We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Soanambo Hotel(Nosy Boraha)
US$218
US$213
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$78
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$66/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Natiora Green Lodge(Nosy Boraha)(Great Value!)
US$86
US$71
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
La Crique(Nosy Boraha)
US$42
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Boraha Village(Nosy Boraha)(Great Value!)
US$38
US$32
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Hotel Libertalia(Nosy Boraha)
US$37
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 23% below average rates

The price you found is 23% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$48/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Lakana Hotel(Nosy Boraha)(Great Value!)
US$37
US$31
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$36/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Villas de Vohilava(Nosy Boraha)(Great Value!)
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Le Vieux Fort(Nosy Boraha)(Great Value!)
US$27
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (316)
Filter reviews
316 results
Traveller rating
230
66
13
5
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
230
66
13
5
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewszebu cartexecutive villawine cellarwhale watchingour honeymoonsainte mariecoco bayreception areafood and winepizzaluxury bungalowsmezzanine floortwo single bedssee whalesair madagascartuk tukbeautiful hotel
Filter
Updating list...
64 - 69 of 316 reviews
Reviewed 12 October 2015

Just spent a week at Princesse Bora and had the most fantastic time. If you are looking for class, exceptional service, beauty and romantic setting this is the place. The executive villa is unbelievable and you feel like you are in heaven to say the least. The staff at all levels bend over backwards to please you and although we are English we did not have any communication problems. Food is excellent and the massage is a must. We saw a few places on this trip and I would definitely rate Princesse Bora number one on Ile St Marie. A very big thank you to Fifou, Marana, Mandimby and Jeannot, to mention a few, for making our stay very pleasurable. Well done guys I hope to see you again one day. Regards Bruce and Belinda

Room Tip: Would go for the Executive Villa if the budget allows but they all look good
Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank brubel2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claireaucoco, Director of Sales at Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 14 October 2015

Dear guest, thank you for your encouragements, all the staff is glad to know that you had a lovely time at Princesse Bora Lodge. So we are waiting for you to come back very soon !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2015 via mobile

It's is the best hotel in the islands and its has many reasons for that!
We spent a week in this fabulous hotel. The service is personal, professional, shortly to describe perfect!
Every evening the staff setting your bed the mosqirue net, even without asking! So thinking full!
The hotel have the best scuba diving, the food is very high leauge well designed and tasty, the bred is fresh and high quality.
They even make the soaps, oil, shampoo at the hotel lab (!)
The SPA is WOW, world wide level and we found that they have company for SPA advising and build to many hotels around the world!!!
They offer for the guests free shnorkling, kayaks and bikes.
And many more in this hotel! Very recomanded if you thinking about high class hotel in Madagascar or Sainte marie particularly.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled with friends
Thank shalomya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claireaucoco, Responsable commercial at Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2015

Dear guest, thank you for your nice comment. There is so much to do in Sainte Marie island between the sea and the land with forest, mangrove, wildlife and little villages ... We hope to see you again at Princesse Bora Lodge and Spa for new experiences !

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2015

On our trip this September to Madagascar, we were fortunate enough to stay at the Princesse Bora Lodge and Spa on Isle St. Marie. The hotel, cottages, and grounds are absolutely beautiful, and right on the water. The hotel is owned by a French couple that met us at the airport and escorted us to the hotel. That service was typical of the entire staff, very courteous and helpful. The food at the hotel restaurant was the best we had during our entire two-week trip in Madagascar. Thank you for a wonderful stay!

Room Tip: There are a couple of very large cottages right on the beach that were spectacular. However, all of the cottages were great.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank LucydeBoxer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claireaucoco, Responsable commercial at Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2015

Thank you for your nice review. We are glad when our guests enjoy your stay has you did. Sainte Marie Island is a little secret paradise that has to be visited once in life ! Best regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2015 via mobile

I was lucky enough to stay in one of the villas on the beach...this must be how the rich & famous vacation!
I stayed 3 nights in September and it was delightful. The staff was attentive and the grounds were impeccable. The owner is interesting and will regale you with his tales and family history. Adding to the charm are the two puppies and one cat that really own the resort. My only complaint---no hammock at coco bay.
One note, pass.on the Pirate Cemetary excursion and go instead to the Zoo Endemic.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled solo
Thank Caf80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claireaucoco, Responsable commercial at Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2015

Dear traveler, we are glad to see you enjoy your stay. 3 nights is too short to visit all Sainte Marie island has to offer. Thank you for your encouragements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2015

We stayed in a spacious executive villa. Features included a stone bath sunk in to the floor, huge four poster bed, and a veranda with private garden leading on to the beach about 10 yards in front. From our villa, we could stroll along the beach or through the beautiful tropical garden to the bar, infinity pool, restaurant, pontoon (which you can sunbathe/have a drink on).

Food here is generally excellent. I was as big as a whale when I left. Get to breakfast early to enjoy the freshly baked pastries warm from the oven and the tropical breezes. Not sure if there is a B&B rate but we would recommend half board. Dinners (food and service) were great with desserts a particular strong point

So a key reason for our visit was to see humpback whales that migrate to this area to have their young. We were not disappointed. We spotted a couple of humpbacks rolling past the lodge a little way off shore and several splashing around in the distance. However, if you are staying here you probably want a closer encounter.

There are close connections between the hotel and a whale conservation organisation CetaMada. Whale trips are well organised and leave from the hotel. Although whale sightings are not guaranteed we did three trips and had good whale experiences on all of them (time of year is key - we stayed in July). Obviously, confirm dates of whale season if it's whales you want to see). Trips are c. £25 pp for about 3-4 hrs. If you get seasick the whale Center will give you a seasickness pill but we found these made us drowsy later in the day. You also get SOAKED through on the boat. Any photographic equipment has to be in a proper waterproof kit bag (you can borrow). Photographing whales is not easy unless you are a pro. Even many of those with high-end SLRs struggled. We found video was the easiest way to capture them and allows you to enjoy the experience more too (you can look at the subject more). If you have a GoPro camera - perfect.

As mentioned, whales were the big draw for us but ISM is a beautiful island and when you are not indulging in the lodge spa it's worth a little exploring. We were told by other guests that Madagascans regard it as the best place in Madagascar to go.

Trips/scooter hire are arranged by the hotel. They are a touch pricey (I.e. you can pick up a scooter locally for less) but everything is well organised, convenient and with good guides where applicable. We did a scooter trip to to Ambodifototra and had a superb lunch at Cafe a Idyll. There is a cash point and bureau de change in Ambodifototra.

We also did a trip to Illes aux Nattes, an island tropical paradise off the foot of ISM, a kilometre away from the lodge. Princess Bora organise a trip but we walked and got one of the pirogues to cross the narrow channel (cost about £3 pp at time of writing) we then circumnavigated the island on foot along the coastline mostly on glorious deserted beaches but some points did require serious wading and clambering on slippery rocks

We also did a quad tour across ISM to the mangroves at Ampanihy (sp?) After lunch the final leg required a leaky pirogue ride. Reassuringly, we were advised the sharks no longer came here to have their young. This beach is more rugged than the west with a fair bit of flotsam and jetsam washed up by the open sea. The tour then takes you to the west coast and stops at the stunning Coco Bay on the way back to The Lodge.

In between the trips we had some glorious relaxation time on the beach, by the pool, in the spa, in the lounge, with each day rounded off by fantastic evening meals accompanied by delicious wine (there is a wine cellar you can select from).

A general point is that we were very lucky with our transport getting to The Lodge. Our flight time to ISM moved around a bit in the 24 hours before departure but ultimately was only delayed by a couple of hours. Princess Bora can be seen clearly from the plane as you land and is a 5 minute transfer by zebu cart/tuk tuk from the airport (which is currently being refurbished). However several people we spoke to had harder journeys due to an airline strike and rough seas which meant a difficult boat crossing. There was an upside to the strike (for us but not the hoteliers) - the hotel and Island were very quiet/beaches deserted etc.

Constructive comments

-Wifi is available in the Hotel Lounge and Reception areas but signal/speed wasn't the best (we tried several different devices)
-We didn't notice any room service - tea making facilities in room would be nice
-There is a honeymoon package with some nice treats which was included in our booking but we felt like we had to push a little bit to get them when there
-Always have a waterproof in your backpack

Overall we would definitely recommend Princess Bora. There are too many bits to mention but we had a brilliant week as part of our honeymoon with the the perfect blend of relaxation and activities, in a beautiful location with some awesome wildlife. When you consider this is a developing country it makes this place an even greater achievement. Expect some challenges getting to ISM (leave time for delays) but once you are here you won't want to leave. : )

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Todders1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
claireaucoco, Responsable commercial at Princesse Bora Lodge & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 6 October 2015

Dear guest, thank you for your very detailed comment. I'm sure it will be very useful to other travelers to know what to do and what to expect in Sainte Marie Island. All the team is delighted to ear that you had a great holidays at Princesse Bora Lodge and we hope that you'll come back some day.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews