We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stunning views and wonderful pool area”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Severin Safari Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Masai Mara National Reserve, Kenya
Level Contributor
116 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Stunning views and wonderful pool area”
Reviewed 18 March 2012

I find Severing a difficult camp to rate, because some things were wonderful and some were not. The most underwhelming aspect was the food, which we did not find very impressive. Not necessarily for lack of trying, they just didn't get it quite right most of the time, and things like salads were pretty bland. The 'self-catering' units (a bit away from the camp) were average at best as well - not of particularly high standard. Having said that, we didn't get a chance to look at their 'proper' rooms, which might very well have been much, much nicer. And for the positives: the staff, the views and the pool area, which were all top-notch. One of the nicest pool areas we have seen for a lodge, actually, and the view over Mt Kilimanjaro as you have your meals is wonderful. Very friendly and helpful staff, too. It's dry and dusty, of course, but that's just Tsavo for you! We saw a lot of wildlife around the lodge itself, and had a few nice leopard sightings not too far from there. If the normal rooms are nice (which I imagine they are, based on other reviews here) then it would be a highly recommended place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LifeThroughALens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    249
    40
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
64
157
13
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2012

Stayed on night at Severin last week and it was wonderful. The setting, the service, the tents, everything was great. Im all ready thinking about coming back as soon as possible.

From our tent we could see and Zeebras, Giraffs witch was awesome!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gatineau, QC
Level Contributor
363 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

This camp that we visited in mid-December 2011 is located in the heart of Tsavo West Park. The tents are extremely luxurious and located close to water hole so it is quite easy to see animals during diner or hear some hippos during nigh time. The food is quite good though sometime a bit too elaborate for the kids. The pool is extremely nice and the location is perfect. The managers were accommodating and provided an extra tent when they noticed we couldn’t fit all in the one that had been reserved for us. A bit expensive but worth it for the location and the nice pool and view on the Kilimanjaro.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Boutip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 January 2012

We stayed here as part of a 3 day trip to Tsavo East and West, We wished we had stayed much longer as the camp and location was fantastic. The tents were excellent and we really felt like we were in The African Bush. When we arrived there were Zebras wondering in front of the dining room and lovely birds flying about. The food and the service was excellent. The only thing that spoilt it for us was a very loud German Lady in the next tent who spent all afternoon talking loudly by Skype on her laptop, and then again after dinner, until we asked her to be quiet at 10.30 pm. It was a shame because all we wanted to do was listen to the bush noises. I feel the camp should request people not to do this in their tents but to use the public areas of the camp. That said I appreciate that the camp are not responsible for guest inconsideration. Otherwise this camp is truly excellent and we would like to return next time for a longer stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RubiesTorbayDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

The Severin Safari Camp is located in the north-west of the Tsavo West National Park near Mzima Springs. We had a 100 km drive from Tsavo Gate through the park which was already a first fascinating game drive. The camp has approximately 30 comfortable, beautiful decorated tents with view into the savannah. It is not fenced so that the game passes directly in front of the tent. Therefore, in the darkness a Misaim escorts you between the tent and the restaurant. During dinner the gazelles can be watched directly in front of the restaurant. The service is very friendly. Lunch and dinner are served as a menu in the open-air restaurant. Between the game drives you can relax in front of your tent and watch the game or hang out at the swimming pool. We didn’t use the beautiful wellness area due to our short stay. The camp is perfectly integrated into the natural environment but nevertheless offers full comfort. And if you are lucky you can even see the Kilimanjaro.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MX5Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tsavo National Park West hotels
13.1 km away
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
Kilaguni Serena Safari Lodge
#1 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 723 reviews
66.4 km away
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
Sarova Salt Lick Game Lodge
#2 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
4.5 of 5 bubbles 707 reviews
31.9 km away
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
Voyager Ziwani, Tsavo West
#3 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.2 km away
Ngulia Safari Camp
Ngulia Safari Camp
#5 of 5 in Tsavo National Park West
4.0 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
52.9 km away
Finch Hattons Luxury Camp
Finch Hattons Luxury Camp
#2 of 14 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 153 reviews
61.0 km away
Lions Bluff Lodge
Lions Bluff Lodge
#1 of 14 in Tsavo National Park West
5.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Severin Safari Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Severin Safari Camp

Property: Severin Safari Camp
Address: | Kitani Wildlife Area, Tsavo National Park West 00400, Kenya
Region: Kenya > Coast Province > Tsavo National Park West
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Tsavo National Park West
Price range (per night): RM1,034 - RM1,929
Hotel Class:4 star — Severin Safari Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 27
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda and Expedia so you can book your Severin Safari Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Severin Safari Camp Hotel Tsavo National Park West

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing