We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Jungle bungalows”
Review of Bhora Bhora

Bhora Bhora
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Koh Tao
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bhora Bhora
Ranked #115 of 147 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Reviewed 17 June 2012

Nice bungalows set right into the hillside jungle. If you get a bungalow higher up on the hill, you can get a good view of Chalok Bay. Most bungalows have hammocks and the staff might even hang one for you if it's not already there.

The sisters who run the place are wonderful!

Room Tip: Check out bungalows at different heights and situations on the hillside to see which view you prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rdetata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2012

FIRST:We didn't take the room in the end,since the staff attitude when we went for ask was disgusting.
The following day we rented a motorbike from them (it was the closest place to from our resort). The girl checked the bike millimetre by millimetre to report the present damages,but if we didn't double check after,she would have missed many of them.when we brought it back,she found a scratch on the plastic plate under the bike (probably we hit the uneven road surface), so she wanted to charge us 500 THB to relplace it.we argued that the scratch was on the bottom, a part normally exposed to rocks and roads imperfections, but as soon as we started explaining that her request was unfair,she then wanted to increase the cost to 1000 and then 2000 if we would have carry on with the discussion. We eventually had paid the bill to stop her continuous requests and before she would have charged us some other microscopic damages.
The spare part will never be replaced, since the scooter works fine even with that invisible scratch, and our money went straight to their pockets, like those of many other customers before us..
They just try to make money out of tourists all the time,
so DO NOT RENT BIKES FROM BHORA BHORA IF YOU DON'T WANT TO FIND YOURSELF ROBBED OF YOUR MONEY.

Simply a bunch of thefts.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Hackett85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2009

If you are looking for some peace and quiet on Ko Tao head to Bhora Bhora in Chalok Baan. While Sairee Beach is great for partying, Chalok Baan has much better dive schools and Sharks Beach (about a 10 minute walk or 5 minute boat ride from Chalok) is beautiful.

We headed to Bhora Bhora after tiring of Sairee and we wished we'd gone there sooner! The rooms are huge and comfortable and the outdoor bathrooms are really clean. It felt more like we were staying in a hotel room than a Thai bungalow. As the other reviewer said the downside is the lack of light, make sure you take a torch as there are often powercuts which makes it pretty tricky getting up the steps to your room.

Chalok Baan isn't a place for nightlife but it makes a great rest stop. There are a few really nice beach restaurants for dinner and a couple of bars that are packed most nights but it doesn't have the party vibe of Sairee, so I'd suggest it is better for couples and divers than those looking to stay out all night. If you do decide to head there though definitely stay at Bhora Bhora!

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shelleywLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2007

I stayed at the Bhora Bhora in Nov 2007, on Koh Tao, and the place itself is great value for money, about 900 Thai baht for a double room with fan, no TV or DVD. I stayed in the Landlubbers hut, which had an outdoor shower and toilet. This was great during the day, but at night there was no light outside by the shower, so it was pitch dark.
The lack of lighting is actually the only thing that bothered me about the palce and location. Chalok Baan is away from the mayhem of Sairee Beach or Mae Head, but after dark ( approx 6.30pm) it was always pitch dark on the roads around Bhora Bhora, so you really need a torch with you, and you really need a bike to get around, as cab fares double or even triple after dark.
There are also lots of steps going up to the accomodation in Bhora Bhora, again after dark you really need a torch. In addition, all restaurents in the area seem to close at 6pm.
In summary, the place is lovely and run by a really nice guy, and has great views, but to avoid huge cab fares, you need to have a bike, and be aware its very dark due to lack of any street lighting. As a lone female traveller, it was the only thing that bothered me about the place.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank barbellera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2012
Google Translation

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Benyar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Koh Tao hotels
3.4 km away
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
Jamahkiri Resort & Spa
#4 of 50 in Koh Tao
920 reviews
3.5 km away
Haadtien Beach Resort
Haadtien Beach Resort
#15 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,551 reviews
3.0 km away
Charm Churee Villa
Charm Churee Villa
#19 of 50 in Koh Tao
970 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 km away
Monkey Flower Villas
Monkey Flower Villas
#2 of 50 in Koh Tao
351 reviews
2.4 km away
Aminjirah Resort
Aminjirah Resort
#11 of 50 in Koh Tao
1,274 reviews
1.4 km away
Montalay Beach Resort
Montalay Beach Resort
#17 of 50 in Koh Tao
690 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bhora Bhora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bhora Bhora

Address: Chalok Baan, Koh Tao, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Koh Tao
Hotel Style:
Ranked #115 of 147 Speciality Lodging in Koh Tao
Number of rooms: 14
Also Known As:
Bhora Bhora Hotel Koh Tao

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing