We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Annie C
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Magical wedding at Thistle.

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Sept 2014
Our family stayed at Thistle Port Dickson Resort for 3d/2n as our friend's daughter had her wedding nuptials there. The grounds and swimming pool were beautiful. However the upkeep of the resort was sub-standard for the five star pricing that we were paying, even at the special rate negotiated for the wedding party. Human Resources at the resort should pull up their socks. When we checked in, the receptionist had bad flu and was sniffling into a handkerchief - what was worst her uniform was tattered- badly fraying at the sleeves and collar. For a five star resort, this was not acceptable! The check -in counter is not visible and poorly located, next to Duty Manager's desk?? They should be separated as the job functions are different.

The room was over priced. Lighting was dim and one of the bulbs in the room needed a bulb change. The decor was of a dark shade and was conducive to be "depressed" not "happy". The duvet cover had not been changed from the use of the previous guests who had used the room. Our bedsheets were re-used on the second night and not changed.

Despite the misgivings above, the trainee staff at FRESH were polite, especially one, a Nepalese named Sanju. He served us with a broad smile and welcomed us both mornings that we were there. He went out of his way to bring us coffee, which we could have got ourselves. That human touch made the difference!

The wedding went well and it was the natural surroundings which gave the occasion the lift for such a special event. The small Infinity pool where the reception was held could do with a new sound system as guests could not hear the proceedings that went on. Acoustics were wanting.Some fans or cooling ventilation would have helped the evening as the humidity got to the guests. As Thistle was the choice of the wedding couple for their special event, the management should have paid more attention to the check out of the whole party's guests. It was pandemonium at check out time and took close to 2 hours or more for all the wedding guests to check out.

We were lucky that the weather held out and the sunset for the wedding made the whole event magical! Surprisingly, the water at the beach front was clean but the beach is not wide nor long...it gave one an idea of what a beach should be but not quite as splendid as it should be! The food for the wedding catered by Thistle was rather good and the breakfast fare at FRESH especially the local kuih were commendable and authentic. Kudos on that score! The resort needs stricter adherence to quality for the rooms and overall permanent staff to make it into the realms of a five star-rer. Pricing alone does not make it a five star-rer!!
Date of stay: September 2014
Room Tip: No comment.
Trip type: Travelled with friends
2.0 of 5 bubblesValue
2.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
2.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Siva S, Operations Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this review
Responded 1 Oct 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback.

While we are glad to hear that there were elements of your stay which you enjoyed, we would like to apologise that all was not as it should have been while you were with us.

We take your comments very seriously and they will be of great assistance to us as we strive for performance excellence in everything we do.

Staffs are the most important element to the business and we will see they get the recognition for their hard work. Those mentioned will be elated to read your commendation.

Once again, we are terribly sorry for the shortcomings and hope this will not deter you from coming back to us for future holidays. If we can be of any assistance at all, our contact details are located at the top of our Trip Advisor page.

Thank you.

Yours Sincerely,
S Sivanesan
Operations Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Nearby Hotels
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 198
  • Priceline
5.4 km from Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Free parking
Pool
Swimming Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • Lol.travel
    RM 209
  • Priceline
10.7 km from Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 122
  • Booking.com
14.9 km from Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Free parking
Pool
Exterior View
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 311
  • Booking.com
15.0 km from Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Free parking
Pool
Business Suite 
🎗King bed+ Super single bed
🎗Living room
🎗Balcony 
🎗Waterfront view 
🎗Private bathroom
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 106
  • Priceline
12.0 km from Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Restaurant
Room service
RM 297
RM 247
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
  • Booking.com
6.2 km from Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Free parking
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 354
  • Booking.com
15.3 km from Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 147
  • Booking.com
5.9 km from Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Free parking
Pool
Go to your Happy Price
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 104
  • eDreams
3.6 km from Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Free Wifi
Free parking
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    RM 241
  • Booking.com
0.6 km from Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Beachfront
View more hotels in Port Dickson
Reviews (1,646)
Filter reviews
1,646 results
Traveller rating
433
607
320
154
132
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
433
607
320
154
132
Show reviews that mention
All reviews lego room chinese restaurant pool bar private beach big pool karaoke room deluxe room main pool kids pool welcome drink team building school holidays slides facilities chinois pd kl
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
839 - 844 of 1,646 reviews
Reviewed 29 September 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights recently on a work-related offsite training event. If you are driving, directions through Waze/Google is not accurate. Follow the "Teluk Kemang" sign if driving from Kuala Lumpur to get to the hotel. First impression of the hotel room was very poor. The floor was sandy, the table was dusty, the shower room still had hair at the sink hole, the toilet bowl had reminense that showed that it had not been flushed for quite a while. Obviously the room was not occupied for a while and the housekeeping was terrible. Meals at the "Fresh" restaurant was decent and variety was sufficient for breakfast,lunch and dinner. We had BBQ dinner at "Cumulus" which is the pool bar and the BBQ spread was not bad and nice to have a private pool for us. The meeting room we used on the 4th Floor however had bad lighting. All in all, if you want a short family trip or for work offsite training at Port Dickson, I guess this hotel is bearable if you want a short 1 hour getaway trip with the family.

Room tip: Get the rooms with sea-view but will cost a bit more
Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juni1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Siva S, Operations Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We are grateful to your for choosing Thistle and for giving us your comments.

We would like to sincerely apologise for falling short of the mark during the occasion of your recent stay with us. Our promise to each guest is to provide and enjoyable and relaxing experience and we acknowledge that we have failed to do so on this occasion.

Your feedback has been reviewed in the team daily meetings and we will work hard towards getting the shortfalls right and do appreciate that we did get the food and BBQ parts right.

Once again, please accept our apologies on the shortcomings and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Thank you.

Yours Sincerely,

S Sivanesan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2014 via mobile

Was walking back to my room after dinner just now and i slipped in the lobby(there was vomit on the floor) while carrying my 9mo baby..there were about 5 employees in the area and not one assisted or even apologized.. Luckily another guest was kind enough to help hold my baby while i got up (covered in vomit).. All in all, not too happy with this hotels service..

Date of stay: September 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shah3era
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Siva S, Operations Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We are so sorry to read what has befallen you. Hopefully, nothing serious to you and the little one.

We are obviously very disappointed with our staffs and bless the kind hearted guest who helped you.

Your feedback has been highlighted very seriously to the team to ensure that this kind of uncaring attitude will not be tolerated. Everybody has been reminded the importance of delivering great customer service, more so when a guest is in distress.

Once again, we are so sorry for what has happened and if we can be of any service at all to you in the meantime, please call me personally - I can be reached at contact details listed above this Trip Advisor page.

Thank you.

Yours Sincerely,

S Sivanesan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2014

Parking is limited, lobby is big - but only 2 people working at the desks. Check in was quite hassle free as there was no queue, but checking out though hassle free took quite a while.
Room was spacious, bed comfy with extra pillows in the wardrobe, slippers & toiletries provided. Very satisfied with room. Bath was spacious as well, and shower was strong.
Pool area was quite big and nice. A short stroll and you reach the beach which is clean and not crowded (maybe we were there off peak).
A number of seafood restaurants are within 10 minutes' drive radius.
Would recommend for a short getaway from town.

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ch3rylism
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Siva S, Operations Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Dear Reviewer,

Many thanks for taking the time to give us your feedback.

We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time here and will certainly look into improving the check-out process.

We do intend to please and are happy that overall, we met your expectation.

Thank you once again for this review and if we can be of any assistance at all, please contact us. Till then, here's to wishing you many many pleasant days ahead.

Yours Sincerely,

S Sivanesan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2014

My family spent a weekend retreat here. The hotel looks impressive at first glance but suffers from several lackings. On the positive note, this hotel has good variety of facilities and has it's own beach front. Parking, though provided, were rather limited in numbers.

Overall, I felt that my room was spacious though the furnitures were dated. The bed was uncomfortable since it was a combination of 2 single beds attached together, hence I can feel the gap in the center. At night, it was extremely noisy due to the loud noise from the karaoke lounge. Subsequently, I could hardly sleep due to this.

Breakfast spread was quite good in terms of variety. However, the taste was rather average.
Overall, I would recommend this place for families due to the facilities available in this hotel. If you're looking for privacy and a quiet beach retreat, this is definitely not the place you would want to be in.

Date of stay: November 2013
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Norli85
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Siva S, Operations Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We are grateful to you for choosing Thistle Port Dickson Resort and for giving us your comments.

While we are glad to hear that some elements of your stay met your expectations, we would like to sincerely apologise for the shortcomings.

Our promise to each guest is a relaxing and enjoyable experience and we do acknowledge that we fell short in some areas on the occasion of your recent stay.

Thank you for recommending the resort to your family and friends and if we can be of any assistance at all in terms of their booking, please do let us know. Our contact details are located at the top of our Trip Advisor page.

In the meantime, if we can be of any other assistance, please do call us.

Yours Sincerely,

S Sivanesan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 September 2014

Went there for a 3d2n trips with my family recently.1st impression was good but after leaving the luggage at the lobby,searching for carparks for my suv horrible either the parking space were small or lacks of parking lots.took my 15 mins to search for it and yet the hotel was not fully occupied.wonder how the management going to solve it when it's full.bedroom spacious overlook the swimming pool and sea front.the toilet clean but water pressure too low.room services a little bit slow but still ok.swimming pool huge with 3 children pools with 2 slides ideal location for families with young children.location wise good surrounding with 9 course golf course and nearby area plenty of seafood restaurants like Weng Yin seafood (2 mins) drive

Date of stay: September 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tan488
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Siva S, Operations Manager at Thistle Port Dickson Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2014

Dear Reviewer,

We would like to thank you for posting your review of Thistle Port Dickson Resort.

While we are glad to hear that there were elements of your stay which you enjoyed, we would like to apologise that all was not as it should have been while you were with us. We will definitely look into the car park situation and the security staffs should have been more vigilant in assisting you to the nearest available parking space.

Your feedback has been discussed with the team and we will work on the shortfalls.

Once again, many thanks for taking the time to review our Resort and we hope to welcome you back in the future. Our contact details are located at the top of our Trip Advisor page - please let us know if we may be of any service.

Yours Sincerely,

S Sivanesan
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews