during 1 or 2 hours if the tide is too low, that is dangerous for the boat and for you, especially at the night time as the visibility of the rocks and corals is harder. This is a safety reason.
Otherwise taxi boats are always able to pick up and drop of the guests at the front of the hotel. It's also important to keep in mind that taxi boats are independent and not a part of any resorts.
We hope you had a good stay in Phi Phi The Beach Resort.
Best Regards,
Marc Guede,
Operation Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2018 via mobile

My wife and splurged on the deluxe Villa for our honeymoon and it was well worth it. We loved being able to look out at the ocean from our bed.

The service was great and so was the food. They provide courtesy transfers to and from the main pier for check in and check out as well.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPThebeach, Manager at Phi Phi The Beach Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Dear Andrew H.,
Thank you very much for your review and for choosing Phi Phi The Beach Resort for your honeymoon trip.
We wish you the best and we look forward to see you again.
Sincerely Yours,
Marc Guede,
Operation Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews