We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Kids friendly and clean private beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Ranked #4 of 36 Hotels in Port Dickson
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Kids friendly and clean private beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2012

Overall, the trip was a memorable ones. Price a bit high, rm480 for 1 night deluxe king sea view. Breakfast inclusive for 2 n free for kids.
Kids enjoyed the pool n the beach was clean.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mhfahmi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,282 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    355
    512
    236
    103
    76
See reviews for
618
265
19
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 January 2012

We love the big beautiful pool. Also great place to view the sunset! Loved the food at chinoise Chinese restaurant.

Got a deluxe king room with view but mostly saw tree tops because non smoking rooms are on the 2nd and 3rd floor only. The room is nice and the bathroom has nice marble tiles. Shower is spacious.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 January 2012

I absolutely agree with DKSyd's review below. This is a great hotel- the newest you can find in Port Dickson. The only down side was the sound proofing of the rooms were very poor especially when you are unlucky enough to have a young family above your room who keeps dragging their chair above (or whatever it was against the wooden floor) the whole night and morning. Also, try asking for a room away from the wading pool / children's pool if you want peace and quite especially if you are there during the Malaysian school holidays. I was unlucky enough to have a room very close to the wading pool. Instead of a relaxing holiday, I went back home feeling more tired than I left! Other than that, this is a good hotel. Just make sure you get a quiet room away from the noise. Of course, unless you are travelling with young children, then this shouldn't be a problem.

Room Tip: Rooms away from the wading / children's pool are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lillywho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2012

We went there with our 3 and 5 years old girl twice a year. They love it..the hotel room, the swimming pool and the beach. The only thing we think should be improved is the morning buffet breakfast..not much choice.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rafaelbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2012

I felt so compelled to write this review whilst still in Port Dickson. My husband and I decided that despite its bad press, Port Dickson would make a convenient getaway from KL with our 3 month old baby. Our first choice was the Thistle hotel due to its high ranking on tripadvisor and also on the basis that we were looking for a self contained complex to make it easier with the little one. Unfortunately, we could not book the Thistle from the start of our trip as it was fully booked. So we decided to stay at the Avillion Resort (see my 5 star review of this resort) for a couple of nights with the plan that we would move to the Thistle after 2 nights for the rest of the holiday.

As our stay at the Avillion Resort had been superb, I suggested to my husband that we check out the Thistle over dinner on our second night to see whether it would be worth moving.

The outside of the hotel certainly looks impressive enough. We approached the receptionist who seemed friendly enough and asked if we could look at some of the rooms. As it was booked out, she could only show us photos. These looked nice and comparable to the room we were staying in the Avillion.

We headed towards the Italian restaurant. The hotel looked like any 4 (I would not say 5) star complex, but there was no charm or anything that I would say set it apart from any other hotel that we've stayed in (and trust me, we've stayed in some of the best hotels of the world!). We noticed that staff that passed us would not greet us as they do in the Avillion.

The food in the Italian restaurant was bad. Hubbie's lasagne was more just like a lump of burnt mince meat. My spaghetti vongole had to be sent back as the clams had not been properly cleaned and contained gritty bits. Gordon Ramsay would be furious! Not really what you would expect from a 5 star hotel restaurant.

The worst part of it was that a man started to smoke a cigar in the air conditioned restaurant (against the law). Before we clocked it, the waiter came over the apologise (seeing that we had a little baby) about the smoke and so opened the doors to the verandah to let some air in to clear the smell from the cigar. As this let in some mosquitoes, we asked whether he could ask the gentleman to stop smoking. The waiter said he could not as the gentleman was the owner of the hotel!!!!!!!! We were totally gobsmacked that the owner of the establishment could be so rude as to light up a cigar in the vicinity of a little baby (not withstanding that it was against the law). Hubbie later told me (as he was facing the offending table) that one of the women on that table appeared to have pointed out our baby being in the restaurant, but that the owner shrugged and lit up nonetheless!

Given that the owner had such a poor attitude towards the comfort and needs of his customers and that his obvious arrogance that he was above the law (we could have forgiven the bad food, but not the latter), we decided to stay put at the Avillion where we (and our baby) were treated with respect and wonderful Malaysian hospitality.

My advice, stay at the Avillion Resort. The staff are wonderful and helpful. Even despite how disgusted we were at the owner's attitude at the Thistle, the Avillion is a more charming and individual resort (with better food!)

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Opalmoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Dickson hotels
15.2 km away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 36 in Port Dickson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,133 reviews
15.0 km away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#3 of 36 in Port Dickson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
8.8 km away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#2 of 36 in Port Dickson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Avillion Admiral Cove
Avillion Admiral Cove
#5 of 36 in Port Dickson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 772 reviews
5.9 km away
The Grand Beach Resort
The Grand Beach Resort
#9 of 36 in Port Dickson
3.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
3.6 km away
Klana Beach Resort Port Dickson
Klana Beach Resort Port Dickson
#6 of 36 in Port Dickson
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Port Dickson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Port Dickson Resort

Property: Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Address: KM16 Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Dickson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Dickson
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Dickson
Price range (per night): RM309 - RM517
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thistle Port Dickson Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, HotelQuickly, Agoda and Ctrip TA so you can book your Thistle Port Dickson Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Port Dickson Hotel Port Dickson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing