We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wished could have stayed longer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Ranked #4 of 37 Hotels in Port Dickson
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wished could have stayed longer”
Reviewed 8 January 2017 via mobile

5 star service. Couldnt be happier about the pool, gardens, beach, facilities, activities etc. However the rooms are a bit dated but good enough as we don't plan to stay indoors all the time. Wifi is strong. But Thistle has to improve on the breakfast

Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,335 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    366
    529
    248
    108
    84
See reviews for
644
274
21
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (349)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2017

Second stay in 4 years. Rooms well maintained, Kids loved the many pools on the property, although it could do with a bit more cleaning as the pool floors were sandy. That could mainly be because of guest who don't wash off coming from the beach.
The beachfront is nice, not fantastic, but good by Port Dickson standards. Adjoining a public access beach so do not expect privacy. Even then, the hotel's beach is hardly crowded.
Parking is abundant, if a little haphazard. Walkway to parking lot can get very slippery in the rain. (due to the smooth accent tiles inset onto the pebble washed surface).
Food options at the hotel are mediocre, better to explore other local options if transport is not an issue.

Room Tip: Seaview rooms overlook the pool. Higher rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Arthur C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2017 via mobile

Had a short family vacation and decided to stay at Thistle port Dickson. Paid around RM450 with breakfast. Summary below:

Checked in took About one hour, probably due to the holiday peak period (31/12/16).

Hotel staff were friendly and very patient. Answered our queries and did not rush through the check in process.

There are ample car park so you can drive and park there.

The rooms were divided into two areas - east and west wing.

If I recall I got the east wing and I got a bad room - there was a half closed ceiling panel, sliding door to the balcony was faulty (unable to lock) and there was a missing day bed. The floor looked dirty and as though the room was left empty for a while. Furniture were old and old fashion. I called the operator and told them about the issues I'm facing. They looked into it and got it settled.

The rooms that my Sister and mum got from the west wing were so much better. Furniture looks upgraded and rooms seems cleaner. So probably They have not upgraded all the rooms?

Oh yes, rooms have wifi which is reasonably fast but does not require any password.

Breakfast - we had our breakfast at Glass restaurant and came down about 9.30 am. There were still many people enjoying their breakfast. The spread is not that much. What I can recall is the usual porridge, mee goreng, some dishes, freshly baked croissant, eggs stations, roti kirai, fruits, salad, waffles, cereals. Food taste nice. The staff constantly refill the dishes to Satisfy all those that just came in for breakfast.

The hotel is definitely for family with children. Their facilities are good. They have pingpong table, pool table, small arcade room (around RM2 per game), movie room, lego room, karaoke room (but sadly they have only one karaoke room. If you book one hotel room, u r entitle to one hour free. Next hour is at RM100 per hour. But if you book say 3 rooms, then you'll have 3 hours free. Karaoke room is available from 3 pm onwards). Their Swimming pool is good with an area for children (with mini playground and slide). Swimming pool for adult is also quite big. You can also rent the electric bike but you can ride on designated field only. Cost is about RM21.20 for 15 minutes.

Check out was a Breeze as they have a separate counter for fast check out (for those who has zero balance, didn't take anything from the mini fridge etc).

I didn't snap any pictures of the room since it was a disappointment the moment I stepped in.

As I have no children of my own, I don't think I'll book this hotel again. But for those with children, you can try as there's quite a lot of activities you can enjoy with your children.

Stayed January 2017, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank NanaSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Port Dickson hotels

Petaling Jaya
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 January 2017

From check-in all the way until check-out, Ms. Anne attended to my family and me with the BEST customer service I have ever received at a hotel. Ms. Anne made our stay a very memorable one. She was very attentive, accommodating, and professional. She is the reason why I'm thinking of going back for another family vacation!!!

Room Tip: Book from Friday, when family activities are scheduled.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank niqnaqx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
78 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2017 via mobile

Spent 2 night here on a business trip. Rooms are clean. Well appointed furniture. Bathrooms are very spacious & modern. Beds are super comfortable. If you are staying on the higher floors note that the lifts take time. The lobby is spacious but i do not find staff on standby to welcome or make guests feel comfortable. Poor ventilation in the lobby - can be terribly hot on days when there is continuous sunshine. Swimming pool is large - great for families & children. The Chinese Restaurant can accomodate vegetarian dishes if you pre-order. Choice of vegetarian dishes as part of buffet breakfast/lunch is very poor. Go ala carte. The Santai Spa was thoroughly enjoyable.

Stayed November 2016, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Gayathri S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Port Dickson hotels
15.2 km away
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
Grand Lexis Port Dickson
#1 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,187 reviews
8.8 km away
Avillion Port Dickson
Avillion Port Dickson
#2 of 37 in Port Dickson
1,437 reviews
15.0 km away
Lexis Port Dickson
Lexis Port Dickson
#3 of 37 in Port Dickson
513 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.3 km away
Avillion Admiral Cove
Avillion Admiral Cove
#5 of 37 in Port Dickson
801 reviews
5.9 km away
The Grand Beach Resort
The Grand Beach Resort
#11 of 37 in Port Dickson
169 reviews
2.0 km away
Ancasa Resort AllSuites, Port Dickson
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Thistle Port Dickson Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Thistle Port Dickson Resort

Property: Thistle Port Dickson Resort
Address: KM16 Jalan Pantai, Port Dickson 71050, Malaysia
Region: Malaysia > Negeri Sembilan > Port Dickson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Port Dickson
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Port Dickson
#3 Luxury Hotel in Port Dickson
#3 Best Value Hotel in Port Dickson
#3 Spa Hotel in Port Dickson
Price range (per night): RM309 - RM1,121
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Thistle Port Dickson Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 251
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Thistle Port Dickson Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Thistle Port Dickson Hotel Port Dickson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing